SHEPLERS Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 7, 2017
fun place to work when they had brick and mortar. it was one of my favorite places to work. unfortunately they are online only now. .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense but a fun place to be outside.
DECK HAND/DOCK LEAD (Current Employee) –  St. Ignace, MIApril 4, 2017
Typical day at work waking up the boat, taking the spring line down. Cleaning windows, drying seats. Taking peoples tickets to board the ferry.

Dock work, putting the flags up, taking luggage carts out to the dock. Pulling valet cars. Making announcements.

The hardest part on the job is being on the boat when its raining and blowing 40 mile per hour winds.
Pros
Pay check every Friday.
Cons
Had to work in the rain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a ok job
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJanuary 26, 2017
The manager had issues with being corrected. She had a bad attitude and when I left as a Dept Supervisor many employees quit just as I resigned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, enviting atmosophere
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 19, 2016
Strong ability to multi-task with different clients, stocking new merchandise, assisted customers with purchases. Maintained strong relationships with clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced, and Great Team work ethic.
Picker/ Packer (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 16, 2016
Great place to work! The items are awesome to look at while you work! They have a good team work ethic. If one section is not done with their job we they make sure you go and help the other team to make sure you get the job done on time to ensure the customers get their clothing on the day they expect them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not liked
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 2, 2016
Very unprofessional , if you were not liked by site leader no matter what you do you are not going anywhere I would never work there again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behind the times in technology, people management and benefits
Customer Care Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 24, 2015
Very expensive benefits, very poor time off - no work/family balance. Very low pay compared to industry in this area. No HR support to speak of. They are undergoing a merger - so perhaps the larger company will work things out. The physical setting is terrible for the call center - stuffed into a too small room that is always too hot because the AC doesn't work most of the time. Home-made cubicles with old carpet lining the inside - half the computers don't work - network set up is ridiculous - very few things are automated online - many things still require a printed blank form that is filled out and then manually delivered to the area that it needs to go to. Items are never delivered when they are supposed to be - everyday dozens of upset customers over missing, delayed or unaccounted for merchandise. When customers place an order - it does an "authorization" on their bank account which takes days and days to come off - then, when the merchandise is ready to ship - sometimes weeks or months later - the charge hits. These kinds of delays are not common in most on-line shopping anymore, so customers do not understand nor believe why their funds are held indefinitely sometimes.
Pros
Not required - or even encouraged to upsell?
Cons
Terrible benefits, and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a first time job
Sales, Floor, and Receiving Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AzMay 14, 2015
Great place to start out for customer service. Enjoyed the flow of customers and the energetic employees. This company is definitely a top company to work for. It always felt like a second home.
Pros
Environment
Cons
Management Changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sheplers
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 15, 2015
i liked all the workers they were nice and hard workers. the managers were nice and they would thank you for your hard work. they were so nice they got me clothes for work. in all i really liked working there. one of my most favorite things there was the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has a very positive inviroment to work in.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 14, 2014
Sheplers is a great place to work. It offers very positive influences. The managers I work with do a great job of training. They provide as much positive feed back to their employees as negative feedback. The only drawback to this company is the fact an employee isn't able to work enough hours to get health insurance unless you are management. The starting compensation is great for high school and college students, but as a main source of income an employee can't make enough to support a household.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work experience
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 25, 2013
good company to work, loyal to customers, work with employees personal needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Retail Sales Associate/Shipping & Receiving (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 16, 2013
I loved working for Sheplers, not only because of my fellow employees but because of the customers also. I met people from all over the world who love country music and western wear. It was one of my favorite places of employment.
Pros
The country music, and fellow emplyees.
Cons
The cold weather during the tent sales events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 11, 2013
was a ok place to work was a good place to work for was a good environment was fun there
Pros
discount on merchandise
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Information Technology Support (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 22, 2012
Work for the company for thirty years in th IT Department was a computer operator for 28years and then did technical support for end user the last 2 years.Co-workers were great .enjoyed the traveling i did to bench mark computer system and set ups at our las vegas stores.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
health care was a little expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SHEPLERS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9