Find companies:
Shane Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Shane Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Salesperson (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 3, 2014
Pros: great hours and management is great. trainins is great.
Cons: i do wish that management would move faster to get rid of the employees that don't work hard, i guess that they are just trying to give them a chance, which i don't really blame them for.
You get to sleep in since you don't have to be at work early in the morning and then you get to help people find the rings or other jewelry that will be very special to them. You work in a store where customers only come in if they want to do something special.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Office with many different tasks
Findings Coordinator (Current Employee), Centennial, COAugust 3, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: low ceiling, work environment
A typical day has many challenges, usually happening all at once. I place purchase orders, manage inventory, allocate merchandise, and coordinate orders and supplies. Many different deadlines are presented each day, so prioritization and multi tasking are a must. I have learned much about allocation, logistics, customer service, problem solving, and – more... many computer related skills. I have some management experience and have worked with people from several different departments. The hardest part of the job is when multiple problems/deadlines exist at the exact same time. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping co workers achieve the same goal by doing my part to make a sale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people in a bleak environment
Graphic Design (Former Employee), DenverJune 30, 2014
Pros: decent work, decent pay
Cons: a bit depressing
I worked in Marketing and I'd swear they're all suicidal. It was as if a heavy oppression was on all of them and I assume it's due to management.

The work itself is nonstop with overlapping deadlines and an endless stream of reviews and revisions. But it's not bad work and the pay isn't bad. It's just corporate culture that needs to be more relaxed. – more... People are so uptight you start to worry about their health.

If you are the sort who can keep your head down and just focus on getting your work done while ignoring the steady stream of gossip, you'll be fine. You have to be very organized and generally keep your mouth shut.

The good thing is that it's easy to leave work at work and just walk away at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empty promises and terrible management
Customer Service Associate I (Former Employee), Tigard, ORJune 21, 2014
Pros: occasional free food
Cons: inconsistent management, gossip
Working at Shane Co was like attending a much more dramatic version of high school all over again. There was so much drama between sales and the office, management and employees, and management and jewelers. Lot's of gossip and pitting people against each other, not only for employees but management as well. When I was first hired I was told there is – more... an "open door" policy, that I could go to any manager even all the way to executives and there was never any punishment or resentment. That is not the case. The managers were very resentful and would chastise you for going above their head and, god forbid, getting them in trouble or questioned. They would then make your work day extremely difficult, uncomfortable, and unenjoyable. And if the managers don't like you, for whatever reason personal or work realted, they will harass you until they can find a reason to get rid of you or you quit. There were 5 of them all with different ideas on how they wanted tasks and problems handled. If was very confusing and you can never seem to do anything right, no matter how hard you try.

I was also promised awesome pay incentives. Ha! Maybe if you're a sales associate but as a CSA or a jeweler you are expendable and unimportant. I didn't even receive a performance review. The only things that were ever brought to my attention were negatives and then I was not told how to correct them. Or if I was told how to correct my mistake it was later slapped back in my face as wrong by a different manager and was still my fault even if I mentioned so-and-so told me to do it this way.

The only positives I have to say about working there were the few of my coworkers I was able to become friends with, without having the fear of being back stabbed, and the few happy customers that came to the back to pick up their items or make a purchase. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat and professional with great co-workers.
Customer Service Associate (CSA I) (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great people
Cons: required to wear suits and heels.
They are very serious about training you in all aspects of the job which is great, but it does take time. Formal training isn't completed for about 3 months and then you continue to learn things about the job. The people that work at this location, are fantastic. The store manager can be difficult to work with, but everyone else is wonderful. The dress – more... code requires employees to wear suit attire which wasn't always enjoyable, but it's different for everyone. Working in the office, there was always something to do. Sales Associates had a slightly different agenda. Overall, a great company and a great place to work if you are willing to take your job seriously but still have fun! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never have I worked harder and gotten less in return
Digital Retoucher, Video (Former Employee), Denver, ColoradoMarch 22, 2014
Pros: some of the people
Cons: management
I don't even know where to begin. I was hired into a department with a huge hole, not only did I fill that hole I took classes (that not only I wasn't reimbursed, but wasn't allowed to leave 30 min early one day a week so the result was night classes taking away time from my family) to further the department. Then after 5 years of sometimes 100 hour – more... weeks (Promised comp time that was taken away after project completion) I was told by my manager I haven't proven myself. Since my departure they have now hired 3 people to fill my shoes and that's the only satisfaction I've EVER gotten from that company. I was even told once I talk to other departments too much. That was part of my job but was still warned "not to talk to the Enemy." No lie that was a direct quote. And believe me that was just the tip of the iceberg. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bespoke Jewellery and Diamond mounting on site
Merchandiser/Jeweller/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: being creative and never having the same day twice
Cons: location was in downtown seattle which was 1.5 hrs away from my home.
Loved working for this company. It gave you the opportunity to help create the perfect piece with your customers. All stones were loose and catalogued individually for ease of selling.

I started off as the Merchandiser and buyer for the location bringing in the elements needed to create and sell one of a kind pieces to the customers.

Here, I also – more... received bench training on setting, sizing and polishing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to earn high wages and learn key aspects of high end sells.
Sales Agent (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CANovember 24, 2013
Pros: good pay!
Overall a great place to work. Not for people who dont operate well under very close serveleince and rapid fire micromanaging. Personally, I like to think about what I say before spewing out information which is what they want from you at any given time. Turn-and-burn style sales. Again, great pay and benefits so I would encourage further interest be – more... followed with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a warm and happy atmosphere to work on a daily basis.
Office Manager (Former Employee), Roseville, Ca/ Walnut Creek, CASeptember 1, 2013
Pros: when the company achieves it goals, the company exspands out nice profit sharing to staff.
Cons: the cons was if you are and employee who works on commission, who is unable to make your quota it brings the down in their spirit.
My normal day at the jobs was to always make sure I take of our customers at best as possible. Reviewing previous day books to be sent off to the corporate office. Checking my email for any upcoming news and status changes. Shipping and receiving merchandise along with making sure they are in excellent condition.
I have learned many things in the Company – more... which has helped build my expertise to strive for my best.
One if which helped me achieve great communication skills to interact with my customers.
Every management has its concerns but for this management, because of the quality and professionalism they have been trained upon, the management brought their good values to their fellow employees. Then in-turn bring a great working atmosphere towards my coworkers and myself.
The hardest part of the job was that in time I may see a unhappy customer needing to return a merchandise due to the rejection of the significant other.
On the other hand it is one of my most enjoyable time to see the opposite. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong emphasis on guest relationships, integrity and honesty.
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Tigard, ORAugust 26, 2013
Pros: paid holidays off, 401k, consisten hours/schedule
Cons: required to work every weekend, no revenue incentive, and stagnant salary/advancement
Fast paced work environment with large client base, my focus is on balancing revenue goals with finding solutions to client issues.
I have learned a great deal in the sales field, regarding qualifying customers and addressing their objections and needs, all the while keeping a profitable margin for the company and the customer.
Management at Shane Co – more... will coach and critique after customer situations to better sales tactics.
My personal department of customer service requires me to find solutions in a tactful and diplomatic manner, often customers are upset and it is up to me to make sure the company does not take a negative hit, the customer is satisfied with the product and service, and a resolution is found in the stem of problem; I love this challenging aspect of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot about the high end jewelry industry
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSAugust 23, 2013
Pros: learned a lot about the industry
Cons: required to work overtime
I enjoyed feeling like I could run the customer service department by myself if I had to. I enjoyed the people I worked with and for for the most part. I learned a lot about diamonds which led me to a better opportunity at Tiffany and Company where when you are off you get to go home. At Shane you were expected to stay and work if it was busy regardless – more... if you had prior committments or a family to get home to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Kennesaw, GAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
This company teaches you to wear brass knuckles under white gloves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lunch room with vending machines and lockers
Office Associate (Former Employee), Greenwood Village, COJuly 20, 2013
Pros: rewards of lunches, coffee
Cons: not enough staff for office or sales floor
• A typical day started busy before the door opened dealing with answering phone calls , counting cash opening phone lines
• Stocking jewelry boxes and ordering office supplies making copies.
• Receiving mail from UPS and sending out going mail from UPS.
• Posting shop jobs with descriptions and drawings of jewelry for jewelers then receiving and entering – more... shop jobs from jewelers.
• While doing these jobs ringing up purchases form the sales floor.
• Measuring and weighing in diamonds from other stores for inventory.
• Tagging new jewelry and re-tagging old tags of jewelry, re-tagging new prices of jewelry.
• Pre-inventory for weekly count of diamonds then monthly count of entire store.
• Gift wrapping for customers, surveys from customers.
• Lay-a-way calling for friendly reminder 30, 60, 90 day also reminders. Calling for hold items.
• Keeping register area and desk area and draws in constant readiness.
• Keep track of jewelry promotions and sales floor games.
• Ask every customer to please post what they thought of our service onto Yelp
• Monthly report of Lay-A-Way
• Stocking water for customers
• Stocking coffer and keeping clean area for customers
• Rewriting jewelry appraisals, typing new jewelry appraisals, looking up old jewelry appraisals in the old system.
• Taking care of delicate saturation's, engagements break ups etc…
• Closing down the store taking in cash, credit cards, checks closing all computers and phone lines safes.

I learned to work as a team and fast while multitasking.

My office manger was kind and supportive, professional . The store manger was the opposite.

We had a great team in the office we worked and played well together.

The toughest part of our jobs was not enough help for all that we needed to get accomplished but we did it at each end of the work day.

Working with a great people working as a team helping each other out. When we would get so much work accomplished we as a team would get rewarded with coffee or lunch form our office manger. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment. The company has a very high turnover and maybe if they would hire adequate employees the day would flow 100 times better.
CSA (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WAJune 13, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: micro managing
working at Shane co was great some days and terrible other days. I loved my co-workers but being understaffed was a major stresses for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, fast paced, and detail oriented workplace with emphasis on employee growth.
Office Manager (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAMay 17, 2013
Pros: team environment, professional, fast paced, internal growth, trust
Cons: commute, retail work hours, inconsistant schedule
A typical day at Shane Company starts at 9:25am-9pm, security measures are instilled to keep all personnel and company inventory safe and secure. Our customers are always first and for most in our everyday activities. Filing, organization, and detail orientation is a must. Training and developing all associates to continue internal growth within the – more... company is an everyday focus. Management meetings are held weekly to discuss procedures and employees struggles and growth. Establishing a management team that is thorough and consistent in their training is the goal. Shane Co is very much a team environment where we all work together and support one another. The hardest part of the job are the long retail hours, which in all honesty you adjust too. The most enjoyable part of the job is the fast pace environment, the co-workers, and the mistakes that are made. Some believe mistakes are a bad thing, but we consider them as growth and learning opportunities for all associates involved. Our customers will not be sacrificed in our mistakes. If we make mistakes we do it in the favor of the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviornment!
Diamond Consultant (Former Employee), Franklin, TNMay 15, 2013
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: no time for family, working every weekend
This is a wonderful company to work for! Co-workers are great and the atmosphere is really fun. However, I would encourage those who have/want a family to find employment elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable and poorly lead
IT Manager (Former Employee), Centennial, COMarch 11, 2013
The company as a whole is a rotten apple. On the outside it is a great company and their retail aspect is without question one of the best in its industry. The problem is that the interior is lead by people who have no direction and constantly fight each other for control. The :leaders" in their departments are egotistical and eliteist and are constantly – more... find new ways to undermind each other and the rest of the company suffers. They do not accpet that the leader of their Marketing department does not know whats best for the comapnys IT needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Jewelry company to work for
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Midvale, UTFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: discounts on jewelry and working with people in the best time of their lives
Cons: previous management
I was very pleased to have had the experience of working for the Shane Company. I learned many important lessons in management and will take them with me forever. The Management team at the beginning, was amazing, it changed however the the Store manager resigned and another stepped in. Since then, she has been removed and it is a great place again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: we did get free breakfast for the meetings and sometimes lunch.
Cons: breaks were short and people were mean no matter where you were.
Typically at work I would be over worked walking in the door. I learned that when they say customer service they mean become a door mat. The managers were terrible and they would write you up without telling you how to do anything correctly, they would change their mind about what they wanted you to do anyway so if you ever did do something you were – more... told to do you could still be written up for it because later they would want it another way. But they wouldn't communicate that to you. The hardest part of the job was walking in there! Nothing about it was fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to buy from but not so good to work for if in management.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GAJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: no ackowledgement of successes
Enjoyed coaching team and helping them close sales. Did not enjoy the fact that no matter how well you did you were never told good job by upper management.

About Shane Company

Shane Co. is the largest privately-held jeweler in the United States. The Centennial, Colo.-based company is a direct importer – Read more