Shell Employee Reviews

Found 1,370 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, RIJuly 31, 2017
This job was super easy, and mostly enjoyable. Customers become regulars and end up making the days go by faster. Working alone at night was the only thing I disliked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's like a home working with a second family
Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hanover Park, ILJuly 27, 2017
I love the people I work with. I am not a fan of the area and the people in this area. Shell's entire infrastructure is hanging by a thread, the systems fail almost every single day and it makes it impossible to work under these circumstances.
Pros
coworkers are amazing
Cons
the location is awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inter-Office Settlements Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2017
Everything was great at Shell Oil Company. No complaints other than after 10.5 years my last two jobs were offshored to the Philippines and India and left a lot of people without work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hayden, ALJuly 26, 2017
Was a very easy and friendly job. Not too many problems here at all. But hey its an entry level jobs so cant expect much. The one I worked at is no longer even a shell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 26, 2017
I enjoyed working here. My coworkers were helpful and great mentors. The management was great and was well organized. I had no complaints overall. Thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Cashier / Brewer Oil Co (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, NMJuly 24, 2017
I can say they helped me get my liquors licence but other then that I can say I would only work here as a last resort. Although I know that not all places are the same and this is only one out of many.
Pros
it pays
Cons
bad staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co workers
Manager (Former Employee) –  Deming, WAJuly 24, 2017
It was a great place to work, had great customers, learned a lot on how to work on my own. Accounting, taking good care of all customers. I had to learn Technical support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New Castle, INJuly 23, 2017
Great job I love the job and everyone that works with me. Our drinks are better than every gas station besides rickers. I can do everything and possibly run the gas station
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 20, 2017
I enjoyed working there. It was my better job experiences. The culture is one of the best I have ever experienced. The benefits were also good. You get a pension and 401K.
Pros
Pays wells
Cons
Advance depends on the department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MSJuly 19, 2017
Great employees and coffee drinkers in the morning, great boss it all added up to a good place to work. Working there was like working with family.

later helped boss do online grocery orders, made bank runs , watched over store and did his job when he was out of town
Pros
great people to work with and great customers
Cons
early shift 3 -3:30 a.m
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 18, 2017
I worked for an independently owned Shell, and it was like any other gas station.

It had it's ups and downs but over all was good to work for.

Since it was a bit remote, we had a lot of regulars so the customers were not very rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Cashier and restocking (Former Employee) –  Lilburn, GAJuly 18, 2017
Working at a gas station required a lot of hard work. It was tough but worth my time in the end. I made some good friends there and reminisce on how it allowed me to mature.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Gas stations
Gas Station Attendant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carlinville, ILJuly 17, 2017
I don't want to work at a gas station again and it was nice to met people but I didn't like standing the whole time and some of my coworks sucked and where Rude to me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
DOCUMENT CONTROL SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 17, 2017
This is a great place to work at. The people are amazing and very focused to deliver results at minimum cost while keeping safety as their number one priority. I strongly recommend anyone considering working for this company to take the challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experiense
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albemarle, NCJuly 15, 2017
The company was good to work for. Loved working for public Great people, it was fun , fast and efficient. I worked for several store in the area i was
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall coworkers and owners were really good people even though people complain I didn't have much to complain about I thought the owners were fair n
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodland, WAJuly 14, 2017
Just keep a good additude customers can be rude but it's your job to grin and bear it. Sometimes it's fun to get to know regulars and the diverse people you get to meet. I know my place is in customer service because I love working with the public.
Pros
Christmas bonus, nice people to work for.
Cons
Not sure at this time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJuly 12, 2017
Busy, but not hard. The pay is great, Hours are great. People come in not only for gas, but directions asa well, so it's good to know your way around where you work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe fun caring work environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 11, 2017
Everyday is a new day a fun exciting day to meet new people i enjoy meeting and greeting customers. i work hard everyday to make sure my job is complete and at my best.
Pros
houer lunch break
Cons
no paid vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNJuly 10, 2017
Good place to start for first job seekers. Teaches customer service communication skills and how to build relationships. Management was private owned so not much advancing possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ALJuly 9, 2017
Wouldn't trade it for anything.. love the people I work with just not enough pay can't make it on just that alone.. the store I work in is very clean and the customer service we give is excellant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,709 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6