shaffer trucking Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Diesel Mechanic / Parts Counter Person (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PAMarch 1, 2016
Great place to work, I met a lot of great people. now this site is making me type more but I have nothing more to say on this matter
Pros
always someone willing to help, pay was ok
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEOctober 12, 2015
its a good place to work if you have an excellent driving record but you must maintain that record in order to keep the job..
dispatchers are fairly decent but not always on top of their game are willing to push you as a driver beyond your limit and will keep doing that if you let them
Was this review helpful?Yes29No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging driving position for a fantastic trucking company!
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PAAugust 31, 2015
My typical day at work was to receive a dispatch, travel to a location and be loaded by shipper, plan trip for delivery (including miles, fuel, and time), follow company and DOT rules and regulations while transporting freight to a consignee on time and safely! The most enjoyable part of the job was a sense of independence and the hardest was being alone!
Pros
Excellent Dispatch!
Cons
Alone
Was this review helpful?Yes15No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, solid company
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  NationalAugust 11, 2015
As with any OTR position, there will be challenges. My one and only reason for leaving was to be home for my young daughter and my family.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Home time
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 1st job with great trainers
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lincoln NebraskaAugust 6, 2015
For someone fresh out of school there is no better place to start your OTR career than Shaffer/Crete. Once your first six months is in the pay jumps and you are on your way. They do not pull any punches, what they say they do and they are a very secure company.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PADecember 13, 2014
done my routes got home when I needed to I got paid good as I done my job, had no issues with dispatch
II really enjoyed this company,
dispatch switched everything went down hill! I didn't get miles I needed, had to train dispatcher how I needed to run my time. Got a better offer and gave notice
Pros
enjoyed the job till the dispatch switched
Cons
scimped on miles
Was this review helpful?Yes43No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place
CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  New Kingstown, PAOctober 1, 2014
Not a too bad of a place to work. You are dispatched daily. Much depends on freight.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
OTR and Dedicated Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEMarch 2, 2014
Worked for them for 5 years, great company. If they had office openings in Texas, I would continue to work for them when I graduate from college.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as prevous Job.
Long Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  DeLand, FLFebruary 1, 2014
Same as above. Too many regulations.

not enough miles to make any money.
Pros
see above
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes27No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company
Driver (Current Employee) –  New Kingstown, PASeptember 29, 2013
Organized company dedicated to employees. Good management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, long hours
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PASeptember 10, 2013
As a Customer Service Representative, I was responsible for scheduling freight runs to keep the trucks productive. The days were long and meetings were scheduled after work hours to employees would be available for during the day. Weekends were mandatory. While I enjoyed the travel and experiences of touring the customers' facilities, such as the Hershey chocolate plants, as a single mother at the time, it was not a suitable fit for me.
Pros
travel, touring production plants
Cons
long hours, mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes16No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none debt company that updates equipment regularly
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEAugust 16, 2013
stable company that's not indebt to anyone. they try to get you home on time but doesn't always happen. they try to get you home for Christmas I chose not to be home for Christmas.
Pros
company not indebt. they try to keep equipment safe with preventive maintance
Cons
when equipment would breakdown. it may take days to weeks to fit problems
Was this review helpful?Yes31No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be Great Place to work--Depends on where you live
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEMay 7, 2013
OTR work is long and arduous, but the benefits are many, and you'll see an excellent portion of the highways and byways. The equipment is newer, and sometimes experience helps you decide what you can allow to be dysfunctional so long as safety is first.

I learned that often the Mgmt is NOT receptive to suggestions from their experienced drivers ;-( ...perhaps why I'm not with them any longer.

Co-workers generally give you the heads-up on day2day ops...

Hardest part of the job is dealing with work-arounds on the comm
Enjoyed the smooth dispatch and load planning and ride most of the time I was with them...just a few stick-in-the-mud moments, which can occur in any OTR work arrangement
Pros
good hometime allowed, great money when things worked right
Cons
unreliable dispatch, poor management, lousy op-systems
Was this review helpful?Yes31No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation of goods and services to potential customers
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PADecember 2, 2012
I spend most of my time driving on the road. It's a fun job with less supervision. I am a sole truck driver the hardest part of my job was in winter time. I learned from this job how to be patient, good communication skills, and safety.
Pros
bonus and other benefits
Cons
free shower in the terminals
Was this review helpful?Yes36No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
otr driver,dedicated fleet last 7 yrs (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PAAugust 6, 2012
very good to work for they leave you alone pretty much good benifits coe workers helpfull. staying out is always the hardest part of any job, driving and equitment up to date.
Pros
they pretty much go out of there way 4 you
Cons
i really cant say
Was this review helpful?Yes33No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about themselves
OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  New Kingstown, PAJuly 3, 2012
They don't care about the driver,they just care about their short runs getting delivered and don't care that the driver is not getting any miles out of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes63No13

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.8
Culture
3.2

shaffer trucking Reviews by Location