Find companies:
Shelby County Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

Shelby County Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Office Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 2, 2014
Pros: being able to maneuver through out the building doing different jobs.
Cons: pay
I had several different hats that I wore so I pretty much had to be all over the building.
I learned technology skills and learned how to better my communication skills.
Management kept it interesting!
I am still friends with my co-workers, they were pleasant to work with.
Dealing with at risk students was challenging.
Being able to deal with each one – more... differently was so rewarding to my heart and soul. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and teamwork environment
Sub Nutrition Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: part-time only
Since I been working for Shelby County Schools I learned recipes I can try at home. More dinner ideas being that I love to cook. I enjoy serving Elementary school children. This is the easiet job I have come across in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place to work in.
Mobile Security Officer (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 14, 2014
Pros: good pay for security department.
Cons: benefits are to high.
Shelby county schools is a Great place to work. My typical day is to report to rollcall and get instructions along with other officers from our supervisor. Then get a company car and report to your assigned school were you monitor students, staff , and property ensuring both administrators and students are in a safe work enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
NUTRITION TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), FOOD SERVICENovember 11, 2014
Pros: great food
Cons: friendly environment
I LOVE MY JOB AND I LOVE WORKING WITH CHILDREN AND THE PUBLIC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher with SCS
Teacher (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 10, 2014
Pros: .
Cons: .
Shelby County is also closing nine schools at the end of the 2013-14 academic year, which is the largest number of building closures in the area’s history.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching
Instructional Leader (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 14, 2014
Pros: summers and snow days
Cons: long hours, weekends, no job security
My co-workers are wonderful. Politics/policy are not feasible for required job duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teacher (Former Employee), Alabaster, ALSeptember 29, 2014
I loved working at Central Park Elementary. The culture at the school was wonderful and the administration, faculty and staff worked together to ensure our students were ready for the real world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Housekeeping (Former Employee), shelbyville inSeptember 24, 2014
Maintaining clean rooms for small children. Great staff. Part time work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive work environment.
Professional School Counselor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: ienjoyed helping students receive their high school diplomas.
Cons: i was the only counselor on site.
I worked with the entire school staff. I was the only counselor on site which meant, I interacted with the administration, teachers, students, parents, custodial staff, cafeteria workers, school psychologist, school nurse, social worker, drug and alcohol counselor, any one from the business sector or neighborhood. That was the hardest part of my job. – more... I wore many hats and had to learn how to multitask. My student enrollment dropped from 1,063 students to about 365 in three years. My job was to make sure students were on tract to graduate and receive their TN diploma. I also counseled students regarding academic, person/social and career concerns. Making sure students were enrolled in classes they needed to graduate and making sure they graduated on time was the most rewarding part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large organization with numerous job opportunities.
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: pays well for time expended.
Cons: irregular schedule.
At this point, it is difficult to provide a review of this "company." Anyone familiar with the recent merger of the school systems should realize that the "verdict" is out on its performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work unless you are in administration
Administrative Assistant, Special Education (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 29, 2014
Pros: holidays off.
Cons: everything else.
The salary was horrible. There were no opportunities for advancement because everything was political and based on who you knew that could get you hired. Also, there is very little job security. Management is not competent and neither is Human Resources. They leave MUCH to be desired!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great job, always ready for my workdays as I enjoyed my job.
Foreman (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 21, 2014
I always started my day coordinating and scheduling deliveries for employees. Learning computer skills for inventory control. Managed all day to day operations for shipping and receiving, made sure all employees knew jobs for the day and ensured safety procedures were in place at all times. Overall the job came pretty natural to me since I have worked – more... in this field for 41 years. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting new people and making sure things generally ran smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Interventionist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 30, 2014
I worked with some good and exciting children. I thought the fundamental of reading and letter sounds. I helped them to read or read better. I helped them blend prefixes and suffixes together to make words. I loved my co-workers. I really enjoyed my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Special Education Teacher (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 17, 2014
Shelby County Schools is a progressive educational atmosphere. My co-workers and I were close. They really care about me personally and challenge me professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of transitions and uncertainty.
Teacher (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 10, 2014
As we all know, education is an uncertain career to have. With the recent merger, many people have been let go. I enjoy my students and teaching but, with the recent change in the educational process and recent changes in administration, it can be quite challenging if not a bit disheartening. I stay because I love teaching and the students,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Enviroment
Special Education Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis TNJuly 7, 2014
Assiting Student with curriculum and personal needs. Also i severed as a Job Coach for Work Base Learning Program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Process
Substitute Secretary (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 1, 2014
Pros: 15 minute breaks
I was a substitute secretary and I was blessed to have long term assignments until I was hired permanently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 28, 2014
Giving the fact this is an at-will state, scs really uses that as an advantage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall SCS was great to work for.
Behavior Intervention Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TnJune 24, 2014
i just think the merger was more than they could handle in such a short period of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you want to be in education
ESL Teacher (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 23, 2014
I learned that they are data oriented and want students to succeed.

1 2 3 4 5