Find companies:
Shelter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Shelter Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Counselor (Former Employee), Santa Maria, CANovember 22, 2013
Great way to learn how to work with others, and helps organize priorities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job where you can make a change!!!!
DIVERSION CASE MANAGER (Current Employee), Lawrence, KSNovember 14, 2013
A typical day at work really depends on how you setup your day. My supervisor gives the case manager a lot of freedom, she trust that her worker will be productive with their time without her having to check-in with us ever minute.

Some days my day can get a bit crazy, it ranges any where from going to court, conducting check-in with my juvenile clients, – more... writing reports and the lisit could go on and on.

I would have to say the hardest part of my job would be working with the young people that do not care to help themselves. I may want a kid to change their way and start to makes some positive changes, but unless they are willing and wanting to change, it becomes a diffcult task.

The most enjoyable part of my job is when you are able to help a troubled child see the bigger picture. I get great enjoyment in seeing a child make personal improvment within themselves; rather it be behavior, school or personal relatioships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No day was the same and I enjoyed that
Property Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: i enjoyed all aspects of the job
Cons: working the last day and first day of each month no matter what day it came on
I ran the office as needed on a day to day bases. I did whatever was needed to make sure it ran smooth,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Shop Assistant (Current Employee), Helensburgh, SCTJuly 4, 2014
Excellent team, great to work with, fun place to be, good training and experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way to gain experience
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Edinburgh, SCTJune 12, 2014
They train you like you work in a "proper" shop anyway so basically you're doing everything a sales assistant in a clothes shop would be doing but for no pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and great experience.
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGJune 2, 2014
Pros: lunch break (30mins), friendly staff, nothing too hard.
Cons: long hours, heavy lifting, stressful moments.
Great place to start work experience, learned alot which could potentially have the skills to get me a job, retail work, drivers mate...
Management was friendly and understanding.
Co workers were easy to get along with and were great at teamwork.
Hardest part was probably the drivers mate lifting heavy furniture to the van.
The most enjoyable part was – more... learning retail as i thought it would be really hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voultery
Retail Assistant, (Former Employee), clydebankMay 22, 2014
i learned a lot from the sheletr as i done hoovering and i learned how to do the till and i cleaned up the back shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping but not really
Shelter fundraiser (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGApril 28, 2014
Pros: helping a charity
Cons: on feet all day, carry bag round all day, abuse off public, unorganised.
I worked for shelter for 1 month before deciding it was not for me. The text donations you're told to get are completely pointless as they actually want you to trick the public and get their numbers so they can be phoned and hassled into donating monthly. I had several people tell me f*ck off as they had already text donated and received very pressuring – more... phone calls the following week attempting to get them to set up direct debits. I was spat on several times by members of the public and was told that's just how the job is. I received very little training, half a day and barely got to run through my spiel once which I was told to make incredibly long with a lot of facts in, however the day after when I was thrown in the deep end I was told to make it a lot shorter. The Rotas were barely ever put up on time and you didn't find out whether you were working or where you were being sent to until the morning of that day. Also the work hours are not 10-6, they are 9-6/7 depending on what time you get back from where you've been. The pay is good but it's a lot of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is fun
sale consultant and customer service (Current Employee), London United KingdomApril 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch sometimes and environmental friendly
Cons: short lunch time
The workplace is a fun place to be and ideas are welcome by the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great working place
Shop Assistant (Former Employee), Hammersmith, ENGApril 10, 2014
Overall I think Shelter was a great experience for me because I learnt how to stack boxes and clothing on shelves in the right order. I also learnt how to communicate with costumers and help them as they come into the shop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Charity Shop Volunteer (Former Employee), Crouch End, ENGMarch 23, 2014
i loved thew environment and the skills i learned from there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attend costumers
Volunteer in a Shelter Charity (Former Employee), Edinburgh, SCTFebruary 8, 2014
A normal day in the work was order the shop, attend the customers and make sales in the till. My classmates were greats, I learn a lots of them, and over all to work in a team. The most difficult was make sales in the till when were many people in the shop and, by contrary the most wonderful thing that I had to do was attend the costumers and get help – more... them with the things that they want. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worthwhile
Branch Manager (Current Employee), BristolFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: beneficial
Cons: nothing
Stock control
Staff rotas
Departmental meetings
Merchandising
Stock rotation
Customer Service
Team leading
Managing/training staff
Cash/banking checks
Store security/opening/closing
Key-holder
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Volunteer (Former Employee), Leicester, ENGJanuary 25, 2014
everyday there was something new to turn my hand to, something that i hadnt done before and it was fun. i had a lot of support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Customer Service (Former Employee), Blyth, ENGNovember 18, 2013
My typical day at work was to make coffee's or tea's to the member of staff and to clean out at the back room, I hardly learned anything there apart from pricing products a stocking up on brick a brac. The management was fair, the co-workers were quite hard to work with as there was hardly any of them working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Shop assistant (Former Employee), DumfriesAugust 14, 2013
It was helpful to get back into the communty and help all the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing something good.
Volenteer (Former Employee), Blackpool, ENGJuly 29, 2013
Pros: self confidence
I volenteered at a charity shop called Shelter, the most typical day at work was either steaming and sorting out donated clothes, or being on the shop floor making sure that the clothes were all sorted and the customers were all happy. I learned alot about working in a shop based job. All my co-workers were very pleasant and helped me out if I ever – more... didn't know what I was doing. The hardest part of the job was probably trying not to injure myself on the steamer. The most enjoyable part of the job was feeling like I've done something good, not many people often volenteer to work in a charity shop at a young age. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Volunteer Sales Assistant (Former Employee), London, ENGJuly 5, 2013
There was a lot of freedom when working there, but did not lead me to stray from my work. Managers were extremely friendly and did not make us feel as if they were in any way superior.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of shelter
Assistant manager (Current Employee), Manchester, ENGJune 20, 2013
Pros: a great team to work with
Cons: end of week paperwork and figures.
A typical day in work in Shelter doesnt exsist as everyday is different. You get to work with lots of different people and also get to meet people from all walks of life in the shop. The team at shelter are great fun and are made up of my manager, with whom i have a great reletionship and a team of hard working volunteers of whose time and dedication – more... i am very grateful. I have learned to stay calm even when faced with a moutain of paperwork and donations. the hardest part of my job is managing my time as you never know how much or how little you will have to do each day. and also being reliant on volunteers is sometimes hard as they dont always show up. I am being made redundant from this post which is sad as i have really enjoyed working for shelter and will miss my team and my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Volunteer Advisor for Shelter within HMP Durham (Current Employee), Durham, ENGJune 16, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, decent lunch break
Cons: travel (1hr30min) to workplace
As a volunteer i would review shelter to be an amazing company to work for. They are helpful and will try to help develop skills and are very understanding with personal issues.

A typical day at work flies by, although at times there is a lot to do, this is due to how demanding the job is while working inside of HMP Durham.

I have improved my time – more... management and organisation skills. My IT skills have improved a lot due to training provided by the company.

The staff and managment are extremely helpful and provide support where needed.

The most enjoyable part about this job is the satisfaction of helping others and seeing amazing life changing results through the simple task of even helping an offender reduce debts and help them get back to a normal life style. – less

About Shelter

Shelter For Life® (SFL) is a humanitarian, relief & development organization officially registered as a 501 (c)(3) not-for-profit – Read more

Shelter Photos