Find companies:
SHELBY COUNTY GOVERNMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

SHELBY COUNTY GOVERNMENT Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work.
Data Analyst (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 20, 2015
It's just like working for the Post Office. Ever heard of "Going Postal"?
Management does not cross train in the Juvenile System and hostel employees are given promotion to mgt and are really unqualified and with no management training at all. After 10 years I told them to shove it. I was in a pretty well paid position but can do better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Assistant (Current Employee), TennesseeApril 16, 2015
I have enjoyed my time at Shelby County Government. Work hard and advancement is definitely a possibility. Great leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with inmates and the public
Deputy Jailer (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 5, 2015
Pros: generous vacation and sick time
Cons: expemsice healthcare
oversees inmates that are awaiting court procedures. Manage and provide security for 64 inmates. The hardest part of the job is dangerous environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere, most employees get along well.
Printer I (Former Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 23, 2015
Pros: hours, job security
Cons: pay and advancement opportunity
Great place to work, little opportunity for advancement. Was not satisfied with the pay. Meet new faces everyday. Family like atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shelby County Government is great place of employment.
Jail Processing Specialist (Current Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 21, 2015
I have been employed with Shelby County Government for 14 years. I would recommend anyone to apply for any open opportunities within the Shelby County Government.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Clerical Specialist A- Vital Record (Former Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 11, 2015
Pros: hours of operation
Horrible support for lower entry level and clerical personal. This is a work environment that used to be enjoyable but since Wharton tenure as mayor it has became horrible. He removed benefits that made being employed for Shelby County Government a place to refer a friend but I would never do that now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company provides good job security
Administrative Tech (Current Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 10, 2015
Pros: some discounts, job security, sick leave
Cons: not very many raises
It depends on what department you work in because every department has different rules. I have worked for the Sheriffs office and the division of corrections and I had a good experience and gained some valuable job skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Custodial Worker (Former Employee), Memphis TNJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: overtime
Cons: end assignment
They strive for excellence and perfection that compels me to overcome all obstacles to complete all tasks. The confident that I will enhance the team worker is the value used daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Fire Department Dispatcher (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: co-workers
Cons: salary differentials
Staff are all great! rewarding job with great benefits. People listen to you if you have concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work with good benefits
Human Resource Assistant (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 2, 2015
Pros: government which ususally means job security
Cons: public opinion about government workers
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping employees and their families obtain benefits that are best for their needs.

I have learned more about FMLA and STD during my tenure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great operation
Administrator, Human Resources (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 18, 2014
Pros: leading some great employees
Cons: politics
We were able to develop a great culture. The Chief Administrative Officer and I had a great relationship, however when he was appointed by the goveror to become a Criminal Court Judge, his replacement asked for my resignation and the culture went down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes!
Compensation Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 27, 2014
Great location.

Hours are good.

Pay is ok.

Underground parking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Accountant B in Finance Department (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 10, 2014
Pros: advancement possibilities
Cons: nothing
I worked for Shelby County Government for 25 years and retired with a full service retirement with benefits! Wonderful management teams and employees!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to access
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 6, 2014
Pros: already worked in the child support enviroment
Cons: have some knowledge
The information was applied in a timely manner. All information that was given was posted right away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Counselor B-Probation Section 1 (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 27, 2014
•Serve as a resource, community builder, mediator, crisis manager, mentor, and programmer for social and educational programs
•Conduct duty rounds and perform various administrative tasks
•Work with all male and co-educational populations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice starting career within government
Clerical Specialist B (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 26, 2014
Must be computer literate
Able to run computer data bases
Excellent communication skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It too was a productive work environment.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: i enjoyed working with volunteers to help need families.
Cons: too much butter and cheese had to be stored because of abundance.
I supervised the transportation, storage, and distribution of Shelby County's Commodity Program. I supervised about six employees and about 300 volunteers. I had to visit about 50 sites all over the city to make sure guidelines were being followed and food were being given to eligible recipients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Supervisor (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 14, 2014
This is a fast paced work environment. There are many challenges working with adult offenders, but the overall work experience is useful moving forward in career opportunities. I was given the opportunity for advancement. Working in my current department is where I gained my knowledge in Human Resources. These experiences are what has given me the option of moving forward in the human resource field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Clerical Specialist C (Former Employee), Memphis, TNApril 1, 2014
Pros: working downtown, on the site cafeteria
Cons: parking
I liked working with Shelby County Government. It was a new and different working environment. I met new people and I love the location: Downtown.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be stuck the rest of your life go ahead!!
Register (Former Employee), MemphisMarch 8, 2014
Pros: some of the co workers
Cons: health insurance is sky high!!!
Registers office:
No room for advancement, they micro manage the place, the elected official doesn't care about his employees, and only moves people up if they are white, they don't go by the Shelby county employee handbook they have their own "handbook" the elected official is not social, only when election year is in course "fake" as can be, if they don't like you they'll find a way to make your life a living hell for you to resign..... WORSE place in Shelby county govt to work at!!!! You don't even get a 15 min brake like the rest of the offices, I could go on and on ......

About SHELBY COUNTY GOVERNMENT

Shelby County Health Care Corporation, dba Regional Medical Center at Memphis (The MED), provides a variety of health care services – Read more

SHELBY COUNTY GOVERNMENT Salaries

Clerical Specialist
$1,998 per month
Manager
$4,730 per month
Administrative Technician
$2,299 per month
Court Clerk
$2,435 per month
Appraiser
$3,615 per month