Shaw Construction Employee Reviews in United States

Found 32 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Freeport, ILSeptember 1, 2015
My typical day was waking up at 7 am and heading to the work site. i think one of the hardest parts of this job was the clean up after the demolitions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with benefits
Orbital welding supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cliffside NCJanuary 11, 2012
Shaw is a good company to work for. They offer 401k and insurance. The jobs they have are usually long term and safety orientated. There are some opportunities for advancement but most leadership positions are filled by regular employees.
Pros
steady work
Cons
often too much overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily routine in my last job
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Cliffside, NCOctober 17, 2012
I prefer be at job 15 minutes before start time,than start talking about safety topics and How implementing at the works area, normally we meet around print shop,
I see every day as the opportunity to develope my skills and knowlodge also improvement. I believe that good communication is very important from the management to employed, i like respect to my boss man and co-worker,i know each one is important for a
good job to be done. the hardest part was the weather for extreme
temperatures hot and cold(not always)
The most enjoyable part of my job is see the job done and without injuries and well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing safety meetings and haveing a truck to dive on site.
B/Maker Superintendent (Former Employee) –  CLIFF SIDE N.C.September 19, 2012
Going to meetings and going in the feild to check on the people thats working for me. Makeing sure they are working safe and productive. Learned more about keeping people safe on the site. Management is a hard job. You can not have friends working for you. You have to on top your people. Co-worker in supervison needs to work together so we can get the done snd safe. Keeping people safe. When you complete a task that your crew has done and nobody hurt that makes my day.
Pros
getting awards and dinners for being safe.
Cons
going to meeting at 6:00 am
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in.
Electrical Journeymen/Wire Pull Lead (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAMarch 6, 2013
I was handed Wire pulls that needed pulled for that week. I walked out tray routes to makes sure they could be pulled and planned wire pulls. I laid out men for the days task and while they was pulling i was ordering material and staying ahead of the crew. Management was great. If i ever needed help in anyways they did there best to answer or help.
Pros
good pay, good with letting guys that worked on the road leave to go home every now and again.
Cons
not much time off
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Shaw and would work for them again
Rodbuster (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMay 13, 2012
Working for Shaw was not really that different from working for the other large companies that I have worked for. I try not to deal that much with management although Shaw was like other companies
they had their ups and downs. I always try to enjoy my co-workers because that is what makes the days on the job pass by better and most enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little pay and bad attitudes within the management
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Yorktown, VAOctober 23, 2013
This company is not a very resourceful one. it seems to me like everyone is more worried about holding people down at the bottom than advancing people worthy of it to optimize there potential and production.
Pros
health benefits and work truck
Cons
pessimistic manamegement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn many skills
Pipe Fitter Helper (Former Employee) –  Cliffside NC.November 26, 2012
Assisted pipe fitters and welders in the construction of a power plant owned by Duke Power. Cut, threaded, hung, and connected all types of pipe. Brazed and welded.

learned how power plant works
co-workers were very divers

reading blue print was the hardest part of the job

the most enjoyable part of the job the freedom and the final project.
Pros
benefits
Cons
distance overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productiive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXApril 25, 2013
Safety meeting at the start of each day at work, I successfully completed the course of instruction and application requirements for lean construction. Management worked with you and your co workers knew their skills. The hardest part of the job was getting the material for the job on time. Being told the you were doing a good job.
Pros
monthly safety meals
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Electrical Journeymen/Wire Pull Lead (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAMarch 6, 2013
I was giving task for day. I wrote out on paper what my day would consist of. Plan dangers and how i could prevent them. I would manage my helper and we would do task. Usually i would run conduit, install cable tray, Ground wires.
Pros
always had supplies, management was always there for you.
Cons
worked nights
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Project
General Foreman (Current Employee) –  Fulton, ARJanuary 31, 2013
Built the JW Turk unit a 650 MW Coal fired ultra super critical power plant. It is the first of its kind in the United States. Work included the Alstom Turbine/generator, Alstom Turbine for Flowserve feed pump & B & W boiler.
Pros
one of the safest jobs i have been involved with
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed being employed by The Shaw Group
Maintenance Mechanic/Fitter/Welder (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCDecember 2, 2013
Received work orders, went to work, supervisors realized we were professionals and allowed us to do our jobs
Pros
great benefits, family oriented
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependable Company
Structural Fitter/Welder (Former Employee) –  TexasApril 5, 2011
They are a Great company to work for and offer advancement at any level.
More than I can say about Many big construction companies out there!
Pros
they treat you right!, respect their employees!
Cons
hmm..cant think of one..seriously.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work invirement
Maintenance Millwright (Former Employee) –  Tonopah, AZMay 20, 2013
great place to work, good people safe plant stressed safety as a core value. good pay good friends just no job security
Pros
safe work atomousphere
Cons
so many different procedures for the same task
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAAugust 24, 2013
Shaw (CB&I now) offered me advancement in all manners of the job. they offered great safety incentives and made sure everyone was treated equally.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw is an excellent company to work for.
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Foulton, ARJuly 17, 2013
Shaw treats their employees very well. At least once a month they provide a full catered meal to all employees.
Pros
good benefits and pay
Cons
traveling
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of helpful management
Materials Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cliffside, NCJuly 8, 2013
learned the logistics of construction, how to manage shipments to and from job sites around the country.
Pros
independence
Cons
pricey medical benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
designer (Former Employee) –  texasFebruary 28, 2012
shaw is a good place to work. they have great benefits and very organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good place to work.
Precision Millwright helper (Former Employee) –  Castlewood, VAOctober 9, 2012
Job safety is a priority...which is a great thing when working industrial construction. They practice what they preach. Also, they give you what you need to do your job. Overall, one of the best, if not the best company I have worked for. No complaints.
Pros
good pay, great bonus program.
Cons
what can i say, my experience was positive. in all fairness though, there w
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all Shaw construction was a great place to work
Superintendant (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 24, 2013
I had a great time working for Shaw, I'm just unlucky it ended so quick
The experience I've received was increditable
The people I was involve with were outstanding
Pros
on going education programs, like material changes, safety courses
Cons
not enough family time
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shaw Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture