Shell Employee Reviews

Found 1,342 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 20, 2017
I enjoyed working there. It was my better job experiences. The culture is one of the best I have ever experienced. The benefits were also good. You get a pension and 401K.
Pros
Pays wells
Cons
Advance depends on the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MSJuly 19, 2017
Great employees and coffee drinkers in the morning, great boss it all added up to a good place to work. Working there was like working with family.

later helped boss do online grocery orders, made bank runs , watched over store and did his job when he was out of town
Pros
great people to work with and great customers
Cons
early shift 3 -3:30 a.m
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 18, 2017
I worked for an independently owned Shell, and it was like any other gas station.

It had it's ups and downs but over all was good to work for.

Since it was a bit remote, we had a lot of regulars so the customers were not very rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Cashier and restocking (Former Employee) –  Lilburn, GAJuly 18, 2017
Working at a gas station required a lot of hard work. It was tough but worth my time in the end. I made some good friends there and reminisce on how it allowed me to mature.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Gas stations
Gas Station Attendant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carlinville, ILJuly 17, 2017
I don't want to work at a gas station again and it was nice to met people but I didn't like standing the whole time and some of my coworks sucked and where Rude to me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
DOCUMENT CONTROL SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 17, 2017
This is a great place to work at. The people are amazing and very focused to deliver results at minimum cost while keeping safety as their number one priority. I strongly recommend anyone considering working for this company to take the challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experiense
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albemarle, NCJuly 15, 2017
The company was good to work for. Loved working for public Great people, it was fun , fast and efficient. I worked for several store in the area i was
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall coworkers and owners were really good people even though people complain I didn't have much to complain about I thought the owners were fair n
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodland, WAJuly 14, 2017
Just keep a good additude customers can be rude but it's your job to grin and bear it. Sometimes it's fun to get to know regulars and the diverse people you get to meet. I know my place is in customer service because I love working with the public.
Pros
Christmas bonus, nice people to work for.
Cons
Not sure at this time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJuly 12, 2017
Busy, but not hard. The pay is great, Hours are great. People come in not only for gas, but directions asa well, so it's good to know your way around where you work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe fun caring work environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 11, 2017
Everyday is a new day a fun exciting day to meet new people i enjoy meeting and greeting customers. i work hard everyday to make sure my job is complete and at my best.
Pros
houer lunch break
Cons
no paid vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNJuly 10, 2017
Good place to start for first job seekers. Teaches customer service communication skills and how to build relationships. Management was private owned so not much advancing possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ALJuly 9, 2017
Wouldn't trade it for anything.. love the people I work with just not enough pay can't make it on just that alone.. the store I work in is very clean and the customer service we give is excellant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 stars
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fairview, TNJuly 7, 2017
It is a great place to work. the people are always friendly and they treat there workers like there own family. i would tell anyone to go work for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun only in the team work
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Scarsdale, NYJuly 4, 2017
typical day of work : start at 6:00 am finish at 4 pm
what you learned : i learned how to run a business
management : really good management
work place culture : not a lot to learn
the hardest part of the job : cleaning tanks
the most enjoyable part : team work
Pros
not alot to say
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant While High School Student
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 3, 2017
My senior year of high school I was an administrative assistant to the IT Department of a Houston-area Shell Corporate office. I was part of a BCIS program where we had classes in the mornings and would head to work after lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  BerkeleyJuly 2, 2017
The company is very relaxed as far as work goes they do ask employees to keep areas clean and stocked not much to do throughout the day if you did all your cleaning duties id recommended to anyone who wants a chill job but not to anyone looking to move up in a company theirs not many promotions their
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive atmosphere
Retail Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJuly 2, 2017
my day started with the order being delivered to each store and me calling the the stores to confirm the delivery, and the complete order was accepted without shortages and breakage, i then started to put up the new merchandise at my home store and then traveled to the other stores in my area to check on their progress of completion
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJuly 1, 2017
It was nice to work at shell. The co worker were nice. It was new for me to work in a gas station. I learned how to use lotto system and How to solve problems when something bad occurs. There wasn't any hardest part. Learned more about customer service like how to teat customers and problem when occurred.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
station attendant
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Red Lion, PAJuly 1, 2017
the people that worker there and the customer that came in are what made the job. the culture was good because of the other employees. it was a gas station.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and safety oriented company to work for.
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 30, 2017
Shell is by far one of the most profound safety leaders in their perspective industry. The opportunity to grow is there if you have the work ethic. Unfortunately the industry has been in a decline in recent years requiring cost savings initiatives resulting in mass employment decline.
Pros
Professional, safe and good pay.
Cons
Some inner office management flaws.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,653 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6