Shape Corp Employee Reviews

Found 68 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing company with strong focus on safety, culture, and innovation.
Production Leader (Current Employee) –  Grand Haven, MISeptember 14, 2016
Shape Corp is an excellent company. As with any fast growing company there are growing pains, but that is what pushes the company to maintain a strong culture of discipline and to continually problem solve at all levels of the organization.
Shape has competitive wages, great health benefits, and quarterly bonuses. Management cares about employee safety and development. Because this is a fast growing company in need of associates, overtime is readily available.
I have worked with Shape Corp for many years and have been able to develop my career based on the opportunities for growth that are available. I am pleased with what this company has achieved, where it is going and I am proud to tell people where I work.
Pros
Safety, development, benefits, bonuses.
Cons
Overtime requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical Manufacturing Job
Spot Welder (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MISeptember 3, 2016
A typical day at Shape did not feel very productive because of down time. This fast paced job had lots of down time ranging from 30 mins-6 hours. Management pretty laid back and understanding however.
Pros
Benifits, Training, overtime
Cons
overtime, young people
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better companies out there.
Former employee. (Former Employee) –  MichiganMay 9, 2016
The pay is ok but not the best. They pay you just enough to get you in the door but that's it. In order to move up you have to be buddy buddy with someone. The boneses could be better but it's shady how it works. The management finds ways to make there boneses top notch. And reviews are not based on performance but the test they make you take and other junk.
Pros
You get a paycheck just enough to get buy.
Cons
Too much to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for a check
Plastic Tech. (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIMay 8, 2016
Meet the right co-workers you can have a good time. Very safety oriented... sometimes just a tad overboard example saftey hats. Management is very poor at providing equality among staff you can tell favorites. Advancement is hard unless you're buddy buddy with someone that can help you. If you keep your mouth shut hence drama, follow procedures you will be fine. Pay is ok, nice with the overtime but sucks when you dont get much off on weekends or short staffed. Bonuses are pretty decent and it helps!! Health benifits are really good you gotta give a little though for some health classes to get alot which is better than paying out of your own pocket. There was no deductible just few co pays for meds or ER.
Pros
Health Benifits, bonuses
Cons
Management, staff drama
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My hairline is receding because of this place
Rollform Mill Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIJanuary 6, 2016
I absolutely dreaded going into this place every day. No number of parts that you produce is ever good enough to get off of weekend work (You are there 12 days straight and then two days off) or to get management to actually appreciate anything you do.They claim to be big on safety, yet just about every piece of equipment on my line was/is leaking hydraulic fluids and oils after numerous work orders to fix them. Someone slipped and had to get stitches in his head because of this. You get a 20 minute lunch (gulp it down, hurry up!) and one 10 minute break. It was a guessing game as to whether or not you're getting the holidays off. They would seriously tell you they "don't know" until the day before the holiday. I've left work for the weekend thinking I had it off and then was called and told it was mandatory that I show up on Saturday and Sunday. A lot of people that have been there for a while and have more skilled positions with better pay are quitting right now because of how bad it has gotten over the years. The thing about it is that the work itself is actually not bad, but the management makes it the worst place to work imaginable. I honestly think management inflates the rating on Indeed by submitting false reviews (I definitely wouldn't put it past them, because they are lying snakes). I wouldn't wish being stuck working here on my worst enemy. It is that bad.
Pros
Opportunities to advance, because people are quitting left and right
Cons
Where do I begin?
Was this review helpful?Yes28No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shape.....
Cut And Etch Tech (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIDecember 30, 2015
working with the company and its employees wasn't all that great. Hr alone isn't great, but i did enjoy the type of work i did especially imaging. It was hard to learn though.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Spring Lake, MIDecember 11, 2015
Shape is an excellent company to work for. The upper management cares about their associates and there is a true family atmosphere. The benefits provided are among the best you will find from an employer. I recommend shape corp to anyone looking for a career.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
Manufacturing Technician (Current Employee) –  Grand Haven, MINovember 8, 2015
Company is exploding right now. The management is having a rough time staying caught up with all the production needs, often working weekends or mandatory 10-12 hour days.
Pros
401k, health care
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Grand Haven, MINovember 7, 2015
A decent company to work for, job load is very fair and chance to advance in company is there if your willing to put the effort in. Pay is below average but benefits are great.
Pros
Coworkers are nice
Cons
20 minute lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Pro employee
Machine operator Plastic (Current Employee) –  Grand Haven, MINovember 2, 2015
Very safety conscious, and had many employee benefits to offer.
Strict weekend / extra hour work schedule that was rotated.
Pros
Good opportunities to advance
Cons
Training was for a two week period, but not focused.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but could be better.
material handler (Current Employee) –  Spring Lake, MIOctober 27, 2015
The work load they force on some of the employees should be balanced out between all of the workers. The job itself is pretty easy but can be alittle too much at times, and finding help is hard. The benefits Shape give are incredilbe. Some of the best around, They try hard to give the employees credit when its due.
Pros
Benefits, Bonuses, Vacation
Cons
Pay scale, Work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job if you can get in
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIOctober 22, 2015
Was an ok job with consistent hours (besides the overtime) but management was terrible. Supervisor never new what was going on and was very unhelpful when any problems arose. The Shape staffing lady was also very rude and treated everyone like the were a lesser person. Co-workers were great for the most part. Lots of heavy lifting and constantly on you feet. Mandatory overtime and no time off until you are hired in (90 days).
Cons
Short Breaks, Lots of overtime, no willingness to work with temp requests
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIOctober 12, 2015
Family oriented company with fair pay and benefits. Work consists of automotive and industrial manufacturing. Management qualities could be improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers
Journeyman Tool and Die Maker (Current Employee) –  Grand Haven, MISeptember 23, 2015
The employees that I work with on all shift are easy to get a long with and has a very open atmosphere. Everyone works well as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours and fun coworkers, but poor management
Welder (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MISeptember 21, 2015
Shape manufactures automotive parts; particularly bumpers. Worked from 6:10 am - 2:30 pm Monday - Friday. Mostly welded and worked machines.There was often times mandatory overtime due to managements poor use of time as well as neglecting to hire more workers, despite the nonstop orders from customers. I was constatly told that the company saves money by not hiring because it costs more to hire another shift and pay their benefits than it does to work your crew to the bone and pay them overtime pay. Because of this, multiple people quite. Compensation wasn't all that great, but the benefits were decent.
Pros
good hours
Cons
worked hard for minimal pay
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i have learned a lot at shape.
PUMA (Current Employee) –  Grand Haven, MISeptember 19, 2015
shape is a good job, and I have learned many things. I am not happy with the management, and I feel there is no opportunity for advancement. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. There were many challenging tasks, that made me grow and become a good worker, and understanding my roll in working for a large company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Quality Tech II (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIAugust 31, 2015
Hired as a Manufacturing Tech then transitioned into the role of a Quality Tech. Fun workplace with many opportunities to advance.
Pros
great leadership
Cons
shortage of people leading to OT
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Ticket writer (Current Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIAugust 20, 2015
A typical day in my job is very busy and multi-tasking is a must. The company as a whole right now is extremely short staffed which makes for longer weeks and weekend overtime. The work life balance is not equal in any way, shape, or form.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work, big break room with foosball tables
Machine Welder (Former Employee) –  MIAugust 4, 2015
Always something to be done even if a machine that you are on goes down. Definitely a place you can advance in and build a solid career.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great most of the time
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Grand Haven, MIJuly 28, 2015
Shape Corp can be a great place to work. They call themselves a family and truly try to create a family environment in the workplace. You have to know who to stay away from and how to keep to yourself, however you will also make great friends with some of the people you work close to. Management is constantly encouraging if you want to move forward within the company, however it can also be a very stressful job as machines can breakdown which makes it difficult to meet deadlines that supervisors are responsible for, and ultimately the pressure is put on your shoulders. I would have transferred to another plant in a second if I had not moved to an area without a Shape plant nearby.
Pros
Great benefits, room for advancement, free lunch at bonus meetings
Cons
Stressful, occasional mandatory weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 70 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.0
Culture
3.5