Find companies:
Shaw Industries
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
206 reviews

Shaw Industries Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe enviroment to work in, but work 6 days a week
Tufting Machine Operator (Current Employee), Cartersville, GAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: short breaks, 6 to 7 day work weeks
During my 8 hour shift I operate a tufting machine, watching the carpet as it is made making sure it is defect free. When defects are found I locate the problem causing it and fix/repair it. I learned how to creel and splice yarn on a creel. I also learned how to operate and replace parts on a tufting machine. All my co-workers were very good at helping – more... me learn the aspects of my job, and helping me after I mastered them. The hardest part about working at Shaw is having to work 6 to 7 days a week most of the year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Operator/Technician (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAOctober 6, 2014
Pros: company bonuses and celebrations of company sucess
Cons: a lot of management that doesnt seem to communicate to one another
Pre work stretch
Verbal handoff from previous shift(problems, upcoming orders, etc...)
Worked hand in hand with engineers to better fine tune large and small mechanics.
The management are very friendly and knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spinning operator
Spinning operator (Former Employee), Fitzgerald, GAOctober 3, 2014
As a spinning operator I operate the machine to make carpet thread for the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small team of people, more like familly
Shipping and Receiving Agent (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 2, 2014
Due to the small amount of employees in our building, we were a family.

Everyone pulls their weight.

Pay scale is outstanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw Industries is a GREAT Plact to work
Safety Manager (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: safety is a core element of how they do business
Cons: lack of human resourse support and very demanding work hours.
Would have loved to stay with Shaw. However the commute was a bit much as was the number of hours demanded each week.
Shaw takes Occupational Safety and Health seriously and I commend the company for it's forward leaning thinking. Great ESH team!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with high quality and great reputation
Innovation Product Manager (Current Employee), Dalton, GASeptember 24, 2014
Shaw is a good employer with a family-like atmosphere for such a large company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 Thumbs Down
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Cartersville, GASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: management, poor job culture, lack of professionalism, poor job resources, do not care about employees
When I first started working at Shaw, I absolutely loved it and thought it was the best place ever. Great pay, great benefits, and they showed their appreciation for their employees constantly. Well that's gone. You are consistently berated, management has zero clue on how to do their job, and the job culture is pitifully miserable. It is really sad – more... to see what used to be a great company quickly slipping at the hands of inexperienced imbeciles. God speed to you if you get a job here and good luck on moving up. You're not going anywhere unless you know someone or brown nose your way to the top like the rest of them. The best day of my life will be walking out of that gray walled jail cell into a new job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work.
Driver (Former Employee), Union city, ca.September 13, 2014
Pros: great management support.
If you are a driver and need a job Shaw is the place for you. hard to find a company that supports drivers and not treat you like garbage. kirk, cullen, adam and all the guys there support the drivers. I loved my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment & supervisors willing to help
creeler & doffer (Former Employee), chickamuaga, gaSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: 12 hour shifts with every other weekend off
Cons: long hours on feet
multitasking & prioritizing your responsibilities. meeting maximum production with minimum off quality packages
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating is good
Twister Operator (Former Employee), Andalusia, ALAugust 28, 2014
Good company to work for. I would go to work and do my job. I learned the requirements necessary to perform my job. Management was great to work with. Co-workers for the most part were nice. The hardest part was working 4/12-night shift. The most enjoyable were the days off in between.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, poor environment
Customer Service (Current Employee), Dalton, GaAugust 17, 2014
Pros: compensation, benefits
Cons: work load, stressful environment
The pay and benefits are great. I have gained a lot of knowledge and experience working here. However, management is poor which has a trickle down effect on co-workers. Hardest part is doing everyone else's work, most enjoyable part is staying busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment.
Material Handler (Current Employee), Andalusia, ALAugust 1, 2014
I enjoy working at Shaw. Don't like the long drive. Love the work schedule. Just want to move closer to home, more money and wants to do work in my study at Reid State.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place too work
Truck driver (Current Employee), Lawrence ks. and Lenexa ksJuly 27, 2014
Pros: 4 day weeks
Cons: management
typical large corp. you are a # and try hard to make you think they care. the bottom line is $$$$$. If you understand that it is a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall position
Occupational Health Nurse (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAJuly 27, 2014
Functioned pretty much on my own. Shaw is a great place to work. A lot of companies could learn a lot from the process. Work in teams on the floor. Expectations were clearly laid out before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company to work for
Line operator/Material handler (Former Employee), GAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: free water
Cons: hot
A typical day at work for me was to run a non woven needle punch line and moved and handled raw materials 12 hours a day. I became a fork lift operator and line operator for this company while I was employed there. Co-workers were great to work with, and the hardest part of the job for me was the heat. Overall, I enjoyed the working for this company – more... as it challenged me physically, and helped me to enhance my skills. I also enjoyed the company cookouts and activities we did as a group. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had very nice break rooms and cool plant to work in
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Dalton, GAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: good breaks
Cons: favoritism
Drive lift truck all day, unloading and loading trailers at the dock. some co-workers got alone well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lying backstabbing, will use your work and step on you for political gain
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Dalton GAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: carpet at cost
Cons: day to day is soul sucking experience.
Whorable work life balace, SHAW stands for Sunday Holiday and weekends, and they mean it. Do not get sick. Any slip in delivery from cancer of any other sickness will result in termination. They have middle management headcount in excess of operators. You will spend all day answering 80-120 emails a day and work all night every night to meet expectations. – more... Almost cost me my marriage, they called me and expected me to work on the day of my wedding and the day while my wife was in labor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with benefits.
Manager - General Administration Plants DW & 7G (Current Employee), Dalton, GAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Good company to work for with good benefits. Shaw treats their associates well but can be a difficult place to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Robot work environment
Customer Service Representative (Residential) (Current Employee), Cartersville, GAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: friendly management
Cons: short breaks, no mileage compensation, depressing environment
I work in the Residential Customer Service Call Center and so far, all this job offers is repetition. Enough to drive you insane. The most exciting thing that could possibly happen to you is probably our phone system going down. After an 8 hour shift of doing nothing but sitting and taking 200+ calls a day, all you get is (maybe) and hour lunch and – more... 2-10 min breaks. The lighting is dim, and is that of a small jail. No windows, no nothing, everything is grey and gloomy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heat-Set Operater
Heat Set Operator/Zip Operator (Former Employee), Columbia SCJune 14, 2014
Pros: rewarded my crew all the time because we had the number 1 production for almost 2 years straight.
Cons: having someone slack off while you working.
A typical day at Shaw is coming in to work either day or night shift rotating. I learned alot their. The more you put your mind to it the more you can do, I became a trainer in just three months of being there and my supervisor said i was the hardest working person he ever had. My co-workers were great I trained almost all of them.
There really wasn't – more... a hard part to the job I cought on very quick and loved my work. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting all the overtime I wonted. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Shaw Industries

Shaw Industries, Inc. designs and manufactures approximately 1,800 styles of tufted and woven carpet for residential and commercial – Read more