Shell Employee Reviews

Found 723 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Owasso, OKMarch 24, 2017
This was my favorite job. I was employed there for ten years. The customers and management became like family. I knew everything about that store. I knew all the vendors, orders and supplies. I could do payroll end of day close.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, productive, supportive atmosphere.
Administrative Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILMarch 22, 2017
Work day - Maintaining files for the Engineering division. Provided support in administrative duties.

Management - Worked with the group to better ourselves at work and in our personal life.

Culture - Friendly, supportive, good friends.

Hardest part - When the company moved out of state.

Enjoyable part - Going to work everyday!
Pros
A place to learn and grow, Good benefits, Supportive coworkers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard cashier position
Cashier/Opener/Closer (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSMarch 21, 2017
This would be a great job for somebody looking to get cashier experience on their resume. I thought this was a pretty laid back job all things considered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work space
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Eagle Pass, TXMarch 21, 2017
As a cashier on the graveyard shift I was required to clean the entire store and keep the shelves organized, keep the coffee and ice machine restocked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job i ever had.
Cashier/Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tannersville, PAMarch 21, 2017
I miss this privately owned shell company so much had the best owner, he taught me alot for this being my first real job, i was sad to see the business be sold.
Pros
Great boss, great business, fun
Cons
Nothing honestly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry full time job, Bad pay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Seminary, MSMarch 19, 2017
Good for an entry level job. Started out full time but didn't have good pay. Perfer to continue to do business here though. Recommend anyone to come here.
Pros
started full time, good hours
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shell
Cahier (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAMarch 19, 2017
I enjoyed working there all management r very friendly the hours r pretty good pay is normal didn't really wrk there that long but did enjoy myself loved the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun to work during the summer
Fuel Attendant (Former Employee) –  Bend, ORMarch 19, 2017
A great place to come and get your gas pump in Bend Oregon we offer the highest customer satisfaction and great employee benefits enjoyed working there
Pros
Full time work
Cons
Cold during the winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 17, 2017
So when i worked for shell gas it was awsome. I worked 12+ hour shifts (because i wanted to) at night. I was able to change my hours if needed. I was paid cash too.
Pros
You get to sit
Cons
Paperwork took very long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a overall great experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Moss Point, MSMarch 16, 2017
I enjoyed meeting new people and associating with the customers. The store was always understaffed and not ran properly by upper management. The job was mediocre.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive: Steady work environment
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 15, 2017
Operate cash register

Providing customer service in a retail environment

Handling cash, check, and credit card transactions

Interpreting and organizing cash/inventory reconciliation data
Pros
Amazing customers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier stocking customer service
Circle K (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaMarch 12, 2017
Cashier clean and service the guest to make sure that they have the best customer service when them come into our business. Cash handling stocking products and maintaining a clean business
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
No breaks less pay work long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company. Treats employees with respect.
Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 11, 2017
I had a good experience at Shell. Even though I was laid off due to a restructuring and Reduction in Force, they treated me with respect and treat their employees like customers. Not perfect, but they strive for it and mean well. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved seeing people and making their days
Manager (Former Employee) –  Arvada, COMarch 9, 2017
I really loved working for this company to be able to put a smile on someone's face and be the reason they come back was a huge compliment in my personality. but personal things came up in my husband's health that needed my full attention so i had to walk away
Pros
they worked with my hours
Cons
there were 2 owners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
luck if you get breaks
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 9, 2017
Fast paced work environment. You are lucky if you get to get a break for even a lunch. Always pay attention to your surrounding. The shift if over before you know it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  HopemillsMarch 9, 2017
Very good work environment. Great work hours. The job worked well with schedule. Management was very helpful and lenient. Job was laid back and manageable.
Pros
Breaks when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with lots of work
High School Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 9, 2017
My experience at Shell has been a positive one. I worked in a department as an intern with hard-working and friendly people so it made work smooth and fun. There is a lot of work that goes into this company so expect to work hard. I personally enjoy working so I didn't it. My supervisor was great and never micro-managed but was always there if I had questions. The location that I worked at also had break rooms and a game room. Overall, Shell is a great company and would not mind returning!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hallettsville, TXMarch 5, 2017
I liked working here. Management and employees were awesome, also the customers. Of course like every job there was some bad days but most of them were good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Fuel Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ringoes, NJMarch 4, 2017
I honestly didn't mind the work at Shell, it quite simple and on top of that the service itself was easy, and I was always able to those out that needed simple things, for example putting air in their tires.
Pros
Good customer base, great coworkers
Cons
Lack of fellow coworkers during busy times of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like it then its right up your alley
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMarch 3, 2017
if you are just looking for a job and you know what your getting yourself into then its perfect the hours arent imposing and still consistent
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,634 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6
74%

CEO Approval

Based on 466 ratings
Add your rating