SHELBY COUNTY GOVERNMENT Employee Reviews

Found 55 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 18, 2017
Nice good love it will like to get a good job.and will tell people that need a job to look into it.i retired from Shelby county and loved it.wish i could go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding review
Correctional Counselor (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 5, 2016
Challenging work on a daily basis, you have to know how to flow with change. Change some days may be extreme. Good adaptive / coping skills needed. Team work is a must and is needed on a daily basis for overall success. Therapeutic communities were the most enjoyable. Offenders responded well to programmatic treatment.
Pros
challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security & New Learnings
Clerical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 24, 2016
Shelby County Government is a nice place to work if you are looking for job security and too constantly learn new things. Employees are great to work with but needs new training for Management.
Pros
none
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience, working with people.
Deputy Jailer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 10, 2016
Transportation officer, work in the jail, hospitals ect. Working front door security. Been here 18 years. Deputy Jailer.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Working with high risk inmates
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Operations
Deputy Jailer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 20, 2016
Pod security wellness and security checks conducted
Log inmates activities
Answer inmates question with in guidelines provided
Operate the work area with Firm, Fair and Consistent Procedures
Pros
Career
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a jail
Correctional Officer Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INAugust 18, 2016
I liked my job just had a disagreement with my boss, he tried to tell me who and when I could hang out with my friends and some of my family. Thank you for considering me.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT place to work
Deputy Sheriff (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 10, 2016
Shelby County Government is top notch. The pay is well, the department is wonderful. Really can't put into words how great being a deputy sheriff has been with Shelby County.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy and busy place to work for.
Executive Secretary (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 29, 2016
I schedule Mayors event and kept calendar. I learned to be spontaneous and to multitask. The management were great people as well as my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was not to forget anything.
Pros
Great benefits and co-workers
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting to know the inmates as people instead of a number.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 19, 2016
Providing safety and security for inmates with disabilities, monitoring daily recreational activities, and keeping daily log in inside of a journal.
Pros
Great benefits and pay
Cons
A dangerous job in itself.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career
Corrections Deputy (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 14, 2016
your attitude determines everything.. overall its a simple job..
As a correction deputy, it's your job to overlook the inmates ..
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report

Want to know more about SHELBY COUNTY GOVERNMENT?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable career
Deputy Sheriff (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 17, 2016
Received proper training needed, felt adequate enough to perform my position as required. The hardest part and enjoyable part of my job was working with the public, and assisting where needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evaluation
Jail Processing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 12, 2016
This job is fairly easy. The outcome of the shift depends on who's working with you. The inmates arent really a problem. This concludes this evaluation.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress Environment
Clerical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 4, 2016
Sign in and clear employees coming in off of sick leave, pass out approved vacation sheets for 1st shift employees, complete roll, type memos, input roster information, answer phones, place employees on sick list, submit forms to benefits office, filing and customer service. Management was absent a lot due to personal conflict, which made it a stressful environment to work in where everyone wanted to be the boss. Best thing about the job is working in the office by myself after 4:30
Pros
Free dinner everyday
Cons
Not being able to leave out of the jail once you go in
Was this review helpful?Yes16No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Clerical Specialist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 26, 2015
Opening the office, checking fax machine for over night documents, prepping file and schedules for intake specialist and manger. Greeting co-workers, exchange of information that may be helpful with work load for the day. Pleasantries with other staff members in other departments. Return to desk to start updates case notes and follow-up information on consumers. Answering multi-telephone, responding to emails and updates via email. Lunch is taken and routine continues for the reminder of the day.
Pros
on-site fitness and comfy break room
Cons
taken for granted, inner office clicks (group)
Was this review helpful?Yes26No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is rewarding to be able to help others.
Juvenile Court (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 22, 2015
Juvenile Court is an adventure. You will always learn something new every day. Working to help others must be in the fore front of your mind to work with the public. You must unnderstand that you are there to help not to hurt.
Pros
Helping the public
Cons
Healthcare plans
Was this review helpful?Yes28No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work.
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 20, 2015
It's just like working for the Post Office. Ever heard of "Going Postal"?
Management does not cross train in the Juvenile System and hostel employees are given promotion to mgt and are really unqualified and with no management training at all. After 10 years I told them to shove it. I was in a pretty well paid position but can do better
Was this review helpful?Yes22No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Assistant (Current Employee) –  TennesseeApril 16, 2015
I have enjoyed my time at Shelby County Government. Work hard and advancement is definitely a possibility. Great leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with inmates and the public
Deputy Jailer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 5, 2015
oversees inmates that are awaiting court procedures. Manage and provide security for 64 inmates. The hardest part of the job is dangerous environment.
Pros
Generous Vacation and Sick time
Cons
Expemsice Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes23No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere, most employees get along well.
Printer I (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 23, 2015
Great place to work, little opportunity for advancement. Was not satisfied with the pay. Meet new faces everyday. Family like atmosphere.
Pros
Hours, job security
Cons
Pay and advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes25No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shelby County Government is great place of employment.
Jail Processing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 21, 2015
I have been employed with Shelby County Government for 14 years. I would recommend anyone to apply for any open opportunities within the Shelby County Government.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SHELBY COUNTY GOVERNMENT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

SHELBY COUNTY GOVERNMENT Reviews by Location