Shell Employee Reviews in United States

Found 595 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsecured job site
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Phelan, CAJuly 21, 2016
I worked eight hours a day, all holidays, alone from 3pm to 10pm. job duties required me to go outside. I learned what to do if theres a fire at a gas station, what the emergency off switch looks like at all gas stations. management was helpful in very few areas that were minor issues, otherwise, not very attentive. coworkers were very helpful. Going outside at night alone. good hours.
Pros
paycheck
Cons
on your own, no benefits, have to work all holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not offered best opportunities
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 21, 2016
Very badly managed and no room for advancement or benefits for employees. Store opening 24 hours and no security for after hours for protection. Sometimes left with only one person running the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible job
Gave GREAT customer service (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAJuly 20, 2016
This review doesn't apply to all Shell Gas Stations but the one I worked at was an awful job. Besides my boss, I was the only other working for him. The only good thing about working there was I got more experience in management and hiring management. i got to hire and fire anyone I trained and I also learned how to write checks for our inventory company's that brought in new inventory each week. I worked by myself so when I worked I would open or close by myself and I worked Mon-Sun and the hours and experience i learned was the only thing I could brag about Shell
Pros
as many breaks as long as no customers walked in
Cons
no time off
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Manager (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJuly 19, 2016
very good company to work for, very rewarding and able to move up in the company. I would recommend the job to anyone that is interested in work for a gas company
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good High School Employer
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Philomath, ORJuly 19, 2016
I would typical spend my days washing the store, restocking the shelves, and when a car pulled up to the station, my boss would tell me via walkie-talkie and I would then run outside and help the customer.
I mostly worked weekends, but because most of our staff was high school students we had a high turnover, so I also trained a lot of staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional organization with talented eployees
Technical Architect (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 17, 2016
Shell is good place to work with professional and talented employees. For the past 12 years I have been allowed to work mostly from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow.
Sr. Project Engineer - Projects-Americas (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2016
One of the truly great company and place to work. Personnel challenged to "think outside the box" and given the latitude to follow that principle to logical conclusions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, with wonderful people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 7, 2016
This place was a fast paced environment that I was totally naive to, but my wonderful coworkers and managers helped me become great at my job. It was excellent to meet new customers and help them in our store, and I ended up having great regulars who came in sometimes to just say hi! It was a great learning experience and I definitely benefitted from working there.
Pros
Free lunches, Got to work on my own, and got great practice with Customer Service
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Environment to work in
Document Controller (Contracted through Cynet) (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 7, 2016
The work environment is fast pace. There is a lot of teamwork and communication around the office to meet deadlines. Mangers welcome fresh and bold ideas. Company is open to the millennials beliefs and ideas.
Pros
Great Food Court, Onsite Gym, and other Amenities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shutdown
Lead NDE Technician during Multiple T/A's (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 6, 2016
shutdown work only typical shutdown dont remember full details. this was a will back. i was working for team industrial services doing ndt
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fair and workable atmosphere
Purchasing Agent/Procurement (Former Employee) –  Morgan City, LAJuly 5, 2016
These 2 companies taught me a lot. It taught me everything from Supply Chain, to Inventory Control, to Purchasing. They also taught me how to get a long and work with with a diverse ray of people.
These companies were never boring to work for.
Pros
Family like atmosphere
Cons
Raises were far and few between
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cherokee, NC 28719July 2, 2016
My main manager was awesome everyone in my store was awesome their were issues with the higher up managers but my store manager and all employees were great
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Petrophysicist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 28, 2016
This is the best company I have worked for. Overall it is a good company. It treat employees fairly well. The working environment is also very well.
Pros
Good pay, good work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXJune 27, 2016
operating cash registers and adding machines, preparing invoices and bills, processing credit card payment and collecting receipt , providing excellent customer service and communicating with customers in a friendly way.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSJune 27, 2016
standing 8 or more hours , handling cashier , working for people who do not understand that we have kids , work on holidays , the management was great i worked extra hard she was always there to help whenever things could not get finished on time . The hardest part in trying to tell customers they are wrong m
Pros
the pay everyweek
Cons
having to work for little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gas station running register and stock and cleaning
Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  West Liberty, KYJune 27, 2016
average day at work learned people skills and running register management is poor good co workers nothing to hard to accomplish working with co workers
Pros
free fountain drinks
Cons
30 min breaks which im fine with
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet place slow pace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CA 90501June 23, 2016
over night duties were to stock make sure eerything was faced and ready for next shift trash was thrown out at a certain time and tilt was 100% accurate
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly competitive workplace
Associate Business Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 17, 2016
Given its scale, Shell is a highly competitive company. Like all players they are currently suffering under a low oil price environment and that shows in how management is navigating the situation. Advancement can be slow.. Complicated systems are the norm and there is a procedure or process for everything. Often, new teams are created for no realistic reason. Overly complicated ways of working has a negative effect on employee morale and lead to a bogged down system. Knowledge inclusive needs a lot of work to be effective.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning exprerience
Shell Conference Center (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 15, 2016
Great company to work for, great people. There is always room for learning new thing. Be prepared for change within the company. Do your job and you will go far.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get to meet people
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Nlr, ARJune 8, 2016
very nice people and very generous, is willing to give you overtime if needed and pay bonuses. will work you long hours and sometimes two shifts which make for a long day
Pros
bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,291 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6