SGS Employee Reviews

Found 83 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Production Artist (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Park, MNNovember 4, 2015
SGS was a great place to work when I first started. I would no longer recommend the company to anyone. Many things have changed over the past few years. The moral has gone way down and it's only getting worse with all the changes brought by the new CEO.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience around the hole world
marine inspector (Former Employee) –  all sea Ports at EgyptNovember 2, 2015
by this job i meet every day , different nationalities ,
learn from every one , more new

travelling most of the time between sea ports

go on deck of the all types of ships with different sizes
Pros
free meals
Cons
away places
Was this review helpful?Yes21No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inspector
advisor for preparation of technical (Former Employee) –  assaluyeh / kharkOctober 12, 2015
Job responsibility: work as Jetty, storage tank and rotary equipment inspector and improve to OTC (Oil Terminal Company) advisor for preparation of technical documents and other that our publication at Kharg Island mentioned at "publication" title.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Laboratory Manager (Current Employee) –  Reserve, LASeptember 11, 2015
Good company to work for in an industry that is very demanding. Supportive management team that allowed me to manage my lab to become very successful.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homely atmosphere
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Taylor, MISeptember 2, 2015
Amazing environment, work culture and ethic. Never felt disrespected, people at different positions on the corporate ladder, all helpful and courteous.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company Overall - Heading in the Right Direction
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXAugust 31, 2015
SGS North America is a good company overall to work with. As long as you know your role and do a good job, they will notice. The co-workers are great and that's what I like most. Right now there are some managerial changes, so it's difficult to say what's in store, but I think it's headed in the right direction. Work-life balance could be improved a bit more and sometimes dealing with Corporate can be tedious. Overall, if you put the time and effort in, and willing to learn....SGS is a good company to be at!
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Benefits, Work-Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Weight master (Current Employee) –  geismar, laAugust 20, 2015
I been with SGS a month and I love the company great work schedule great pay great employees and the human resource team is great
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SGS Huntington Utah.
Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Huntington UtahJune 23, 2015
While working for SGS I learned a lot and had a lot of opportunity to learn. I enjoyed working with most of my co-workers and enjoyed the early schedule. But the Management was a joke. They treat their employees extremely poorly and are very much based off of favoritism. The site manager was horrible to deal with and cannot personally run a lot of the equipment.
Pros
health care, pay rate, they frequently give raises to certain employees
Cons
this work site is favoritism based. treated poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes38No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SGS a day at work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Athens, WVJune 21, 2015
i liked it long hours an good pay. just not a big fan of having to clicked buttons every 30 minutes. an having to check in so much
Pros
long hours
Cons
decent pay for all the hours
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job along side family fun coworkers...
Laboratory Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXJune 18, 2015
My day consist of working on on one with coordinators making lab worksheet for incoming quality jobs at an petroleum inspeciton company. I work closely with the Senior Asst Manager reporting analysis 24-7 to an assign client. The hardest part of my job is working day and night but I do love overcoming the all the challenges I face each day.
Pros
Job security
Cons
On-call 24-7 during off days and vacations.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got too take long breaks some days.
Switchman (Former Employee) –  Taft, LAJune 5, 2015
When you started your shift you word get your list and highlight the tracks and cars to be moved. Some days the plant would have a spill and we would have to stay in the break room for the whole shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality System Development
Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee) –  AtlantaMay 6, 2015
Fellfab gave me the opportunity to establish a quality system and train and prepare the repair station for ISO 9001 certification evaluation. I also had an opportunity to become an FAA chief inspector and manage 2 quality system locations.
Pros
opportunity to receive personal development and assist in organizational growth
Cons
required working hours and salary were not within stand salary expectations for the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works with your schedule.
Chemist (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXMay 4, 2015
No true room for advancement and rarely gives deserved raises. Employees are under appreciated often given more responsibility but no compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good enviornment
Coal Lab Technition (Former Employee) –  Sophia, WVApril 12, 2015
Show up for work begin processing samples as the came in at different intervals throughout the shift.
I learned how to process and record the analytical values of coal samples.
I had no problems with management.
The hardest part of my job was working night shift and the long hours.
The most enjoyable part of my job was working with other employees.
Pros
It was a good working enviornment.
Cons
Night shift and no time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn skills
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  LincolnshireMarch 31, 2015
Good work environment but lacks job growth. Learned several entry level skills and good management. Hours are flexible but most days will require more then eight hours of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment needed
Warehouse Tech (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 23, 2015
Worked their from August of two thousand thirteen to November of
two thousand fourteen .Worked on the four one two , twelve hour rotating shift . Had to watch may back the entire time I work their.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a nice environment to work in
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: SGS/PSC is a pretty good company to work for overall. The work isn't hard at all & management stands behind their employees.

Cons: As most companies have their pros, they also have their cons. The only thing that I really have to say is that in order for them to keep a full staff, they would have to pay better. Also the benefits can be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe
Switchman (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXFebruary 17, 2015
Safe Enviroment
get empty rail cars and spot them into the proper loading racks to be loaded.
Get loaded rail cars and build them together to get shipped out.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job.
operator I (Former Employee) –  norcoJanuary 10, 2015
Great place to work. Its an excellent stepping stone for anyone seeking a process operator position.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management sucks
Operator (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAJanuary 6, 2015
Upper management sucks
don't care about their employees
don't care about safety, just want the job to get done
Pros
good experience
Cons
upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes28No3Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 277 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4