Find companies:
Sheppard Pratt Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

Sheppard Pratt Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and friendly workplace
Quality Data Analyst (Former Employee), Towson, MDNovember 5, 2014
Pros: dynamic environment, multiple projects, building relations with medical staff
Cons: challenges with some physicians who were unwilling to learn the new system
My typical day at work involved reviewing all patient records in the Electronic Medical Record (EMR) 48 hours post discharge for physician deficiencies. I also monitored other systems that were linked to the EMR to monitor and resolve issues. I learned analytical and problem-solving skills. Moreover, I was also able to enhance my oral and written communication – more... skills by creating reports and giving presentations in meetings. I reported to the HIM Director on a weekly basis to give updates and reports on current issues and my action plan for resolving those issues. My co-workers were friendly and we worked as a team very well. I held team meetings when failures in a process occurred in an effort to discuss and fix the broken link. The hardest part of the job was to communicate with all medical staff in a timely basis to ensure deficiencies were being completed within the appropriate time-frame set by state, federal, and HIM regulations. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a variety of individuals and reviewing documents to improve the overall quality of healthcare and maintain compliance among physicians. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ETA- School
ETA (Former Employee), The Jefferson School in Jefferson MarylandSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: no breaks, no lunch break, constant verbal abuse, and threats
This company is horrible to work for. They provide accurate training for self defense but you constantly have to worry about your physical safety. No amount of money is worth getting hit on everyday or beat up!
The pay is not great considering all of the responsibilities they give to you. Great health insurance but I am convinced its because you will – more... have to use it frequently because of an injury from one of the kids. No way would I ever work here again! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace, Great Co-workers
Educational Assistant/Behavioral Support (Current Employee), Millersville, MDSeptember 5, 2014
I love everyone I work with but the job itself is so taxing it isn't worth what you make. Unless you're passionate about special needs, you'll burn out within 8 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
mental health worker (Current Employee), Ellicott City, MDAugust 28, 2014
Great experience, opportunity for promotions/advancements, close-knit with coworkers, could be more connected with towson in terms of incentives and activities offered to employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
mental health worker (Current Employee), Ellicott City, MDAugust 28, 2014
Great experience, opportunity for promotions/advancements, close-knit with coworkers, could be more connected with towson in terms of incentives and activities offered to employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sphs
Towson - Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Towson, MDAugust 5, 2014
Ive worked at SPHS for 10 years and loved it very much, i just need a better opportunity for growth and to explore everything that i learned over the years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Educational Assistant (Current Employee), BaltimoreMay 22, 2014
Productive and fun workplace and staff are great and friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Towson, MDMay 21, 2014
Pros: 30 minute lunch break, teamwork
Cons: holiday schedule, stressful
Great company, great people. In the short time that I have been with the company, I have been treated very well. Great team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was fulfilling and families were appreciative and receptive to learning
Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner-Family Focus (Former Employee), 6501 N Charles StreetMarch 28, 2014
Pros: i gained a great deal of knowledge and the work was rewarding
Cons: i was not fully supported in this new role for seph at that time.
A typical day was providing individual therapy,medication management and certain evenings throughout the year were allocated for group therapy. It was my first position as a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner and I was able to gain a wealth of knowledge with individuals who were diagnosed with neurodevelopment delays. It was a warm work environment. The – more... hardest part of my job was that I was the first Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner on the SEPH campus and some were not open to this new role. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with children and educating families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Discharge Coordinator (Former Employee), Towson, MDFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: professionalism
Cons: no room for advancement
Sheppard Pratt Hospital is a great company to work for. There is not much room for growth but the culture is professional and the vision and mission is clear and progressive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Oiled Machine
Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Ellicott City, MDJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: working within the smaller entity of a larger organization
Cons: limited opportunity for growth
A typical day involved completing individual and group sessions with clients after treatment team discussion. I learned that clients are often reflecting the dynamics experienced within their home/work environment. Management was busy with scheduling the training opportunity, Continuing Education in-servicing, and resolving processes involved with the – more... ongoing flow of intake and discharging clients for outpatient planning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Office Assistant (Current Employee), MarylandJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: low pay
A typical day here at Sheppard Pratt consist of answering the phones, assisting patinets and employees with basic needs. giving the staff office support.

I have learned to be alert of my environment because anything can happen in a split second here in a behavioral health hospital.

Management and co-worker are great, some have become good friends – more... almost like family.

this is a very easy job...al you have to do is show up and do the work.

I love the flexibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience with outstanding workers
Mental Health worker (Current Employee), Towson, MarylandDecember 18, 2013
Working at Sheppard Pratt Health System is a really great experience to help those in need of assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning experience.
Administrative Assistant/Coordinator (Current Employee), baltimore, marylandSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: working with the children
Cons: insurance
A typical day at work for me is answering the phones and administrative duties as assigned. The hardest part of my job is not being backed up or supported by management when applicable. I have learned and still learning that things will not go the way you plan or invision, however, a job needs to get done. People will do whatever it takes to save themselves. – more... You will have co-workers that genuinely have your best interest at heart and those that don't. For the most part, I enjoy working here. The kids are fantastic and although you have your good days and bad days, I always see the sun shining. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have went further on this job
Sanitation/Tray line/Store Room Worker (Former Employee), Baltimoe, MdAugust 8, 2013
Pros: advancement and team work
Cons: being terminated
I regret being terminated from this job, I could have advanced at Sheppard Pratt. I am order no, so I can't look back. I have to do better moving forward
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place bad manager
Social Worker, LCSWC (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 7, 2013
Pros: free parking, education
Cons: bad management
I work in one of the day hospitals. The patients are great but the management is horrible. Always threatening to discipline workers makes it a very threatening environment. Workers are not treated equally and the boss has her favorites. Actively looking elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, excellent trainings.
Residential Counselor II (Current Employee), Towson, MDAugust 6, 2013
Pros: great co workers/ supervisors.
Cons: long driving distance
I monitor residents, transport to and from activities/outings. I hold groups with them, transport to home visits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sheppard Pratt Health System
Educational Assistance (Current Employee), Aspen Hill, MDAugust 5, 2013
Pros: communication between the staff and faculty
Cons: injuries that may occur when handling destructive behaviors.
On a typical day of work, I would follow my assigned students around to their classes 1st - 6th. Provide assistance when students need academic help and follow the behavioral plan by going over their behavioral report cards. I have learned how to manage students who are difficult to teach, and how to interact with them during breaks or downtime. The – more... management is typically good. Supervisors may be in meetings and may be difficult to get in touch. The co-workers are very supportive especially in emergency situations. When a staff calls for backup on the walkies, there are always staff coming to their aid. The most difficult part of the job is managing students behaviors when they have difficulty handling changes.The most enjoyable part is when you can compare the students behaviors from the past to the present to see a positive change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Purchasing Coordinator (Current Employee), Towson, MDAugust 1, 2013
It is a great hospital for those individuals that need our help and the staff is great at what they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spent 23 years growing and developing in a wonderful and supportive environment.
Performance Improvement Coordinator (Former Employee), Towson CampusJuly 5, 2013
Everyday brought new challenges and everyone worked as a team to identify ways to constantly make improvements.

About Sheppard Pratt Health System

Sheppard Pratt Health System is a private, non-profit behavioral health organization that provides a full range of services in – Read more