Find companies:
Shawnee Mission Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Shawnee Mission Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outpatient Pharmacy technician
CERTIFIED PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Merriam, ksJune 28, 2014
Overall, the organization is a good place to work along with the benefits it provides. The people are friendly and the culture is diverse. It is a good place to work overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent group of health care providers
Emergency Department RN (Current Employee), Merriam, KSJune 20, 2014
Very dedicated team of healthcare providers; enjoyable environment to work in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to jumpstart a clerical or health career
Volunteer/Receptionist (Current Employee), Shawnee Mission, KSMay 7, 2014
I simply volunteered as a receptionist and I greet guests that come in. I also help nurses and any other staff member that may have their hands tied up. It was a very fast paced job but fun all at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Shawnee Mission, KSApril 17, 2014
Great place to work. Amazing co-workers that will help out in a time of need. I learn something new everyday from my amazing patients and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff and Fun workplace
PRN (Former Employee), Merriam, KSApril 13, 2014
flexible management. i enjoyed working there. Co-workers were fun and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Hospital
Phlebotomy Student (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSMarch 26, 2014
Not much to say here. Did my clinical rotation here over the course of one month. Decent staff and quality services. Can't speak to job issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing for the better
Certified Surg tech - 26/Nov (Current Employee), shawnee Mission, KSMarch 24, 2014
Pros: flexible easy to talk to supervisors
Cons: lots of low census or mandatory go home days.
I loved working there, I got to SMMC at a time when major changes started happening... all for the best. exited to see what the future will bring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with and for
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Shawnee, KSMarch 24, 2014
Pros: basically happy environment
Cons: busy enough most days to miss out on meals
Shawnee Mission Medical Center was a great place to work. The supervisors worked right along side the rest of us. My co-workers and I had the perfect balance of professionalism and fun everyday.
The hospital was always being improved with the newest technology. Before I left they had just finished a NICU where every newborn had their own room with space – more... for parents to stay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, everyone doing their job with a happy and dedicated attitude.
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Shawnee Mission KSNovember 1, 2013
Pros: having the chance to be a part of the health care field, helping people
Cons: 24/7 hours
Getting meds to the patient on time. management was great and would work along with everyone if needed.
Co-workers were happy and wanted to get the work done in a timely manner.
The hardest part of the job was the hours changing to meet the needs of the pharmacy,
The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling that you was a part of helping patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Senior Bio-Med Technician (Former Employee), Merriam, KSAugust 9, 2013
Pros: security and a boss who will stick his neck out
Cons: upper managemnt
With everyone watching the budget, too much watching the overtime.
Management and coworkers are good. Good place to work overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor benefits, pay and very little job security
nursing (Current Employee), shawnee,ksJuly 5, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: poor benefits and pay low job security
worked there many years superior employee, very strong work ethic.
starting cutting hours than positions - people laid off. Very much of a caste system very little job security. Administration keep making cuts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement
Intern (Former Employee), Shawnee, OKMarch 25, 2013
Pros: multiple positions available
Cons: management
Great place to work for, but not easy to get hired on and not as flexible as hoped for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all it was a good good place to work
Instrument Technician/orderly (Former Employee), Merriam, KSJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: great benefits, great friends
Cons: tired feet :)
My day started around 6;00 am and you were pretty much on the run until time to go home. I learned new things everyday, such as learning the names of and how to clean and process new instruments, picking up patients, turning over rooms, running labs, helping check in instruments from outside vendors to anything that needed to be taken care of. My co-workers – more... were great. Probably the hardest part of the job was being there at 5;30 or 6;00 in the morning but I did get use to it. I loved everyone I worked with we had a great time everyone for the most part always helping each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Receptionist/Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Shawnee, OKJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: benefits were pretty good
Cons: the pay was not good
I worked in the lab, it was very busy. I enjoy busy makes my day go by quicker. the management was okay in the lab. Co-workers on the floor were not a TEAM. Most thing that upset me is that to them their means work is first and not your kid/family. I understood places need there employees, but when you dont hire enough people anyways that is something – more... that you cant help, when your child is sick. Other thank that it was a okay place! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My coworkers make my job worth it.
Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Merriam, KSJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: team work; professional;
I work night shift and have for several years. A typical shift on my floor (step-down cardiac) involves care of up to 6 patients, all of which are usually quite high acuity. It can be very challenging at times, but my coworkers are all amazing, and we all work together well as a team. I have found that after 15 years of nursing, I am still enjoying – more... taking care of my patients, and I consider that a blessing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor morale/communication- NO FOLLOW THROUGH
FOOD SERVICE (Current Employee), SMMCJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management taking advantage of employees in food service
I HAVE WORKED IN THE FOOD SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT SMMC, AND I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE MORALE AND LACK OF CONCERN BY THE MANAGEMENT. THERE SEEMS TO BE NO FOLLOW THROUGH, PROMISES MADE AND NOT DELIVERED. THE LACK OF EMPATHY BY THE MANAGEMENT TEAM IS VERY DISHEARTENING!! THE BENEFITS ARE FANTASTIC, I WISH I HAD NOT MADE SUCH AN EFFORT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful, team players, experienced nurses
Clinical/Informational Associate (Former Employee), Merriam, KSDecember 4, 2012
Pros: chats with the ceo, lunch with co-workers
Cons: miscommunication
I enjoyed providing assistance to nurses, doctors and other departments. Enjoy being the best I could be.

The hardest part of my job was understanding those who have very low moral spreading it like a virus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at Shawnee Mission Medical Center
RR Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Shawnee Mission, KSOctober 24, 2012
I helped to start the Day Surgery unit from the ground up. They were willing to spend a year cross training me from recovery to the operating room. I was a great place to work and Shawnee Mission has great values and missions. I liked my coworkers and I learned a lot on this job. They taught me to scrub and circulate in the OR as well as all the instruments – more... used in surgery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shawnee Mission Medical Center
Radiologic Technigolist (Former Employee), Shawnee, KSSeptember 30, 2012
Pros: great working conditions with top of the line equipment.
Cons: taking call.
I worked rotating shifts and was also required to take call. I worked for the best hospital in Kansas City. I had shift hours but always worked more than 8 hours. Patient needs and care was always first. The hardest part of my job were the long hours and being called in at any time in my call shift. The best part of my job was dealing with the patients – more... and their families.Shawnee Mission insisted on top notch customer service and I enjoyed dealing with my patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place ; made many friends there
Staff nurse (Former Employee), Shawnee Mission, KSSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Very good hospital, proffesional medical as well as nursing staff,
great value system and very good management.