Find companies:
Shaw Construction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Shaw Construction Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor supervision
Warehouse Foreman and Industrial Pipefitter (Former Employee), Saint Paul, VAJanuary 1, 2014
Work for this company on two different locations. Both experience the supervision performed their job poorly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed being employed by The Shaw Group
Maintenance Mechanic/Fitter/Welder (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCDecember 2, 2013
Pros: great benefits, family oriented
Received work orders, went to work, supervisors realized we were professionals and allowed us to do our jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little pay and bad attitudes within the management
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee), Yorktown, VAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: health benefits and work truck
Cons: pessimistic manamegement
This company is not a very resourceful one. it seems to me like everyone is more worried about holding people down at the bottom than advancing people worthy of it to optimize there potential and production.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Shaw was a good employer
millwright (Former Employee), Fulton, ARSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: wages, people, challenges
Cons: weather
A day with Shaw could be a building project, a training day, repairing an item. You never knew. This was the thing that I loved about my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee), Saint Paul, VAAugust 24, 2013
Shaw (CB&I now) offered me advancement in all manners of the job. they offered great safety incentives and made sure everyone was treated equally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw is an excellent company to work for.
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Foulton, ARJuly 17, 2013
Pros: good benefits and pay
Cons: traveling
Shaw treats their employees very well. At least once a month they provide a full catered meal to all employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of helpful management
Materials Coordinator (Former Employee), Cliffside, NCJuly 8, 2013
Pros: independence
Cons: pricey medical benefits
learned the logistics of construction, how to manage shipments to and from job sites around the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved The Company
Class A Mechanic (Former Employee), Convent, LaJuly 4, 2013
Pros: work evironment
Learned a lot working there, and I miss the guys who I worked with so many years ago.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Carpenter Helper (Former Employee), VermonJune 5, 2013
Cons: no per diem
Long days at being a carpenter helper and carrying scaffolding poles, Great co-workers, Carrying 13' scaffold poles up a full flight of stairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work invirement
Maintenance Millwright (Former Employee), Tonopah, AZMay 20, 2013
Pros: safe work atomousphere
Cons: so many different procedures for the same task
great place to work, good people safe plant stressed safety as a core value. good pay good friends just no job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productiive
Supervisor (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXApril 25, 2013
Pros: monthly safety meals
Safety meeting at the start of each day at work, I successfully completed the course of instruction and application requirements for lean construction. Management worked with you and your co workers knew their skills. The hardest part of the job was getting the material for the job on time. Being told the you were doing a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all Shaw construction was a great place to work
Superintendant (Former Employee), Denver, COMarch 24, 2013
Pros: on going education programs, like material changes, safety courses
Cons: not enough family time
I had a great time working for Shaw, I'm just unlucky it ended so quick
The experience I've received was increditable
The people I was involve with were outstanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company
Millwright top helper (Former Employee), Fulton, ARMarch 12, 2013
the job was in debt so we didn't get fair pay i am not trying to complain this site wanted a review
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Electrical Journeymen/Wire Pull Lead (Former Employee), Saint Paul, VAMarch 6, 2013
Pros: always had supplies, management was always there for you.
Cons: worked nights
I was giving task for day. I wrote out on paper what my day would consist of. Plan dangers and how i could prevent them. I would manage my helper and we would do task. Usually i would run conduit, install cable tray, Ground wires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in.
Electrical Journeymen/Wire Pull Lead (Former Employee), Saint Paul, VAMarch 6, 2013
Pros: good pay, good with letting guys that worked on the road leave to go home every now and again.
Cons: not much time off
I was handed Wire pulls that needed pulled for that week. I walked out tray routes to makes sure they could be pulled and planned wire pulls. I laid out men for the days task and while they was pulling i was ordering material and staying ahead of the crew. Management was great. If i ever needed help in anyways they did there best to answer or help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Project
General Foreman (Current Employee), Fulton, ARJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: one of the safest jobs i have been involved with
Built the JW Turk unit a 650 MW Coal fired ultra super critical power plant. It is the first of its kind in the United States. Work included the Alstom Turbine/generator, Alstom Turbine for Flowserve feed pump & B & W boiler.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mentaly demanding but worth it
Carpenter (Former Employee), Sharon, WIJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: great people and pay
Great place to work. Great pay and fun and professional atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safe work place
Scaffold Carpenter (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXNovember 29, 2012
Pros: proffesionalism
Cons: parking
I enjoyed working for this company because I was able to use all my trade skills in a safe enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn many skills
Pipe Fitter Helper (Former Employee), Cliffside NC.November 26, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: distance overtime
Assisted pipe fitters and welders in the construction of a power plant owned by Duke Power. Cut, threaded, hung, and connected all types of pipe. Brazed and welded.

learned how power plant works
co-workers were very divers

reading blue print was the hardest part of the job

the most enjoyable part of the job the freedom and the final project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money
Fitter Welder (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 24, 2012
mgmt was clueless and rude and played games all of the time--hte pay was good but the bull was not--

Shaw Construction Photos