Find companies:
Shelter Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Shelter Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for!
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Concordia, KSJuly 23, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: low pay for a smaller town.
This specific company was a great company to work for, it was just not the right fit at this time for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work-life balance but challenging
Insurance Agent (Current Employee), ILJuly 6, 2014
Pros: base salary, work-life balance
Cons: only benefit offered is health insurance, conservative life underwriting
Shelter is a good insurance company to start an insurance career. It has solid products and a good claims department. Like any other insurance, it is difficult to build a book of business but worth it if you can do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance
Customer Service Insurance Representative (Current Employee), Jonesboro, ARMay 8, 2014
Cons: no advancement of raises
Answers phone, quote customers, take payments, work alone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Claims Supervisor (Current Employee), Franklin, TNMarch 7, 2014
Great place to work. Friendly people and excellent benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid off
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), IndianaFebruary 20, 2014
I kept getting laid off due to finances at this job. I did enjoy the work. My insurance license has expired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great environment
Customer Service/Quality Control (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: everyone very helpful
Cons: none that i can think of
Learned more about insurance than I thought I would ever know, great training program. Everyone in the office is super helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful atmosphere, fun and enjoyable.
Secertary (Current Employee), Crocker, MOOctober 9, 2013
Pros: working with the bosses
Cons: no cons
I learned more about my customers and co-workers, was a comfortable place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee), Columbia, MOAugust 29, 2013
Everybody that you work with here is extremely nice and helpful.
I learned how to use AutoCAD and how to make access badges here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bit too slow paced for me
Claims Assistant (Current Employee), Springdale, ARAugust 19, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: to many to list
I feel as though I am limited and not given enough work to keep me busy and feel held back and feel as though the company does not want me to fully succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful office, lots of quoting for various insurances. Phone and inperson contact with perpective clients
Account Executive (Former Employee), Henderson, NVJune 19, 2013
Pros: paid expenses, monthly office meetings dinning out
Cons: intense administrative work.
Only contact with management once a month. Left alone to do your job. Learned new software and contact management programs.

The most enjoyable part of the job. Took responsibility for myself. Made Sales. Had support to call for any technical help.
The hardest part of the job. Extremely intense administrative work for long periods of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work in, had a great boss.
Office Manager (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARMay 13, 2013
I ran the front office. Typical day of work included quoting insurance to potential customers and explaining policies to new customers. I also helped existing customers with any questions or concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Lee's SummitMarch 16, 2013
Pros: after about 6 months, your schedule gets better.
Cons: low morale, little to no advancement, no set schedules, uncompetitive pay
Very disappointed to see that the Supervision in Shelter Customer Services does not care about their employees. When I interviewed I was happy to be part of the team until I started working there. There is no team. Very disorganized. Very out of touch/Not current/Old fashioned mentalities. They say that they "expect high turnover" and it is apparent. – more... There are great employees/people that they are loosing at a very fast rate and they do not care. They post positions because they are replacing, not because they are growing. People are not getting fired, they are leaving. You are not a asset to their company you are there to fill a seat. You are bottom of the barrell and unappreciated. You will never hear that you are doing a good job, no pats on the back, you will only hear from a Supervisor if they have something negative to tell you. You are not promoted to the next level because you are good at what you do, it is only if there is a "need" to promote you. There is little (one step up) to no advancement in the Kansas City (Lee's Summit) call center. Upper level management, Management, Supervision, Human Resources are not aware how unhappy anyone is because they never take the time to ask us. Clueless. Unless someone gets lucky, finds other employment and just so happens to get a exit interview will anyone get heard and changes are never made. Other departments are happy with very little turn over, so it is probably a good company, just a horribly run department. Worst place I have ever worked. It's convenient to home and looking from the outside-in, I would have never expected to be this unhappy. I go there, collect my paycheck and keep my mouth shut to stay off the radar. At this point I am looking to get out even if it means my commute will be longer. :( – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minus 5 star company
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Crawfordsville, INFebruary 4, 2013
Cons: too many to list
Good place to work if you want to get screwed. I worked there for 12 years as an agent. They terminated my contract before I was benefit eligible. No reason was ever given to me, so good luck with your Fantastic Shelter Insurance career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good choice
Agent (Former Employee), Midwest City, OkFebruary 3, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: get 300 xdates each month. constantly being asked to write more life insurance. not competitive
This Midwest City Agency has turned over many times in the last couple of years. Clients are not happy. Many rate increases. Not competitive in P&C, Writing Life Insurance is the way to make up for that. The existing clients have been beat up with Life Insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Receptionist (Former Employee), Derby, KSJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: hands on and customer interactions
Cons: not alot of time for breaks
I loved this job because it was all hands on and I didn't have to just sit around. I could do basically anything to help get the store looking like it was expected too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company to Work For!
Office Assistant - Temp Secretary (Current Employee), South Central IllinoisJanuary 14, 2013
I have worked for a Shelter Agent for over a year and he has recently been promoted to a Claims Adjuster. I love working in the office and find it to be quite rewarding!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Fast Track Adjuster (Current Employee), Columbia, MONovember 14, 2012
Great company to work for. Conservative company that believes in 2nd mover advantage. Great and caring leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked my job!
Office Manager (Former Employee), Littleton, CONovember 14, 2012
Pros: being able to talk to customers!
Cons: drumming up buisness
My boss were very easy to get along with, I enjoyed going to work! A typical day: I would arrive at the office between 7:30am and 8: am retrieve the phone messages, and log on the computer, and start returning calls. Most calls I would be able to answered there questions, but there were times that that my boss would take it because it would involve – more... either more detail or it was about life or health! (not my expertise) as the day would I would be faxing, filing or retrieving files, setting up appointment with clients, and so forth, the day would go by so fast! I learned how to patient with some of our clients and i also learned how to listen to them! My boss was the very patient with me and talked to and explained things when I may have been confused on a matter! I personally did not have a coworker under my boss but there was another receptionist/agent that could help the other agent in the office and at time the office would get pretty loud with laughter there were a lot of fun moments! I believe the hardest part of the job was when i had try to drum up some more business, There was no interest so it got frustrating at times! The most enjoyable time, well I have to say that just been able to work with such great people that I enjoyed my job period. When I knew that we were moving I gave my two weeks’ notice and we all cried and i do miss them especially the other agent even though she wasn’t my boss but she was and still is a good a really good agent. I have been out of a job for a while! I would like to get back to work even if it is part time! In fact i would prefer part time! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent entry level job
Customer Services Representative (Former Employee), Columbia, MOSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: may be convenient depending on where you live. good people.
Cons: uncompetitive pay, low morale, high turn-over, behind in technology
This is a good place to work if you have minimal call center experience and are looking for a good starting point. If you have worked for other efficient and well run call centers then this is not for you. It is fast paced at times because of a combination of staffing issues and the fact that at times it's hard to get good help there so you find yourself – more... running in circles with a customer on hold without good resources. Training is not organized, technology is nowhere near where it should be, "flexible" scheduling is all over the place (if you have a life or family then the scheduling can be challenging). The atmosphere can be very negative at times and it is tolerated. If you are in Columbia then opportunities may be vast but if you are in the other call center then forget about it. If you are in Columbia there are different departments and other things you can look into doing. If you are not there then there is nothing. The CSR's are banded into tiers so the longer you are there, you can move your way up from a Band 1 to 2 then to 3 max, the higher the band, the less your hands are tied but the worse your schedule becomes and from what I understand is that the compensation has not been worth accepting the promotional opportunity. The promotion from a Band 1 to 2 usually happens at or after your one year mark and based soley on business need and getting the offer is mostly on tenure and not necessarily merit. Morale is low, turn-over is high. Pay is nowhere near where it should be considering the work that you do, and the fact that most of the CSR's have a college degree. Your level of education, insurance knowledge, or prior call center experience is taken into consideration when hiring but not taken into consideration when it comes to compensation. It's non-negotiable so whether you have a master's degree, 20 years of experience or no experience at all - everyone is hired at the same rate of pay. Management may say they care but, you will rarely hear from a manager unless you are a fave and with them it's easy to be lost and never get acknowledged for the good that you do unless a customer brings it to their attention.
Keeping it completely real: It's a decent company, decent benefits, but if you have prior call center experience and are used to good training, good technology, structure, a balanced fair and friendly work atmosphere with good core values, good organization, or are just looking to grow and develop, this may not be for you. If you do not set your expectations high then you won't be disappointed. I don't believe that the company itself is a horrible place to be because when I was there, the turnover in other departments is not there so those other departments are doing something right. I can only speak from a customer services standpoint and you need to know what you are getting into upfront.
The most enjoyable part of the work are the relationships you will make with your co-workers. There are definitely good people there, most will agree that it's just not a very good situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent contractor
Agent (Former Employee), Prairie Village, KSAugust 11, 2012
Pros: discount of your own policies
Cons: limited product line to commercial/professional/industrial market
Morning: Inbound mail response and voice-mail duties, generate sales, set appointments.

Learned how to sell an intangible item. Most management were high school coaches and not prior agents which thereby limited their capabilities as to "never having been there".

About Shelter Insurance

Maslow's hierarchy of needs didn't include insurance, but once you have shelter, you might want Shelter Mutual Insurance. The – Read more