Shell Employee Reviews

Found 728 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
take the s off of shell and thats what it is
Refinery Operator (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXMarch 28, 2017
place could be a wonderful plant, but unfortunately if you are not one of the good ole boys or someones brother then your opportunities are limited. very political environment, its going down the drain fast. run away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure but scary
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carmel, NYMarch 28, 2017
Working the closing shift is a little intimidating at first because it's late at night and it's a gas station so it can be intimidating because it's late. However, there was security to ensure your safety as an employee and surveillance. Sometimes boring but you can pretty much always find something to do around the store. Whether that be cleaning or restocking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, KYMarch 27, 2017
Very easy job, fast paced, you know exactly what is expected of you. Management was great, very flexible and understanding. Willing to work around personal schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Sale Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, FLMarch 27, 2017
I liked the flexible working hours policy. Work life balance was advocated at Shell's culture.

There are a lot of smart and professional people at Shell. I enjoyed learning at the project and from the people I work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer going through strategic changes
Project Operations Readiness Lead (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 26, 2017
I liked the flexible working hours policy. Work life balance was advocated at Shell's culture.

There are a lot of smart and professional people at Shell. I enjoyed learning at the project and from the people I work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Owasso, OKMarch 24, 2017
This was my favorite job. I was employed there for ten years. The customers and management became like family. I knew everything about that store. I knew all the vendors, orders and supplies. I could do payroll end of day close.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, productive, supportive atmosphere.
Administrative Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILMarch 22, 2017
Work day - Maintaining files for the Engineering division. Provided support in administrative duties.

Management - Worked with the group to better ourselves at work and in our personal life.

Culture - Friendly, supportive, good friends.

Hardest part - When the company moved out of state.

Enjoyable part - Going to work everyday!
Pros
A place to learn and grow, Good benefits, Supportive coworkers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard cashier position
Cashier/Opener/Closer (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSMarch 21, 2017
This would be a great job for somebody looking to get cashier experience on their resume. I thought this was a pretty laid back job all things considered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work space
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Eagle Pass, TXMarch 21, 2017
As a cashier on the graveyard shift I was required to clean the entire store and keep the shelves organized, keep the coffee and ice machine restocked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job i ever had.
Cashier/Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tannersville, PAMarch 21, 2017
I miss this privately owned shell company so much had the best owner, he taught me alot for this being my first real job, i was sad to see the business be sold.
Pros
Great boss, great business, fun
Cons
Nothing honestly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry full time job, Bad pay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Seminary, MSMarch 19, 2017
Good for an entry level job. Started out full time but didn't have good pay. Perfer to continue to do business here though. Recommend anyone to come here.
Pros
started full time, good hours
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shell
Cahier (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAMarch 19, 2017
I enjoyed working there all management r very friendly the hours r pretty good pay is normal didn't really wrk there that long but did enjoy myself loved the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun to work during the summer
Fuel Attendant (Former Employee) –  Bend, ORMarch 19, 2017
A great place to come and get your gas pump in Bend Oregon we offer the highest customer satisfaction and great employee benefits enjoyed working there
Pros
Full time work
Cons
Cold during the winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 17, 2017
So when i worked for shell gas it was awsome. I worked 12+ hour shifts (because i wanted to) at night. I was able to change my hours if needed. I was paid cash too.
Pros
You get to sit
Cons
Paperwork took very long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a overall great experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Moss Point, MSMarch 16, 2017
I enjoyed meeting new people and associating with the customers. The store was always understaffed and not ran properly by upper management. The job was mediocre.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive: Steady work environment
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 15, 2017
Operate cash register

Providing customer service in a retail environment

Handling cash, check, and credit card transactions

Interpreting and organizing cash/inventory reconciliation data
Pros
Amazing customers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier stocking customer service
Circle K (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaMarch 12, 2017
Cashier clean and service the guest to make sure that they have the best customer service when them come into our business. Cash handling stocking products and maintaining a clean business
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
No breaks less pay work long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company. Treats employees with respect.
Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 11, 2017
I had a good experience at Shell. Even though I was laid off due to a restructuring and Reduction in Force, they treated me with respect and treat their employees like customers. Not perfect, but they strive for it and mean well. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved seeing people and making their days
Manager (Former Employee) –  Arvada, COMarch 9, 2017
I really loved working for this company to be able to put a smile on someone's face and be the reason they come back was a huge compliment in my personality. but personal things came up in my husband's health that needed my full attention so i had to walk away
Pros
they worked with my hours
Cons
there were 2 owners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
luck if you get breaks
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 9, 2017
Fast paced work environment. You are lucky if you get to get a break for even a lunch. Always pay attention to your surrounding. The shift if over before you know it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,644 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6