Shaw Group Employee Reviews

Found 235 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company values
Document Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCSeptember 6, 2014
This review is for Areva Federal Services

I am an employee of Areva Federal Services which co-partners with Shaw,

Areva Federal Services value their employees. They are family sensitive company. They show concerns for your work environment and have an open door policy to come see the Areva HR Manager that you are assigned to, considering anything. There's no worry of intimidation or reprisal for addressing your concerns.

Training and updating you on what goes on in the company is one of their main focuses. You don't have to be concern about how the company is doing, any new developments is updated almost daily if not weekly.
Pros
reasonable health insurance, yearly incentive pay, relocation opportunites, paid vacation and sick time
Cons
unpaid lunch breaks (unless otherwise noted), you had the opportunity to purchase a healthcare plan
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Helping others through a disaster and tragedy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 28, 2014
My job incorporated helping families that was affected and/or destroyed by hurricane Sandy. We restored and provided heat, hot water and electricity. The hardest part of the job was seeing these families in distress and trying to provide the best service so that they would be able to get back on there feet. I learned alot about working as a team. My coworkers and I found that we were a great unit and did the best we could. I enjoyed seeing these families happy and able to go back int there homes.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed with with the service members
Travel Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Ft RuckerAugust 15, 2014
Really enjoyed doing my job. They were understanding and listened to their employees
Pros
everything
Cons
them lossing the contract
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Project Work with high level of resposibilities
Scheduler II/ Sr. Project Accountant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, Fl and Monroeville, PaAugust 14, 2014
My 12 years with CBI/Shaw Group was spent mainly on site for environmental remediation projects with the US Army Corp of Engineers as a project accountant and as a cost scheduler and sometime both roles on the same project. I also was involved in very successful commercial projects. I traveled throughout the US setting up projects, preparing codes and budgets for projects ranging from $1m to $54M. I reviewed weekly labor, material, and subcontractor transactions weekly to ensure correct month end reports. Tracked purchase order values and prepared purchase order requisitions. Prepared schedules in the Primavera software program. Prepare month end cost variance reports along with SOX statements. I reviewed and processed invoices for processing, prepared government inventory reports, tracked and labeled government property, updated equipment logs, prepared lien releases, closed out purchase orders and assisted in demobilization of several projects.
Pros
work independently
Cons
frequent changes in supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Carpenter Helper (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAAugust 7, 2014
I really enjoyed working at shaw. You have the opportunity to learn.
Pros
great pay and excellent benefits
Cons
they are to big on safety they will fire you for about anything
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not alot of work in my area
electrican aprentance (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJuly 24, 2014
electrical refiners construction ground grids instrumentation they were good company but don't have work in corpus christi area
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun expereince job with great people to work with
Laborer/Iron worker helper (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAJune 25, 2014
find steel for ironworkers, firewatch,holewatch, manger of bolt room, clean all debris of trash and safety issues
Pros
lunches was great
Cons
health hazards
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 20, 2014
Administrative work for Honeywell Baton Rouge and Geismar plants
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Insulator (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 19, 2014
Convergys’s
Responsible for answer telephone for sprint customers providing them with the best customer service to resolve issues, take payments, deal with device issues etc...
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced EPC Firm
Lead Mechanical Engineer, CB&I (Previously (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 17, 2014
CB&I (formally the Shaw Group) is an EPC firm that works in a very competitive environment and as such demand long hours and hard work from their employees.
Pros
compensation, leadership training, opportunties for advancement
Cons
work hours, aggressive schedule, job culture
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management
Rim Tech (Former Employee) –  port saint lucie, flMay 14, 2014
Excellent management. Co-workers were great. I had a good experience working at this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
HVAC Maintenance TECH (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMay 8, 2014
Steady work. As an the hvac tech and e&i tech I stay pretty busy
Pros
clean work
Cons
hot work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed environment workplace
Technical Publications Manager III (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 6, 2014
I enjoyed working in Shaw Group because not only in terms of salary but also because people are so friendly and caring and helpful to achieved our common goals.

Healthcare is very good.
Pros
my boss is helpful, caring and understanding. work area is ok
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 hour rotating shifts with little opportunity for advancement
mod 5 operator (Former Employee) –  Andalusia, ALApril 25, 2014
I enjoyed working at Shaw. It was a great opportunity learning the entire process of yarn making. I learned by observation that the longer you are employed there the less you feel like you have to do and the more power they think they have. Hardest part of the job was getting assistance from the tenured mechanics who always wanted to be on break or walk around pretending to look good.
Pros
opportunity to see how yarn was made
Cons
getting the proper assistance you need whenever your line goes down.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each project was something different
Laborer/UXO tech (Current Employee) –  NY, NC, Utah, NJ, Cal, NHApril 8, 2014
I liked the variety of different jobs thru each project, enjoyed the travel.
Pros
great money, per-diem, travel, people
Was this review helpful?Yes4No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed everyday working in Shaw Group with engineers & coworkers
Record & Information Management Tech. (Former Employee) –  Moorestown, NJApril 7, 2014
Learned how to handle people, software Documentum & other relative works
Enjoyed working with co-workers
Hard part was to meet the dateline, submit all the docs in time.
Most enjoyable part was to go to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
W2 Hotline (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAApril 2, 2014
-a typical day at work was alwyas busy.
-I learned alot about taxes and W2's.
-No complaints about management.
-I got along with all my co-workers.
-The hardest part were the hours.
The most enjoyable part was learning something new.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
temp. position
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw Group
Transaction Processor 5 Disaster Recovery (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 1, 2014
Disaster Recovery Work. Managed and worked with compliance
Pros
awesome company to work for
Cons
had to move with the work
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Craft Personnel
Lead Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCMarch 20, 2014
I was extremely blessed to work with some of the most experienced craft personnel, they were the best part of my job. I also had the pleasure of being Point of Contact for numerous subcontracts. I worked with them on a daily basis on getting them access to the correct information to be able to do their work on the government site.
Pros
craft and subcontractors
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
geat
plant assisting (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 3, 2014
great place to work there r some hot days but working monday thru sat was good
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 251 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture