Find companies:
Shaw Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
203 reviews

Shaw Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Project Work with high level of resposibilities
Scheduler II/ Sr. Project Accountant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, Fl and Monroeville, PaAugust 14, 2014
Pros: work independently
Cons: frequent changes in supervisors
My 12 years with CBI/Shaw Group was spent mainly on site for environmental remediation projects with the US Army Corp of Engineers as a project accountant and as a cost scheduler and sometime both roles on the same project. I also was involved in very successful commercial projects. I traveled throughout the US setting up projects, preparing codes and – more... budgets for projects ranging from $1m to $54M. I reviewed weekly labor, material, and subcontractor transactions weekly to ensure correct month end reports. Tracked purchase order values and prepared purchase order requisitions. Prepared schedules in the Primavera software program. Prepare month end cost variance reports along with SOX statements. I reviewed and processed invoices for processing, prepared government inventory reports, tracked and labeled government property, updated equipment logs, prepared lien releases, closed out purchase orders and assisted in demobilization of several projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Carpenter Helper (Former Employee), Saint Paul, VAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great pay and excellent benefits
Cons: they are to big on safety they will fire you for about anything
I really enjoyed working at shaw. You have the opportunity to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not alot of work in my area
electrican aprentance (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXJuly 24, 2014
electrical refiners construction ground grids instrumentation they were good company but don't have work in corpus christi area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun expereince job with great people to work with
Laborer/Iron worker helper (Former Employee), Saint Paul, VAJune 25, 2014
Pros: lunches was great
Cons: health hazards
find steel for ironworkers, firewatch,holewatch, manger of bolt room, clean all debris of trash and safety issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 20, 2014
Administrative work for Honeywell Baton Rouge and Geismar plants
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Insulator (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 19, 2014
Convergys’s
Responsible for answer telephone for sprint customers providing them with the best customer service to resolve issues, take payments, deal with device issues etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced EPC Firm
Lead Mechanical Engineer, CB&I (Previously (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 17, 2014
Pros: compensation, leadership training, opportunties for advancement
Cons: work hours, aggressive schedule, job culture
CB&I (formally the Shaw Group) is an EPC firm that works in a very competitive environment and as such demand long hours and hard work from their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management
Rim Tech (Former Employee), port saint lucie, flMay 14, 2014
Excellent management. Co-workers were great. I had a good experience working at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
HVAC Maintenance TECH (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 8, 2014
Pros: clean work
Cons: hot work
Steady work. As an the hvac tech and e&i tech I stay pretty busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed environment workplace
Technical Publications Manager III (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 6, 2014
Pros: my boss is helpful, caring and understanding. work area is ok
Cons: no comment
I enjoyed working in Shaw Group because not only in terms of salary but also because people are so friendly and caring and helpful to achieved our common goals.

Healthcare is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 hour rotating shifts with little opportunity for advancement
mod 5 operator (Former Employee), Andalusia, ALApril 25, 2014
Pros: opportunity to see how yarn was made
Cons: getting the proper assistance you need whenever your line goes down.
I enjoyed working at Shaw. It was a great opportunity learning the entire process of yarn making. I learned by observation that the longer you are employed there the less you feel like you have to do and the more power they think they have. Hardest part of the job was getting assistance from the tenured mechanics who always wanted to be on break or – more... walk around pretending to look good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each project was something different
Laborer/UXO tech (Current Employee), NY, NC, Utah, NJ, Cal, NHApril 8, 2014
Pros: great money, per-diem, travel, people
I liked the variety of different jobs thru each project, enjoyed the travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed everyday working in Shaw Group with engineers & coworkers
Record & Information Management Tech. (Former Employee), Moorestown, NJApril 7, 2014
Learned how to handle people, software Documentum & other relative works
Enjoyed working with co-workers
Hard part was to meet the dateline, submit all the docs in time.
Most enjoyable part was to go to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
W2 Hotline (Temp) (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 2, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: temp. position
-a typical day at work was alwyas busy.
-I learned alot about taxes and W2's.
-No complaints about management.
-I got along with all my co-workers.
-The hardest part were the hours.
The most enjoyable part was learning something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw Group
Transaction Processor 5 Disaster Recovery (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 1, 2014
Pros: awesome company to work for
Cons: had to move with the work
Disaster Recovery Work. Managed and worked with compliance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Craft Personnel
Lead Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Aiken, SCMarch 20, 2014
Pros: craft and subcontractors
Cons: no advancement
I was extremely blessed to work with some of the most experienced craft personnel, they were the best part of my job. I also had the pleasure of being Point of Contact for numerous subcontracts. I worked with them on a daily basis on getting them access to the correct information to be able to do their work on the government site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
geat
plant assisting (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 3, 2014
great place to work there r some hot days but working monday thru sat was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of interesting coworkers
electrician top helper (Former Employee), Cliffside, NCMarch 2, 2014
Pros: the coworkers, the money, was close to home
Cons: some peaple have no pride in there work others have to go back an fix it
start day with safety meeting .then go to my area. evaluate what I need for the task . gather parts an tools I need . map out where from an where im going .then start running conduit or cable tray ,pulling wire or what ever the job is for the day. take my brakes when its time. about an hour before nocking off time we clean up. take tools an unused parts – more... back to there place an go home safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, they really care about their employees
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free gear, always had what you needed at the tool room, on top of their game
Great safety communication, my supervision was great to work for, made a bunch of friends here, cant complain
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of confusion
Paint Foreman (Former Employee), Hilltop, NCFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: healthcare
A typical day of work consists of making sure the site is safe and productive all day. I have learned that working for this company will cause you a lot of stress. The management team has no idea what is going on within this company and treats employees very bad. The hardest part of this job was working for this company for 2 years and given a promotion – more... just to have it taken away within 15 minutes because management forgot that they already hired someone else. My co-workers were wonderful. The most enjoyable part of this job was that it was close to home. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Shaw Group

The Shaw Group is one of the world's largest power plant engineering and construction contractors, as well as a top environmental – Read more