Shaw Industries

269 reviews

Shaw Industries Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw Ind. is a very good company to work for.
Heatset Machine Operator (Former Employee), Andalusia Al 36420July 27, 2015
Pros: the company is fair and honest.
Cons: bending and stretching.
I was a Heat Set Operator.
I learned how to manage my time.
The management was very professional,they tried hard to make work enjoyable.
Most of my co-workers were pleasant and helpful.
The hardest part of my job was bending and stretching
The most enjoyable part of my job was making sure my machine produced a premium quality product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun learning experience
electrician (Current Employee), bainbridge georgiaJuly 22, 2015
i work monday through friday 8 to 4. im in my second year as grade 2 electrician . my co workers are great to be around, hardest part of the job is not learning every thing like you want, most enjoyable part i learn new things every day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
BBS Facilitator Plant LM (Current Employee), Ringgold, GAJuly 21, 2015
There are many times one cannot advance because someone with more experience has been chosen. How is someone supposed to gain experience if they are not given the opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Operator, Machine Mechanic, Machine Electrician
I. Industrial Electrician (Former Employee), Andalusia, ALJuly 18, 2015
Pros: Good paycheck
Cons: Swing Shift from Days to Nights and Nights to Days
A typical day at work varies on which machine I am working with

I have learned to havve better patience

Management was great making sure production stayed up

My co-workers were Team focussed

The hardest part of my job ws the swing shift

The most enjoyable part of my job was the 7 days off a month
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
SUPERVISOR, 2ND SHIFT (Former Employee), Savannah, GAJuly 16, 2015
I have no complaints about Shaw. This s a great company that I would recommend to anyone. They will continue to thrive for years to come.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owned by Berkshire-Hathaway
Regional Sales Manager, Southeast (Former Employee), Dalton, GAJuly 12, 2015
Pros: Ability to offer and manage group incentive trips.
Cons: No serious cons
A stable and progressive flooring manufacturer with sales in excess of $4 billion dollars per year offered growth opportunities and great benefits for employees. I began as a territory salesperson calling on flooring retailers. Worked territories in Jacksonville, FL, Atlanta, GA, Huntsville, AL. Promoted to Regional Manager while in Huntsville, responsible for sales in N. Alabama, N. Georgia and Tennessee – more... from Nashville through Knoxville. Transferred to Houston, TX responsible for S. Texas and New Orleans areas. Moved to Nashville at my request. As regional manager was allowed leeway in promotions including incentive trips for customers. The hardest part of the job was dealing with difficult consumer claims and the most enjoyable was the relationships between our management and ourselves. a typical day was joining a territory manager on his/her rounds and meeting our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer service/admin (Current Employee), Cartersville, GAJuly 8, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no sick days
work at your own pace answer calls place orders answer questions about orders check stock check backorder dates transfer calls to the correct dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees
Machine Operator/ Creeler (Former Employee), Decatur, TNJuly 6, 2015
Pros: Good people
Cons: 12 hours
I really enjoyed working at Shaw at the time they really seemed to care about their employees. The supervisiors were easy to work with and to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dalton, GAJuly 2, 2015
management is incredible I enjoyed working here on a daily basis. The day went by very smooth. I learned a lot from management at this office
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management
Laborer (Former Employee), Valley Head, ALJune 23, 2015
Pros: health insurance
Cons: short breaks low pay
no increase in salary, bad managers, no promotions, short breaks, constant lay offs. Low morale, company does provide benefits so that is a good thing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run machine
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Eton, GAJune 18, 2015
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: short breaks
Love love working for this company. Had great benefits and would love to work there again. The best thing for me was I loved working 3rd shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lift truck Operator (Former Employee), Dalton, GAJune 7, 2015
Pros: Good place to work
Cons: long work hours
loved working there Enjoyed making production. Enjoyed being the mentor for new employees and showing them the safe and proper way of driving a lift truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe place to work
Heat Set Operator (Former Employee), Andalusia, AlabamaJune 5, 2015
a typical day at Shaw Industries is rewarding being so every batch of yarn is different and one have to treat it as such. the management team plays a great role in the day to day operations and is always available when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had fun working here
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Dalton, GAMay 31, 2015
Pros: fun people to work with
When I worked here there were only three of us working together. We bonded really well. We made work fun. We are still friends even though we haven't worked together since 2009.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work.
Specialist I # IT Operations Services (Current Employee), Dalton, GAMay 27, 2015
Pros: No luch
Cons: No breaks
Responsible for scheduling, execution and monitoring of all jobs in the Shaw Environment as well as the centralize print from the mainframe. Responsibilities also include assisting with the completion of requests for install and removal of equipment, running cables, installation of software/patches/updates and the management of all priority tickets and escalated calls.

Responsibilities: Major Incidents – more... (P0, P1) (P2, 3, 4, 5) - Management Paging, Dashboard Updates. Escalated from the Service Desk/Bell Tech. Reporting – Executive Summary, Patch Status Web Page, all reporting task. Administrative Functions – obtaining downtimes, entering change requests and other duties needed to support the group. Assist with shift workload – print, patches, VMware, Windows 2003, 2008, 2012, updates and installs. Job Scheduling – assist with job scheduling for the mainframe and distributed systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
machine operatior (Former Employee), columbia scMay 26, 2015
great place to work but long hours and swing shift is not ideal for 3 kids and life. great benefits and good pay. good training experiance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw is a good company to work for
Customer Service (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAMay 25, 2015
Customer service is not for everybody. It requires a strong personality. You have to talk with a smile, even when you are being fussed at.

Management listens to your concerns
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't rock the ship or you will not last
Operations Manager - Regional (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 19, 2015
Pros: Good pay, decent benefits
Cons: Nepotism, job security, lack of follow through
When I started working for this company, I was very excited. I was tasked with turning around an under-performing facility, which I did. I was promised things that I assumed would be delivered as I had delivered on my end. When the timeline came and passed for what I had been promised, I followed up to be snubbed by the HR group basically calling me a liar.

I had to continually defend myself from – more... an overzealous HR group that did not like me because I was not afraid to speak my mind. There was an accusation by a disgruntled previous employee that led to an HR visit. I had to PROVE my innocence. I was told by HR that the only reason I was keeping my job is because I had proof that I was wrongly accused. (it's obviously guilty until proven innocent in this company).

I, and other co-workers, were passed over for promotions that were given to less qualified people who had a closer relationship to the "boys club" as it is commonly referred to back in Dalton, GA

After all of this and having given blood, sweat and tears to this company for years, I decided to leave. It was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. The company pays higher than the market average, but in the long run, it is not worth it. They treat middle managers as if they are expendable and worthless.

I work in a much more fast paced and demanding environment now and my stress level is half of what it was when working at Shaw because I am no longer concerned about having to walk on egg shells anymore around the corporate staff. Success in Shaw is determined on who you know, not off of what you can do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They pay good...and that's about all.
Fork Lift Operator/Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Orlando FLMay 13, 2015
Pros: Compensation.
Cons: Short breaks, leads are clueless, employees are clueless, lack of safety, no organization or planning, Horrible training.
Job work/ life balance...what's that?

Accept that into your head if you get a job here. You will literally work, and sleep, and sleep is if you're lucky because you will be working so much over time you will go home and come right back. They pay pretty well for night shift and that's the best part, the day shift management is nice but the lead at night is clueless and honestly has no control over – more... anything or anyone working for him. And safety is also a huge issue, out of the few people that work the night shift most of them DO NOT speak english so communication for any reason is practically useless. Want to make a plan so you can unload all the trucks in a timely manner? Good luck because they can't understand as little as "Stop! Don't hit me with the fork lift!" If you think you will have a light night ahead of you, think again..all of the trucks will end up being late so you won't unload until hours into your shift while you push a broom around bored out of your mind. The compensation is literally the only reason anyone would stay here and they know that. Good luck if you work here, it's not enjoyable what so ever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard physical work, very diverse, long hours
Heat set operator, LTO, plant recorder (Current Employee), Decatur, TNMay 11, 2015
Pros: chances to move up
Cons: long hours - 12 hr shifts
I have learned to work with individuals with special needs, due to the hard physical labor, the ADA people in our plant are those with a small bit of mental issues that we have found a place for them to thrive.
Management on the floor level are great, Supervisors are on the floor staying involved with the employees.
The job is physically challenging, however with motivated individuals we can keep up the pace.
I often train other individuals, using positive encouragement to keep them going.
The hardest part of the job is the 12 hour shifts, that last 2 hours is exhausting.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Dalton Georgia, United States
Employees
10,000+
Industry
    Links
    Shaw Industries website