Shaw Industries Employee Reviews

Found 392 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean company
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Central, SCDecember 2, 2016
While working for Shaw industries I made really good money. The jobs were hard at times but once you caught on to what was going on it was smooth sailing. Shaw Industries really took care of their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw Industries
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cartersville, GANovember 30, 2016
I work in the Residential Customer Service Department. This company truly cares about their employees. They want them to succeed. However, the work/Life balance is a little off balance. However, overall the culture, the managers, and the team members is what makes Shaw great!. I would rate it about a 90 out of 100.
Pros
Managers, Benefits, Team Environment, Culture
Cons
Having to stay on shifts for long periods of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
making yean for rugs
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Swainsboro, GANovember 29, 2016
This is a place were you making yean for rugs .start with the making of the yean then twisting it together then sending to the next operation call heat set were it heated together then put on spoils and send out to make carpets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had no problems, fun place to work
yarn machine operator (Former Employee) –  Andalusia, ALNovember 26, 2016
long hours, constantly moving, very busy. friendly work environment drama free. the hardest part of the job is standing on your feet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Procurement Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GANovember 26, 2016
I was employed for more than twenty years in various departments. I worked in pre-employment Human Resources, engineering, purchasing, and retail support. The best part of my job was always the association other employees. Over the years, the company became more employee accommodating in areas such as flexible working hours, and being able to work from home. It was indeed a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work and learning
Technician/Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Thomson, GANovember 22, 2016
my over all time at shaw was pretty good although i did not agree with the leadership styles of the 7 supervisiors i had in the 8 years i was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Tufting Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Cartersville, GANovember 21, 2016
Great place to work, if you want to move up the ladder. Stable income, and benefits. You are guaranteed a 40 hour workweek. May have to work some weekends, but you get paid more for that anyway.
Pros
Get an incentive for getting a biometric every six months.
Cons
Only 30 minutes for lunch breaks though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work experience
Shipping Truck Spotter (Former Employee) –  Bainbridge, GANovember 21, 2016
A typical work day ran very smooth at this company. I was able to build onto my shipping/receiving experience as well as develop truck driving skills. The management to was great with employees.
Pros
set schedule
Cons
room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Weaver (Current Employee) –  Chickamauga, GANovember 18, 2016
Quality is a big part of the job. Patrol job and start up machine's as needed.Check for defects. Creel packages on machine as needed. Work with others and help them if they are having trouble with their own job. Keeping a clean work area is important for safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed environment,lots of overtime,
Relief Supervisor/P.C.T (Current Employee) –  Chickamauga, GANovember 14, 2016
Shaw always lets you know what they expect of you. They push safety issues, and employees are told to think and act like owners. co-workers are very diversified, courteous, helpful The hardest part of the job is wondering what the future holds for this company. I enjoy meeting new faces, and being able to always learn something new in different job positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours and Working In Envirmoment where People Help You
Operator Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Bryson City, NCNovember 14, 2016
It's a great place to work, easy to get along with everyone people help each other out great leaders chances to move up after you have been there and have experience under your belt
Pros
4 days work week, paid every week
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits and job security always room to move up in the company due to growth
Hard Surface Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GANovember 9, 2016
only issue I had with shaw is the attendance policy , they are setup on a point system instead of excused absences. so it made it difficult having children and maintaining a low point balance .
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
take carpet from plant to plant
Truck Driver - Local (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GANovember 3, 2016
Move carpet from plant to plant. Learn how to load carpet onto truck.
Some of the manager were nice to work with. Know the coworker were very fun to work with. It was fun and easy to work for the company. Just being with the new friend that i made. very enjoyable to work there.
Pros
30 minute break
Cons
very good benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Management Trainee Program
Process Improvement Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GANovember 2, 2016
Shaw's operations management trainee program is not a good program.

Shaw hires engineers they don't need or have positions for. IF a position opens durring the training program, all the trainees apply for it.

Whoever does not get the position is then laid off.
Pros
Salary, benefits
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very confusing and trying environment to learn and work in
Final Operations (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GAOctober 30, 2016
The day starts with an unenthusiastic warm-up, and then you have to guess where you are working. This is because management assumes you know although you are new and learning work procedures. They usually will not give you well advanced notice as to if you are working the weekend, but they expect you to be there when you finally learn you must work. Trainers are less likely to train unless pressure from management dictates they need to. Your training and knowing company protocol is solely your responsibility and when not followed the manager is ready to penalize you for any small in fractures up to firing without due diligence. The only good point about working at Shaw Industries is the competitive pay among manufacturing companies.
Pros
Pay
Cons
poor work conditions, management, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good safe work environment
Planner/Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Ingleside, TXOctober 28, 2016
Typical fourty hour work week, with occasional overtime
Safety oriented company
Management promoted up from rank and file
Pros
Company provided work uniforms, 401K, paid vacations
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great people
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  IndianaOctober 28, 2016
Shaw is a great company however if your goal is for advancement it can be difficult without willingness to relocate. The corporate office is very supportive and open to suggestions to streamline operations and cut costs.
Pros
independant work environmanet, top notch training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work , made alot of friends
Operater, tech., Fill in supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fitzgerald, GAOctober 25, 2016
Good company! Worked there 30+ yrs. Pay was good and always enjoy my job ! I learned alot ,was trained for everything I did and my safety was always first ! Managers Alway had time to listen and treated me fair .
Pros
Pay, safety program
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Courtesy Van Driver (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAOctober 22, 2016
good working enviroment. enjoyed my work and liked going to work there.Did different thing moved thing with forklift and drove van for company enjoyed that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive company enjoyed working there. Sorry to see it close
Creeler operator (Former Employee) –  Winchester, TNOctober 19, 2016
Very happy there every one very friendly. Mgmt very professional. Sad to see it go. Benefits were awesome. Good chance for advancement. I recommended this company to everyone
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No air
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shaw Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 394 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8