Find companies:
Shentel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Shentel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented Company
Administrative Assistant - Operations (Current Employee), Weston, WVAugust 3, 2014
I started out as a Temp for this company, and was given a full time position within 6 months. I could not ask for a better boss and work family. The company is very family orientated; has great benefits; training; and wellness program
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure how this cable company stays in business??
Customer service (Former Employee), Rustburg,VaJuly 22, 2014
Pros: decent schedule, commission
Cons: horrible systems, terrible company all around
This is pretty much a normal customer service job however the company itself is subpar in both it's products and it's services. Typical day consists of taking customer calls for billing questions,setting up new service and taking payments. The problem I have with Shentel starting off with training is that they don't teach you what you will really need – more... in doing your job efficiently and provide you with the tools needed to do the job properly. The systems are slow and outdated the whole process could be so much easier however when setting up new services it's a time consuming process on the ancient systems that require you to "BUMP" orders to a specific department and if something is done incorrectly expect a scathing E-mail the next day from a supervisor in a different department regardless if you are new to the job or not. Expect your hands to be tied not only by the systems but the installation process is also a joke because if the installer can't locate the address expect no updates and he will probably give up and you will lose commission and they also do not keep customers updated on timeframes if specific tasks need to be done prior to install "ie Bury cables etc". Also expect to be flooded with calls after 6pm when virtually everybody is gone due to the Robo calls to customers that are automated letting customers know the bills are past due and services may be disconnected. Not to mention the services they provide, Cable,Internet are horrible and everybody I have been in contact with hates them but because they are on the outskirts of the city and are not in a Comcast, Cox area they don't have any alternative options. Base pay is decent with commission but they don't offer raises and you have ZERO opportunity for advancement so my advice would be to skip Shentel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Weston, WVJuly 14, 2014
Shentel has alot of oppurtunities. It is a great place to work, has great benefits and awesome coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
service (Former Employee), eastJune 30, 2014
I was given 30 days of training in 3 days .
One manager from another department yelled constantly
once it was for moving a chair and once because I did not have a key to company gate that i had no control over.
( how could a company have a manager like this)
It was just a real circus here. When you are interviewed they explain they have benefits and – more... they sure do they just are not affordable. No way a single parent can afford insurance.
Only enjoyable part was trying to help customers. If you are out of work and are considering interviewing here dont . You are much better than this . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Assistant store manager 1 and 2 (Former Employee), York pa, Harrisburg paJune 15, 2014
Pros: good salary and commission
Cons: gossip
I enjoyed going to work everyday. The company pays well and the benefits are outstanding. The day to day job of a assistant manager was the best I've seen. The company is small enough where you feel appreciated and you have a lot of advancement opportunities. I would recommend anybody looking for a sales job to apply with shentel!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Management
Sales (Former Employee), PaJanuary 15, 2014
This place was one of the worst companies I've ever worked for. The benefits were awesome but that's it. Nothing but back stabbing and gossiping. It was all played on favorites as to who would get the promotion. False promises of job advancements. Unequal job oppurtunities. It's was ok for you as the assistant manager to do all the work and never get – more... credit for it. The store manager would get praised. Oh and even better it was ok for you to be an acting store manager over and over again but not good enough to hold the actual title. That company is a joke when it comes to hiring outside management. Good luck Shentel!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Employee appreciation
Support (Former Employee), Rustburg, VAOctober 31, 2013
Executive Management has no appreciation for the employees of the company. There is no integrity. They will talk out of both sides of their mouth. Focus is always about money! Not the employees and not the customers! When ideas and solutions are offered to help the company save money and increase profits, they are dismissed under the guise of "well, – more... we are going in a different direction."

I will applaud them on their Work/Life balance and the understanding they express in difficult situations. And a great advantage for full time employees and the cell phone discount you can receive. Other than that, I would highly recommend not working for this company. There are some very questionable (possibly ethical) things going on in terms of how they provide assistance to benefit plans. The culture is out dated and going backwards fast. They want to hire good people with experience and knowledge in the areas where they are weak, but they refuse to listen to that experience and make necessary strides to grow as a Management and as a company.

Best of luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Rustburg, VAMarch 20, 2013
My typical day at work would include being on the phone, taking customers payments, explaing any billing issues, and setting up service orders for customer it could be either new services or upgrading services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company overall, but hard to advance in a career.
IT Asset Specialist (Current Employee), Edinburg, VAJanuary 29, 2013
Co workers are extemely friendly. It is difficult to advance in your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee), Front Royal, VAJanuary 27, 2013
Great place once you get your foot in the door. Great people, enjoyable work enviroments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular 5 day week job
Summer Help (Former Employee), Edinburg, VAJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: hours, could choose lunch hour, understood what i was doing
Cons: could not extend my time here, travel
I just walked in and turned on the computer and went straight to work with the two databases. That was some days. Other days, I would come in and two other interns and I would go to different company sites so that we could audit them. I was doing a circuit audit on my own. The management was great. The only issue I had with them is that they wouldn't – more... allow me work for them longer. I attempted to get them to allow me to work for them longer than either of us expected me to so I could gain more experience and it didn't seem like they tried very hard. The hardest part of the job was going to the sites and collecting all the circuit ID's that I had to get. The ID's were long and there were a lot of them. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and I enjoyed the hours. That was the best part about it. It was an 8am-5pm job with an hour lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Sales (Former Employee), WinchesterOctober 31, 2012
Shentel is a negative and a gossipy place to work. There is a lot of horizontal violence and no promises to advance. They do not promote from within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is replaceable
Support (Former Employee), Edinburg, VANovember 17, 2011
My time here was filled with unfulfilled career promises and no chance for advancement.

About Shentel

Shenandoah Telecommunications Company is a diversified telecommunications holding company that, through its operating subsidiaries, – Read more