Shaw Construction Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Carpinteria, CADecember 6, 2016
Great company to work with and get experience do you work right and you a job just For me was just to far to travel to work every day I use to travel 1 he and a half
Pros
not much
Cons
most of the work is 45+ mins away
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Pipefitter Assistant (Former Employee) –  Denver, NCOctober 14, 2015
Shaw construction was a good company I enjoyed my time there, I wish it could have been longer. They could work on management and how they pick people to stay on full time. Overall good company.
Pros
Give aways
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Freeport, ILSeptember 1, 2015
My typical day was waking up at 7 am and heading to the work site. i think one of the hardest parts of this job was the clean up after the demolitions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working in your own business.
Owner (Current Employee) –  Portales, NMJanuary 17, 2014
Times are rough here in New Mexico and business is not well.

Over saw the start of my own business from the ground up. Just need a better paying job with insurance. etc.
Pros
Owner
Cons
Workmans Comp Insurance, location.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor supervision
Warehouse Foreman and Industrial Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAJanuary 1, 2014
Work for this company on two different locations. Both experience the supervision performed their job poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed being employed by The Shaw Group
Maintenance Mechanic/Fitter/Welder (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCDecember 2, 2013
Received work orders, went to work, supervisors realized we were professionals and allowed us to do our jobs
Pros
great benefits, family oriented
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little pay and bad attitudes within the management
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Yorktown, VAOctober 23, 2013
This company is not a very resourceful one. it seems to me like everyone is more worried about holding people down at the bottom than advancing people worthy of it to optimize there potential and production.
Pros
health benefits and work truck
Cons
pessimistic manamegement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Shaw was a good employer
millwright (Former Employee) –  Fulton, ARSeptember 3, 2013
A day with Shaw could be a building project, a training day, repairing an item. You never knew. This was the thing that I loved about my job.
Pros
wages, people, challenges
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAAugust 24, 2013
Shaw (CB&I now) offered me advancement in all manners of the job. they offered great safety incentives and made sure everyone was treated equally.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw is an excellent company to work for.
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Foulton, ARJuly 17, 2013
Shaw treats their employees very well. At least once a month they provide a full catered meal to all employees.
Pros
Good benefits and pay
Cons
Traveling
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of helpful management
Materials Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cliffside, NCJuly 8, 2013
learned the logistics of construction, how to manage shipments to and from job sites around the country.
Pros
independence
Cons
pricey medical benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved The Company
Class A Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Convent, LaJuly 4, 2013
Learned a lot working there, and I miss the guys who I worked with so many years ago.
Pros
Work evironment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Carpenter Helper (Former Employee) –  VermonJune 5, 2013
Long days at being a carpenter helper and carrying scaffolding poles, Great co-workers, Carrying 13' scaffold poles up a full flight of stairs
Pros
none
Cons
no per diem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work invirement
Maintenance Millwright (Former Employee) –  Tonopah, AZMay 20, 2013
great place to work, good people safe plant stressed safety as a core value. good pay good friends just no job security
Pros
safe work atomousphere
Cons
so many different procedures for the same task
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productiive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXApril 25, 2013
Safety meeting at the start of each day at work, I successfully completed the course of instruction and application requirements for lean construction. Management worked with you and your co workers knew their skills. The hardest part of the job was getting the material for the job on time. Being told the you were doing a good job.
Pros
monthly safety meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all Shaw construction was a great place to work
Superintendant (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 24, 2013
I had a great time working for Shaw, I'm just unlucky it ended so quick
The experience I've received was increditable
The people I was involve with were outstanding
Pros
on going education programs, like material changes, safety courses
Cons
not enough family time
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company
Millwright top helper (Former Employee) –  Fulton, ARMarch 12, 2013
the job was in debt so we didn't get fair pay i am not trying to complain this site wanted a review
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Electrical Journeymen/Wire Pull Lead (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAMarch 6, 2013
I was giving task for day. I wrote out on paper what my day would consist of. Plan dangers and how i could prevent them. I would manage my helper and we would do task. Usually i would run conduit, install cable tray, Ground wires.
Pros
always had supplies, management was always there for you.
Cons
worked nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in.
Electrical Journeymen/Wire Pull Lead (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAMarch 6, 2013
I was handed Wire pulls that needed pulled for that week. I walked out tray routes to makes sure they could be pulled and planned wire pulls. I laid out men for the days task and while they was pulling i was ordering material and staying ahead of the crew. Management was great. If i ever needed help in anyways they did there best to answer or help.
Pros
good pay, good with letting guys that worked on the road leave to go home every now and again.
Cons
not much time off
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Project
General Foreman (Current Employee) –  Fulton, ARJanuary 31, 2013
Built the JW Turk unit a 650 MW Coal fired ultra super critical power plant. It is the first of its kind in the United States. Work included the Alstom Turbine/generator, Alstom Turbine for Flowserve feed pump & B & W boiler.
Pros
one of the safest jobs i have been involved with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shaw Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9