Shaw Group Employee Reviews

Found 274 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High impact company associated with providing electrical power stations in America
Director ERP Systems (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAApril 16, 2017
The Shaw Group was a company which had been positioned to grow in the EPCF industry but was unfavorable impacted by the resulting impact of the 911 events.

Had 911 not occurred, Shaw was in a position to not only grow but also to provide America with a reliable form of electrical power from the natural gas industry.
Pros
Great opportunities
Cons
Massively impacted in an unfavorable manner by the events of 911
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Piping Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAApril 15, 2017
This company provided the broadest training for interns; we were invited to company outings, site openings and were allowed a great degree of freedom in work selection. I would have like to have returned there full time. however, they closed doors and were sold off by the parent company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Assistant Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Jenkinsville, SCApril 13, 2017
Loved Working with the people made a lot of great friends that I can call family. The pay was fair and they were understanding of any needs I had at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Creeler (Former Employee) –  Rock Springs, GAApril 4, 2017
I would help the line management with the machine and I loaded the line. I would melt the yarn off the tubes when we were done for the day. the hardest part of the day was working 12 hrs a day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creeler
Creeler (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAMarch 29, 2017
I learned how to creel and move at a fast paste. I like working for Shaw it was a great company to work for. I thought me a lot. My tranier was great and thought me everything I needed to know I learned every quickly​. I was doing my position on my own within the first 2 days.
Cons
Better pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in relaxed group but meet many pay day marks banking profits for company
Mechanical Designer Piping (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 22, 2017
The company worked 50 hr 40 hr schedule thus getting every other week end off long week end.Worked with site team to ensure proper installation schedule

Had many meetings to discuss schedule and recognize accomplishments of teams.

Very nice party schedule for holidays.
Pros
Some what of relaxed schedule on work hours
Cons
Some one may be looking over your shoulder to keep up with promise dats
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Expediter (Current Employee) –  Calhoun, GAMarch 16, 2017
Really great place to work a lot of really good people and its very well managed with a clean environment. The pay is really good and the work is very consistent overall great place to work.
Pros
discounts
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience
Environmental Scientist (Former Employee) –  LouisianaMarch 10, 2017
Vacation time and sick time met typical industry standards

Upper management seemed distant at times

Corporate structure was a bit excessive

Compensation was a bit below industry standards
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the employs are very great and most of the managers
Customer Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAFebruary 28, 2017
Great place to work but the point system they use if kind of unfair especially if you are in the hospital and they still give you ponts to the point that they then fire you!!!
Pros
GREAT PAY
Cons
POINT SYSTEM
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really like working for Shaw. Would definitely work for them again if offered a job in my line of work,
Journeyman fitter (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAFebruary 28, 2017
I like the company and my superiors when working with Shaw. I learned quite a bit and was given chances to advance. The job was close to home and the pay was good.I always had someone I could talk to if I needed help or did not understand something.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, had a good time. great supervision to work with. I erected steel and rigged. good work incentives as well. I had a great time with this
Steel Foreman (Former Employee) –  Eden, NCFebruary 9, 2017
Great company, had a good time. great supervision to work with. I erected steel and rigged. good work incentives as well. I had a great time with this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work overall
Civil Structural Architectural Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 8, 2017
A typical day would be logging onto the computer looking into the engineering software that I had been using for the designs and get done before the deadline.

I learned the engineering software that was available there and how to manage my time with other projects in order to complete them.

I wish the management would inform our team on a week to week basis to see how the progression is. We had done that before but then it kind of went away.

Great environment to work in. Spacious cubicles with easy access to obtain resources.

The hardest part is trying to get a lot of work done in a short time.

The most enjoyable part is working on projects that are very interesting with a good group of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe working environment,
Level4 Associate (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GAJanuary 30, 2017
Safe working environment.
Company is continually offering training to advance your knowledge. More of a family attitude.
Encouraged advancement.
Dependable company.
Pros
Safe workplace
Cons
Plants are not climate controlled
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw Group
Electrical Designer Engineer IV (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJanuary 18, 2017
Great place to work. Very safety oriented workplace, concerned about their employees and the environment. The employees and managers were always helpful and had plenty of positive input on all of my work assignments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful
Electrician Helper (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, OregonJanuary 12, 2017
Again. A lot of hard working men, that dnt care 2 give advice 2 some 1 was green took there time with was wonderful coming in not know wat 2 expect, ,in genral a good Company.
Pros
Great company
Cons
Wish it lasted longer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair employment
General Foreman / Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 11, 2017
Fair place to work, worked with many talented people, both in labor to engineers.
Traveled to different project locations, some being at a distance away.
Pros
Able to learn different things
Cons
Difficult to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Utilities Operator/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAJanuary 6, 2017
helped build scaffolds, bolt up flanges and worked the production line
learned how to drive a forklift and bag product in super sacks
coworkers was great to work with
hardest part of the job was wearing fresh air and acid suits to do the bolt up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loyal to permanent employees and no one else.
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GADecember 13, 2016
I worked for Shaw as a temp for over a year and was told countless times that as soon as possible I would be brought in permanently. When the position I was in was finally able to be filled permanently I was passed over for someone else from a different department and after a year in that position was given 2 weeks notice. In the end it worked out better for me. I found a better paying job with a great company, but it soured me on Shaw. I won't every apply to them again.
Pros
Co workers were nice
Cons
They don't mean what they say
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe work enviroment
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 29, 2016
very friendly and fun environment. great co-workers. Working outside in the summer would have to be one the hard parts of the job.
great part of the job would have to be everyone working together as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations day to day
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 29, 2016
Day at work were morning with production and warehouse to ensure we had inventory and personnel to accomplish goals.
Learned how to use lean manufacturing to maximize production.
Co workers were good.
Hardest part of the job was dealing with upper management.
Watching employees get better each day and the pride they had.
Pros
hours
Cons
upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shaw Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 297 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

85%
42 ratings
Add your rating