Find companies:
Shell
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
777 reviews

Shell Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun job
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kings Mills, OHJanuary 15, 2015
Great job, always fun meeting new people, every day was a different experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager
manager (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJanuary 14, 2015
• Responsible for hiring and training [10] team members.
• Trained, coached and monitored staff to ensure smooth adoption of new program.
• Counted cash drawers and made cash deposits.
• Assigned team members to specific duties to best meet the needs of the store.
• Reordered inventory when it dropped below predetermined levels.
• Examined merchandise to verify that it was correctly priced and displayed.
• Scheduled and led weekly store meetings for all team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Paced and Fun Place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Potterville, MIJanuary 11, 2015
I cashier and help out the customers. I have learned a lot to how to deal with unhappy customers , all the way to how to deal with un happy employees. The hardest part of the job is making sure everyone is working their hardest. This is hard at times because not everyone has great days everyday.

I have just started my Assistant manager position a couple months back. I love learning all of the paper work and learning all the information about what items we need and what sells the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service (Former Employee), Ridgewood, NYJanuary 1, 2015
Pros: meeting new people!
Cons: no benefit like paid vacation
Typical day at work is meeting and greeting new customers. Managing cash register and doing inventory. End of the day calculating making sure all my inventory is in check. Balancing out the transactions for the day. Co-workers were great, very supportive since i was the youngest they thought me what i needed to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to start in the workforce
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Pacifica, CADecember 30, 2014
Pros: free coffee/drinks machine
Cons: only 3 types of shifts, some "types" of customers
A day or morning shift is catering to customers, maintaining upkeep of the store, checking all the gas pumps, and restocking what's needed. In the night shift, there's more cleaning to do, but less customers.

You learn to work a cash register, make coffee, and (when the manager is away) take calls for fuel readings, restock merchandise (happens a lot with tobacco products), and solve problems that customers might have with the pumps (usually they're sliding cards the wrong side). You get occasional paid training sessions (30 mins long) and do monthly online safety reviews.

The management is fair, but the way shifts work is sometimes not. There are only three shifts: morning, noon, and night, each of them eight hours. It goes by seniority so sometimes you end up with the noon shifts no one wants and spend the entire day working, then too tired to do anything afterwards. Once you wake up, it's work time again.

Hardest part of the job isn't the job itself; it's the customers. But it's a customer service job, so there's not much that can be done.

The most enjoyable part of the job is, ironically, the people. Some regulars start to know you by name and can be really nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone was friendly and helpful. Nice place to work.
Nana Management Systems - Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Anchorage, AlaskaDecember 29, 2014
This was a temporary/contract position supporting the Vice President. Very fast paced highly confidential position with constantly shifting priorities.

The most enjoyable part of this job was working with professional, dedicated and friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Cashier (Former Employee), Port Saint John, FLDecember 21, 2014
I enjoyed this job because I was the shift manager. I was responsible for making things flow properly. I enjoyed working in a convenient store. You get to see interest things and get to focus solely on tasks and providing the best environment for your customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
instrumentayion fire&gas
Instrument / fire &gas senior technician (Current Employee), Egypt -west desertDecember 19, 2014
I have 12 years experience in instrumentation and control and fire &gas installation and commissioning and maintenance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting people
Customer Service Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee), Abilene, TXDecember 17, 2014
You meet all sorts of people working as a cashier. I like keeping the coffee on and helping them find anything they're looking for in the store. The employees that I work with are kind and just awesome.
Most of the time this is a fast paced environment and everybody is in a hurry to get somewhere so you have to be quick and very attentive
to the customers needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Logical Access Administrator (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 16, 2014
the job here is Fast-Paced.. High demand. Its a job so it pays the bills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for direct hires.
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), New Orleans, LADecember 15, 2014
Pros: good atmosphere
Cons: contracting out
Contractors are not well managed. Great people and great work atmostphere. Excellent work ethics within the company that strive for success. Some people look down on contractors who usually end up getting the blunt end of the stick. Great pay and benefits with positiont that teach you everyday and make you want to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Cashier (Former Employee), South Haven, MIDecember 10, 2014
Nice place but it greatly depends on your co-workers and management. customers are never the best thing about a customer service job but with the right co-workers and management it can be a good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Packaging Operator (Current Employee), Galent Park TXDecember 6, 2014
good job
team player
love it
good hour
weekend off
easy to move up in the company
great opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with amazing management
Cashier (Former Employee), Mansfield, TXDecember 3, 2014
Pros: fun loving professional
Cons: short breaks.
Professional fun work place. Great way to go to school and make money. amazing place to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent wage, advancement oppertunity
retail management (Current Employee), Murray, UTNovember 30, 2014
Pros: most weekends off
Cons: always available to cover shifts when associates call off. must be on call 24/7
early morning, daily fuel survey is required, driving to local stores to report fuel prices/changes. and emailed to corp. offices. Run reports to calculate daily sales and purchases.. Place orders from various vendors distributers check deliveries Balance end of day, end of week and end of month, create expense reports and margin reports. Hire and train staff, develop a productive and happy team. Complete payroll. Report any incidents, Make all deposits, balance safe. Delegate and report maintainence. Enforce Compliance with state and federal laws as well as Policies and Proceedures. Keep High standards of cleanliness and Customer Service. Communicate with staff as well as District Managers and Corp. Offices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard multitasking job.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Miami, FLNovember 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches, flexible schedule.
Cons: compesation, job cultures, job security.
A typical day at work is very busy the 8 work hours, you need to be able to sell, provide customer service and replenish the store, all at the same time. Develop multitasking skills, and how to provide customer service. I have very good relation with my co-workers, we are a very strong team. The hardest part of the job is attend to hard customers. The most enjoyable part is feel than the customer are satisfied with your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced workplace
Store manager (Former Employee), cumberland riNovember 14, 2014
shell is a good company overall. If I had the chance I would go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very calm and great co-workers
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Park City, ILNovember 13, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: minimum wage
a very nice and friendly gas station
I learned how to stock merchandise, how to operate a cashier
the co-workers were very friendly & understandable
the hardest part of the job was cleaning the restrooms
the most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things each day and meeting new people every day at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Stock Clerk, Sales Floor (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 11, 2014
The working environment is good and all the colleagues are nice and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok to work with shell.
Lease Operator Trainee (Former Employee), Kermit, TXNovember 11, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: management
Shell an okay company to work for wish the management was better.

About Shell

Royal Dutch Shell plc is incorporated in England and Wales, has its headquarters in The Hague and is listed on the London, Amsterdam, – Read more