Find companies:
Shane Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Shane Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empty promises and terrible management
Customer Service Associate I (Former Employee), Tigard, ORJune 21, 2014
Pros: occasional free food
Cons: inconsistent management, gossip
Working at Shane Co was like attending a much more dramatic version of high school all over again. There was so much drama between sales and the office, management and employees, and management and jewelers. Lot's of gossip and pitting people against each other, not only for employees but management as well. When I was first hired I was told there is – more... an "open door" policy, that I could go to any manager even all the way to executives and there was never any punishment or resentment. That is not the case. The managers were very resentful and would chastise you for going above their head and, god forbid, getting them in trouble or questioned. They would then make your work day extremely difficult, uncomfortable, and unenjoyable. And if the managers don't like you, for whatever reason personal or work realted, they will harass you until they can find a reason to get rid of you or you quit. There were 5 of them all with different ideas on how they wanted tasks and problems handled. If was very confusing and you can never seem to do anything right, no matter how hard you try.

I was also promised awesome pay incentives. Ha! Maybe if you're a sales associate but as a CSA or a jeweler you are expendable and unimportant. I didn't even receive a performance review. The only things that were ever brought to my attention were negatives and then I was not told how to correct them. Or if I was told how to correct my mistake it was later slapped back in my face as wrong by a different manager and was still my fault even if I mentioned so-and-so told me to do it this way.

The only positives I have to say about working there were the few of my coworkers I was able to become friends with, without having the fear of being back stabbed, and the few happy customers that came to the back to pick up their items or make a purchase. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat and professional with great co-workers.
Customer Service Associate (CSA I) (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great people
Cons: required to wear suits and heels.
They are very serious about training you in all aspects of the job which is great, but it does take time. Formal training isn't completed for about 3 months and then you continue to learn things about the job. The people that work at this location, are fantastic. The store manager can be difficult to work with, but everyone else is wonderful. The dress – more... code requires employees to wear suit attire which wasn't always enjoyable, but it's different for everyone. Working in the office, there was always something to do. Sales Associates had a slightly different agenda. Overall, a great company and a great place to work if you are willing to take your job seriously but still have fun! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never have I worked harder and gotten less in return
Digital Retoucher, Video (Former Employee), Denver, ColoradoMarch 22, 2014
Pros: some of the people
Cons: management
I don't even know where to begin. I was hired into a department with a huge hole, not only did I fill that hole I took classes (that not only I wasn't reimbursed, but wasn't allowed to leave 30 min early one day a week so the result was night classes taking away time from my family) to further the department. Then after 5 years of sometimes 100 hour – more... weeks (Promised comp time that was taken away after project completion) I was told by my manager I haven't proven myself. Since my departure they have now hired 3 people to fill my shoes and that's the only satisfaction I've EVER gotten from that company. I was even told once I talk to other departments too much. That was part of my job but was still warned "not to talk to the Enemy." No lie that was a direct quote. And believe me that was just the tip of the iceberg. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to earn high wages and learn key aspects of high end sells.
Sales Agent (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CANovember 24, 2013
Pros: good pay!
Overall a great place to work. Not for people who dont operate well under very close serveleince and rapid fire micromanaging. Personally, I like to think about what I say before spewing out information which is what they want from you at any given time. Turn-and-burn style sales. Again, great pay and benefits so I would encourage further interest be – more... followed with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a warm and happy atmosphere to work on a daily basis.
Office Manager (Former Employee), Roseville, Ca/ Walnut Creek, CASeptember 1, 2013
Pros: when the company achieves it goals, the company exspands out nice profit sharing to staff.
Cons: the cons was if you are and employee who works on commission, who is unable to make your quota it brings the down in their spirit.
My normal day at the jobs was to always make sure I take of our customers at best as possible. Reviewing previous day books to be sent off to the corporate office. Checking my email for any upcoming news and status changes. Shipping and receiving merchandise along with making sure they are in excellent condition.
I have learned many things in the Company – more... which has helped build my expertise to strive for my best.
One if which helped me achieve great communication skills to interact with my customers.
Every management has its concerns but for this management, because of the quality and professionalism they have been trained upon, the management brought their good values to their fellow employees. Then in-turn bring a great working atmosphere towards my coworkers and myself.
The hardest part of the job was that in time I may see a unhappy customer needing to return a merchandise due to the rejection of the significant other.
On the other hand it is one of my most enjoyable time to see the opposite. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong emphasis on guest relationships, integrity and honesty.
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Tigard, ORAugust 26, 2013
Pros: paid holidays off, 401k, consisten hours/schedule
Cons: required to work every weekend, no revenue incentive, and stagnant salary/advancement
Fast paced work environment with large client base, my focus is on balancing revenue goals with finding solutions to client issues.
I have learned a great deal in the sales field, regarding qualifying customers and addressing their objections and needs, all the while keeping a profitable margin for the company and the customer.
Management at Shane Co – more... will coach and critique after customer situations to better sales tactics.
My personal department of customer service requires me to find solutions in a tactful and diplomatic manner, often customers are upset and it is up to me to make sure the company does not take a negative hit, the customer is satisfied with the product and service, and a resolution is found in the stem of problem; I love this challenging aspect of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot about the high end jewelry industry
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSAugust 23, 2013
Pros: learned a lot about the industry
Cons: required to work overtime
I enjoyed feeling like I could run the customer service department by myself if I had to. I enjoyed the people I worked with and for for the most part. I learned a lot about diamonds which led me to a better opportunity at Tiffany and Company where when you are off you get to go home. At Shane you were expected to stay and work if it was busy regardless – more... if you had prior committments or a family to get home to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Kennesaw, GAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
This company teaches you to wear brass knuckles under white gloves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment. The company has a very high turnover and maybe if they would hire adequate employees the day would flow 100 times better.
CSA (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WAJune 13, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: micro managing
working at Shane co was great some days and terrible other days. I loved my co-workers but being understaffed was a major stresses for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, fast paced, and detail oriented workplace with emphasis on employee growth.
Office Manager (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAMay 17, 2013
Pros: team environment, professional, fast paced, internal growth, trust
Cons: commute, retail work hours, inconsistant schedule
A typical day at Shane Company starts at 9:25am-9pm, security measures are instilled to keep all personnel and company inventory safe and secure. Our customers are always first and for most in our everyday activities. Filing, organization, and detail orientation is a must. Training and developing all associates to continue internal growth within the – more... company is an everyday focus. Management meetings are held weekly to discuss procedures and employees struggles and growth. Establishing a management team that is thorough and consistent in their training is the goal. Shane Co is very much a team environment where we all work together and support one another. The hardest part of the job are the long retail hours, which in all honesty you adjust too. The most enjoyable part of the job is the fast pace environment, the co-workers, and the mistakes that are made. Some believe mistakes are a bad thing, but we consider them as growth and learning opportunities for all associates involved. Our customers will not be sacrificed in our mistakes. If we make mistakes we do it in the favor of the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviornment!
Diamond Consultant (Former Employee), Franklin, TNMay 15, 2013
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: no time for family, working every weekend
This is a wonderful company to work for! Co-workers are great and the atmosphere is really fun. However, I would encourage those who have/want a family to find employment elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable and poorly lead
IT Manager (Former Employee), Centennial, COMarch 11, 2013
The company as a whole is a rotten apple. On the outside it is a great company and their retail aspect is without question one of the best in its industry. The problem is that the interior is lead by people who have no direction and constantly fight each other for control. The :leaders" in their departments are egotistical and eliteist and are constantly – more... find new ways to undermind each other and the rest of the company suffers. They do not accpet that the leader of their Marketing department does not know whats best for the comapnys IT needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Jewelry company to work for
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Midvale, UTFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: discounts on jewelry and working with people in the best time of their lives
Cons: previous management
I was very pleased to have had the experience of working for the Shane Company. I learned many important lessons in management and will take them with me forever. The Management team at the beginning, was amazing, it changed however the the Store manager resigned and another stepped in. Since then, she has been removed and it is a great place again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: we did get free breakfast for the meetings and sometimes lunch.
Cons: breaks were short and people were mean no matter where you were.
Typically at work I would be over worked walking in the door. I learned that when they say customer service they mean become a door mat. The managers were terrible and they would write you up without telling you how to do anything correctly, they would change their mind about what they wanted you to do anyway so if you ever did do something you were – more... told to do you could still be written up for it because later they would want it another way. But they wouldn't communicate that to you. The hardest part of the job was walking in there! Nothing about it was fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to buy from but not so good to work for if in management.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GAJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: no ackowledgement of successes
Enjoyed coaching team and helping them close sales. Did not enjoy the fact that no matter how well you did you were never told good job by upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, good pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brentwood, MOJanuary 25, 2013
Great team environment, good hours and pay. Retail hours. Great management but potential to advance is limited. requires relocation for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment
Software Developer (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 26, 2012
They encourage you to ask questions but if you ask too many, they will let you go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company forgot what it's supposed to supply and a sucky culture.
Jeweler (Former Employee), Tukwila, WASeptember 9, 2012
Pros: nice buildings
Cons: the whole corporate bs in a jewelry store chain
The corporate culture in this company is misplaced in the jewelry stores. There is no flexibility for the people who actually provide the product - the jewelers. Treated like monkeys in a cage and expected to churn out (to someone in head offices' schedule) the repairs and adjustments for their jewelry.

Corporate doesn't allow for the extremely taxing – more... work of being in the one position and people tapping on glass to amuse themselves, along with the clocking in and clocking out of a paper pushers job. No decent benefits for jewelers; ridiculous rules and an intolerance for that which falls outside of their guidelines. Jewelers of more than 10 years experience being paid embarrassing wages for their professional skills. How is it ok to pay a goldsmith of 40 years experience, who's forgotten more than most will ever learn; less than $20 per hour? Someone who's done everything the job they offer a thousand times over and is still willing to work for your no variety, endlessly repetitive drudgery.

Shane Co is NOT a place I'd ever return to. With 4 managers and an assistant manager per store - micro-management, mind numbingly stupid rules, anxious co-workers with nothing to enjoy but leaving the building after the shift is done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy store. Great training progams and beautiful products.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), MidvaleApril 29, 2012
Securing the store and then setting up the cases with the products. Ran morning meetings with team and set store goals for the staff yearly, monthly and daily. Ensured all guests were properly assisted and educated. I Conducted interviews, over the phone as well as in person. The hardest part of the job was the work life balance. I was scheduled 45 – more... hours per week and averaged 60. The sales team was amazing, I had some great co-workers and the pay along with the benefits was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bespoke Jewellery and Diamond mounting on site
Merchandiser/Jeweller/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: being creative and never having the same day twice
Cons: location was in downtown seattle which was 1.5 hrs away from my home.
Loved working for this company. It gave you the opportunity to help create the perfect piece with your customers. All stones were loose and catalogued individually for ease of selling.

I started off as the Merchandiser and buyer for the location bringing in the elements needed to create and sell one of a kind pieces to the customers.

Here, I also – more... received bench training on setting, sizing and polishing. – less

About Shane Company

Shane Co. is the largest privately-held jeweler in the United States. The Centennial, Colo.-based company is a direct importer – Read more