Shelby Employee Reviews

Found 24 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In Transition
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cordova, TNAugust 3, 2016
Since being acquired Shelby has been undergoing a period of extensive change. This opens the door for some positions (primarily development), while others remain questionable. The end result is yet to be seen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telemarket
Cashier Clerk Barnes & Noble Bookstore (Former Employee) –  MichiganMarch 13, 2016
Even though it was calling people for charity, it wasn't a job I really liked. I'm not very good at persuading people to do things or to help others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, very unorganized, and unprofessional.
Lead Pre-school Teacher (Current Employee) –  MIJune 9, 2015
This job is a very reliable and secure job due to the high turnover rate however, there is not much room for advancement. Teachers are given very little time to create and prep for the lessons expected of us. Because of this I spent many hours at home doing things for class. I felt very unappreciated and replaceable. The hardest part of the job was never knowing who I was going to work with, or if they would end up staying with me all day, what kids would actually end up staying in my room (or coming to me from a different room due to teacher/ student ratios) and various other scenarios that made for a very hectic and unpredictable day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working
Softlines Clerk Meijer (Current Employee) –  MIJune 8, 2015
I liked working at this company it was very hands on and I learned many skills and traits while working here as well. This was a very fast pace job and it was always exciting to come in and help many customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, fulfilling career
Insurance Agent, Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Cordova, TNApril 1, 2015
The TN Farm Bureau family is extremely welcoming and wants you to succeed. As a first year agent, you will have access to a wealth of knowledge and resources, as well as education and hands-on mentoring. Farm Bureau pursues a culture of "as strong as the weakest link" mentality, and will provide help to all independent contractors to keep them profitable as individuals. All in all, a great company to have a lifelong career with for those up to the challenge.
Pros
Excellent agent support, many opportunities for personal growth, generous compensation
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Company, died end job
Material Handler Elite Plastic Products (Former Employee) –  MIMarch 29, 2015
They didn't pay well. They treated employees like they were expendable. I improved my material handling knowledge. I supplied material to all the machines in the shop and what I was asked to.
Pros
I like the work I did
Cons
The job did'nt pay well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice area, good people to work for.
Asst, Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Shelby, MTOctober 22, 2014
Asst Supervisor I assisted the Shift Supervisor in the daily duties. Roll call, placing officers on post. Accountability of inmates and visitors.
Pros
Enjoyed helping others and answering questions for staff.
Cons
A long way from family and cold weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target (this review is not about Shelby)
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  MIJuly 20, 2014
Co-workers where great hard working people
Flexible work hours
Good Management
I liked interacting with different people
sometimes they would serve and prepare food for the whole staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely awesome Central office staff, great environment to work in, and a vast diversified faculty.
Social Studies Instructor (Former Employee) –  Shelbina, MOApril 21, 2014
I enjoyed working with the sophomore and freshmen. The community is very supportive.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Salary Base pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small description of my day @ Chrysler/Jeep,working for P.I.C Group
Inspector (Former Employee) –  MIFebruary 14, 2014
Basically, we would sign in, get our work orders & explanation of
the job & what was required of us, we would use portable sanders
to sand down the back of steering wheels because of too much
rubber on back, initial our name on back& store into proper
containers. Another job i've had @ Chrysler/Jeep working for
the P.I.C Group was to inspect the valves for jeep trucks by
use of mini flashlight to see that ring, sleeve, tip was in place,
make our mark on outer side of the valve using a silver marker
to indicate our approval. Also we used portable metal cutters
to cut corners of metal railings which attach to the truck, grind
& file for smoothness. Another job was usage of a drill to drill
small hole in plastic lining of the engine compartment for exact
fitting, and have also used large scissor type metal snips for
cutting other plastic parts for other portions of jeep trucks.
Pros
We got one hour lunches, 30 min breaks.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Jump Start Community
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, MOOctober 11, 2013
This was a great place for me to start my career in Economic Development, and believe that it would be a great place for anyone to start their career. Good people and great values!
Pros
Values, and People
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comcast
Sales (Former Employee) –  MIAugust 17, 2013
I was going door to door with Comcast now the name is xfinity signing new customers up with home phone, cable and internet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Administrative Assistant / office Manager (Former Employee) –  MIAugust 15, 2013
It was a great place to work, but I work real hard for the company and I will work real hard for the next company. I learned never to take any thing for granted. I loved my co-workers they were the greatest. The hardest part for me was when it was time to move on.
Pros
I met a lot of new people
Cons
The boss had his favorites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with attorneys to merit in cases
Registered Nurse, Certified Legal Nurse Consultant (Current Employee) –  Kings Mountain, NCJuly 3, 2013
Enjoyed working with attorneys about cases. Love researching charts and nursing paperwork.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
limit clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Business
Inside Sales/ Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  MIJune 28, 2013
This company was privately owned and is no longer in business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasure
Art Teacher (Former Employee) –  MIMay 16, 2013
I worked for this school as a Student Teacher and I never felt more welcomed in my life. It was a pleasure working for these students. I did everything I could to assist student Growth and empower students to strive for higher goals. One of my students Entered the scholastics art and writing in Macomb and won. I was so proud for a Student Teacher.

I started the Multi Cultural event at this school and it proved to be a huge success with the school, teachers, and most importantly the students.

I was sent off with a Teacher of the Month award voted on by the students, and a Massive gift card signed by many. I have never felt more welcome and never felt more emotional over leaving.
Pros
Excellant learning community, Artist friendly, Administrative support is a plus.
Cons
Job security, Budgeting was minimal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to live
Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  MIApril 28, 2013
Really enjoy living in Shelby. I like the area and it provides a lot of ufn things to do and entertainment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of time it was fun at the workplace.
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  MIMarch 12, 2013
It was a friendly place to work. enjoyed working with my co-workers. The customers made me laugh, some of them would crack a joke. I learned alot of things on the computer as a shiftsuperviser. the other managers would leave me list to do every day that i worked.It would of been nice to have help unloading the truck that we would get once a week. We didnt have enough hours to have extra people to put on duty.
Pros
we didnt have to punch out for breaks.
Cons
didnt have time for a break.alot of stuff to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was my own boss and made good money
Sales Representative Vector Marketing (Former Employee) –  MIFebruary 21, 2013
I was able to schedule my own appointments and worked based on the hours i set up with clients. Was easy to advance and get promotions and i received pay raises almost weekly. Working in Sales was a bonus because that's what i love doing most.
Pros
great pay and hours
Cons
lack of clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean, comfortable, with an HDTV
President, Max Liquors (Current Employee) –  MIFebruary 11, 2013
In love it. This place offers a wide variety of liquor and wine. They also sell different kinds of beer.
Pros
excellent workers
Cons
.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shelby. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0