Find companies:
Shari's Restaurant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Shari's Restaurant Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and great enviornment
Line Cook (Current Employee), Portland, ORJuly 22, 2014
Pros: meals for breaks friendly co-workers
Cons: not enough hours of work a week
do prep. for cooks linn and wait staff and cook all food on menu
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work.
Hostess (Former Employee), Oregon City, ORMay 4, 2014
A typical night at work either had you standing around, looking for things to do, or made you so busy, the whole place would be a disaster area. People never did their side work or kept the restaurant clean. You were either scheduled 1 day a week, or 50 hours a week. You wanted more/ less hours? Too bad. You weren't allowed to work more than 40 hours – more... a week because then you qualified for benefits, which was something they offer, but don't want you to to qualify for. Management has been caught sitting in dark office napping, during rushes where we needed help. That doesn't even begin to scratch the surface. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Hillsboro, ORApril 26, 2014
This was a wonderful company to work for. I felt like the management was fair and family oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What do you learn
Server/Hostess (Former Employee), Puyallup, WAApril 1, 2014
Pros: i did made a good money
Cons: work when my family don't (holidays)
I did learn to work with golden age guess, and I did like at lot. .
Also I learn about american food, and how to prepare it.
And I learn how to take care about a lot of things at the same time.
I have over 80 guess daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers
waitress (Former Employee), Renton, WAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: working the late shift
Very busy ,specially the weekends . Changed Management quite
often.Open twenty four hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Hostess (Former Employee), Hood River, ORJanuary 20, 2014
Great oppurtunity to work w variety of customers, great pay and awesome team work ethics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and Positive.
Line Cook (Current Employee), Kent, WADecember 13, 2013
A typical day at work would be clocking in my shift on time, and checking the walk in for what needs to be prep. for breakfast,lunch, and dinner. Working at Shari's restaurant taught me how to have more confidence in my work, it taught me how to be thankful for everything in my life, it also helped me to discipline myself to take on new challenges, – more... and to be the best at what I do. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to cook with passion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Baker (Former Employee), springfield orDecember 1, 2013
Pros: coworkers
Cons: truck
first job. loved all the coworkers i was working with learned how to handle difficult customers and the management was a blast to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun and enjoyable place to work
Dish Machine Operator (Former Employee), Spokane, WANovember 22, 2013
Pros: great atmospere, very helpful, beautiful place, amazing team work
Cons: benifits
I loved the atmospere of all of the co-workers and especially the helpfulness of everyone there. I learned how to manage my time better at work and that in the restaurant buisness there are a lot of places to advance within the same company. The hardest part of my job was trying to get off on time. Management was really awesome with training and treating – more... everyone fairly. The most enjoyable part of my job was having the experience to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there, it didn't feel like I was going to work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Boise, IDJuly 17, 2013
I learned how to communicate with people better. Honesty and being real with the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to learn to Multi- task
Hostess (Former Employee), Castro Valley, CaJune 19, 2013
Pros: active, entertaining, energizing
Cons: benefits, low pay
A typical day at work is busy and full of people. I get to meet all sorts of different walks of life. There are some older people that come in everyday and sometimes twice a day. My managers for the most part are nice. Everyone is very helpful and we work well as a team. The hardest part of the job is down time because I always like to stay busy and – more... active. I enjoy getting to know so many people everyday I am at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy restaurant
Waiter (Former Employee), wenatchee, waNovember 19, 2012
Take customer’s orders accurately, serve food and beverages, prepare itemized checks, and take payments at a busy area restaurant. Inform customers about menu specials. Set up and clear tables. Check patrons’ ID to ensure they meet the minimum age requirement to purchase alcohol. Also train new employees, and serve as host, cashier, baker, and food – more... prep. Perform minor maintenance. Maintain high degree of professionalism and offer reliable, friendly service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive workplace
Hostess (Current Employee), Oregon City, OROctober 24, 2012
A typical day at work involves helping customers have the best experience possible. This includes helping the servers when needed and making sure that my duties are done so that the restaurant stays clean and presentable. The management is very helpful and keeps employees on track. Co-workers are always positive and helpful. There is sometimes drama – more... that gets in the way. The hardest part of the job is trying to stay out of the drama in the workplace. People fight over tables and as the hostess it is hard to keep everyone happy. The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers. I love to see our regulars and newcomers and here about their day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant
Server (Former Employee), cheyenne wyomingSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: money earned daily
Cons: not enough hours
Serve food to customers in timely fashion and give the best customer service possible. I believe you learn something new everyday if you are open minded to it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun high pace work
Dishwasher / Server (Former Employee), Wenatchee, WAAugust 7, 2012
Pros: meeting new people daily
Cons: working swing
It was a wonderful environment to be in, people were always happy and I was always happy to be there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They live their mission statement!
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Salem, ORJuly 23, 2012
Pros: yes, and all of the above
Cons: long hours, but duhhhh, right?
I was attracted to Shari's as a customer. Every store was immaculate and service was unusually attentive and friendly. However, what attracted me as an applicant for an Assistant Manager's position was the mission statement: : To enhance the value of our guest's overall dining experience by identifying and developing extremely talented and caring employees – more... dedicated to serving quality products with pride."

From my experience as a theatre director, I understood what it meant to identify talent sometimes revealed in auditions only as a spark and a hunch. The DM who interviewed me knew about identifying talent, and I can tell you it wasn't based on any experience I had as an assistant. Rather, I had only numerous years as a server, a stint as a supervisor, and a TON of passion for giving customers extraordinary experiences.

I thought, OK! here's part of the mission manifested. We were a busy store and I went right onto the floor where I brought my experience as server to aid me, watched the example of the manager and other assistants, and ascertained guests' needs from table visits and observing both the overall flow and specific actions of servers to determine how and where to lend support.

With time, I entered the Assistant Manager Training Course. Folks, this is IT! So thorough, so comprehensive a course that it would cost mega bucks to take a similar course by itself. This course trains you to become a GENERAL MANAGER, (if all your performance ducks are in a row and you decide, if offered, to take that next step of basic knowledge to enter that new experience). At the very least, the course shows you EVERYTHING you need to know to develop yourself into an outstanding assistant.

It boils down to your bringing the right attitude, a love for the business, a passion to do things right in a way that ALL affects the guest positively and memorably!! Oh, and did I say, a willingness to break out of that "hide in the office"mentality that always shows up in guest service. I had a great manager, a smart DM, and FABULOUS CREW, great team of peer assistant managers that understood the word, "TEAMWORK"--not "hide behind the peer who is working hard."

So if you want to have your talent identified, get the best in development, have a match for your comittment for off-the-chart guest service, gain a crew who is willing and have opportunities to develop those who are fledglings, here it is. I ENCOURAGE you to apply. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great restraunt
cook (Former Employee), portland oregonJuly 5, 2012
basic.cook and prep food .restraunts are very fast paiest..management was awesome..co workers were great to work with..having to many ticketts at once..the employees and food were ..great..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just not the same anymore!
Server (Current Employee), Spokane Valley, WAJune 20, 2012
Cons: the benefits aren't great
I've worked for Shari's for along time now and it used to be so much fun working there. Things sure have changed in the last 5 years or so. It's very corporatized and you have to basically be a car salesmen to sell products to guests. That's not what I signed up for 14 years ago.

The most enjoyable part about my job is making the guests happy and having – more... fun at work with the co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summary
Server (Former Employee), gresham , oregonJune 19, 2012
Pros: great tips
excellent management, they care about their employees, you would have to work hard, as they dont believe in standing around during slow times, but it was worth it,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work, it was all about the Management
Server (Former Employee), Boise, IDJune 5, 2012
Pros: contests and incentives
Cons: every place has cons
Typical day would be communicating and intereacting with the guests. That made my day. I couldn' wait to get to work. In life, in general we always learn something new everyday! Thats is what made this kind of work exciting. The management was just awesome and always went out of their way to talk, communicate and to help if needed. Hardest part I guess, – more... was fullfilling other co-workers sidework from previous shift. I was on busiest shift and if previous shift didnt do their job, it made my day very hard of running for items. So what I learned from that was to get there early and be prepared and dont complain. Maybe mention it but dont go overboard. The best part was the team that we all were. I cried when I left Shari's to come back to Calif. One server took a vacation and stayed at my home with her family. Other ex co-workers still call me on the phone. I even hear from the ole manager seeing how I'm doing. Now thats what I call a great place to work! – less