Find companies:
Sharp HealthCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Sharp HealthCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every work day is a new experience.
Certified-Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 15, 2013
Pros: great flexibility
With being a floater CNA to all Sharp Hospitals, you are able to not only meet new people but you are able to learn and experience something new everyday at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pharmacy Clerk (Former Employee), La Mesa, CAJanuary 28, 2013
I helped in a pharmacy at one of the major hospitals in San Diego county. Management can be irregular. Some managers cared deeply about their employees and really showed how to really embrace the 'Sharp Experience'. Co-workers were professional and great people outside of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Packaging Technician (Current Employee), Phoenixville, PAJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: breaks, hours
Cons: need better schedule
A typical day at work consists of getting dressed in scrubs and either working in a secondary room or primary room. In secondary we are packing and labeling the drug. In our primary rooms we prepare the drug to be packaged and labeled. The job gives me great experience working in the healthcare field although it can be very slow at times. As a temp – more... I do not receive any benefits nor am I guaranteed a solid schedule. The pay is decent for what the job consists of, but I would like to be more involved and more hands on while working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in Radiology
Clerical Assistant III (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: free lunches from the reps
Cons: not enough time to spend patients one on one
A typical day at work is to go in checking pts in calling for insurance verification ,answering phones, medical records , bringing pts back for exams , assisting the doctor, prepping charts and helping patients with paperwork. The managers were helpful in helping when I was overwhelmed with patients and I learned how to make patients feel comfortable – more... when they were there for exams. The harest part of my job was helping them get an appointment if they weren't scheduled. the most enjoyable part was talking to the patients and laughing with my coworkers while getting the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work place with nice people.
Equipment Technician (Current Employee), Coronado, CADecember 21, 2012
Pros: nice people
Cons: jobs do not last long
most days are fast paced. learned alot about the sharp life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure and there's room for growth
Account Analyst II (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 18, 2012
Pros: able to transfer around
Cons: they usually only hire from within
Good company and offers different branches not just healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good benefits, but management does not support it's employees
Radiology (Former Employee), Sharp GrossmontNovember 8, 2012
Pros: great company ceo, good retirement plans
Cons: management at grossmont, medical benefits only allow you to use sharp physicians
Inconsistent radiology management. Some departments were cutting employees while other departments were overstaffed and not allowed to leave early if it was slow.

Management only comes out of their office when there is a problem.

Disgruteledsharpmanager – July 11, 2013

They have "Just Culture" at Sharp the only way an employee will get fired is if they do something horrific. The HR manager says that everyone can be rehabilitated. No one gets written up and no one is held accountable. And employees that have no experience but have been there forever get raises upon raises over new hired that have WAY more experience, knowledge and are managers and leads over those employees.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working at Sharp but I would like a job in women's health and newborns.
Registered Nurse/Clinical Associate (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 17, 2012
Pros: bonus every year
Cons: usually work without nursing aides on the unit.
I love my co-workers, very high-acuity and fast-paced floor, beautiful hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Medicare pre-biller (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 6, 2012
Pros: i had a health insurance plan, i had an hour for lunch which gave me time to eat and even run some errands.
My job was a pre-biller for Medicare, I would enter the charts into the computer. I did various tasks which I learned in a short period of time. I learned to keep on schedule and follow directions. The management team were great. I worked well with others in my department. I really enjoyed working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMR Staff Training
Orders Communication/Ancillary Systems Analyst (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 29, 2012
Pros: worked with a fabulous training team.
Cons: some people relied on their coworkers to train them.
Dedicated team of analysts to teach end users the application for their user role. Provided positive encouragement. Provided follow up info and support user questions via e-mail or site visits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to expand knowledge on healthcare and customer service
Case Management/Social Work Assistant (Former Employee), Coronado, CAAugust 15, 2012
Sharp Coronado Hospital primary focus is orthopedics. Several of my roles in that organization were to insure the patient’s well-being and satisfaction with our care. I provided assistance Case Managers/Discharge Planners and Social Workers in all aspects of coordinating post-op care for total joint replacement and medical/surgical patients. Specifically, – more... I assisted patients in the transition from acute-care to their home by assuring there was continuity in services. I expanded my knowledge about how to make the patient feel the best possible, in an acute care hospital stay, while fulfilling their medical and personal needs. This task at times was very fulfilling but could also be difficult. Working with diverse and open co-workers and manager made it easier for me to succeed in my tasks while meeting the patients needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great overall experience
Call Center Representative (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 13, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
needs to provide current employees with avenues for advancement and opportunity. The company itself like I said is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Employee (Former Employee), Allentown, PAAugust 6, 2012
Not a fun place to work unless you like stand for 8+ hours doing the same exact thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and build a career
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 3, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
I don't have any major issues with Sharp Healthcare. It's overall a very, very great place to work. A Bachelor's Degree will most certainly increase your chances of advancement, and the blame here isn't on the company. The only reason I gave them three stars on job security/ advancement is because it's tough for anyone any where right now to move up/advance. – more... I don't want someone to apply, get hired, and assume they're going to be the CEO within 6 months based off of my review. The advancement opportunities are very deoartment specific, so if you've got the knowledge, professionalism, and the drive to succeed than by all means apply and work here. It's a great company with great people, and great security, I've been working for Sharp Healthcare now for 3 years, so it's there, and it's there until you decide it's time to move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharp
Electron Microscopist / Histotechnologist (Former Employee), San Dieog, CAAugust 2, 2012
Sharp is a great place to work, gain experience, and focus on providing the best patient care possible. Great philosophy from CEO down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Healthcare
Marketing & Communications Consultant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 25, 2012
Pros: passion for the industry
Cons: salary ceiling
8-5
Healthcare industry
Excellent management
The best
Nothing, it was great
Human interest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Access Service Representative (Current Employee), La Mesa, CAJune 8, 2012
Great benefits and mission statement! Great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharp is a fantastic place to work, I welcome any and all opportunities in order to advance my skills and career.
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Sharp Hospital San DiegoJune 4, 2012
I have learned that it is more valuable and effective to work as a team rather than an individual. It is important that, in addition to being qualified for a position I must also carry integrity, loyalty, and flexibility. These are all qualities I pride myself in. I am highly motivated with strong leadership qualities as well as the ability to adapt – more... to a new environment. I have great listening as well as communication skills, and a passion for learning. My co-workers are my teammates we are here to help each other and grow together, making the workplace as effective as possible. I love my job and I would not trade it for the world. My favorite part of the job is being a part of helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMay 28, 2012
I have really enjoyed my time at Sharp. They have always taken good care of me and my family as patients, and have been fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of professionalism
sonographer (Former Employee), sharp rees stealyApril 23, 2012
Cons: mislead, incompetent employees, waste of time
lack of professionalism, between colleagues and management
backstabbing , lies, no values, no respect.

employees/management should go back to orientation and learn about the mission and values "the flame" not only towards patient care but also towards the colleagues.
This job is always being posted have you ever wonder why???
Be Aware!

About Sharp HealthCare

Sharp HealthCare stands on the cutting edge of health care delivery in Southern California. The system of not-for-profit hospitals – Read more