Find companies:
Sheppard Pratt Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Sheppard Pratt Health System Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Health System Credentialing Coordinator (Former Employee), Towson, MDJune 25, 2015
Work environment was friendly, but systems are out of date and a lot of work must be done manualy until the systems are updated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay
Mental Health Worker (Current Employee), Towson, MDMay 18, 2015
have to work every other weekend. at times you are made to stay an extra 8 hour shift . Must be able to handle all types of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Educational Assistance (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 7, 2015
Pros: benefit
Cons: no lunch time
I like the company because they provide benefits for their employees and also pay for tuition reimbursement for those that still go to school,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Housekeeping Tech II (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 22, 2015
Pros: good pay, flexible hours and benefits
Cons: location in bad weather
My typical day at Sheppard Pratt would be daily round routines in assigned area. I learned a lot about the patients, safety rules for me and the patients. My co workers was amazing , free spirit and very helpful when needed. The hardest part about my job was getting the floors stripped and wax by me being so petite It was hard. What I enjoy the most at my job was the people, putting smiles on people face and making them feel good on a bad day is heart warming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Mental Health Worker (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 8, 2014
Pros: helping others
Cons: little to no breaks during a 16 hour work day
I have learned an incredible amount of information about proper and effective de-escalation techniques and truly love helping the patients on my unit; however, I feel as though the pay I receive is not equivalent to the amount of work I put in to be a successful and influential member of my unit. While I love helping others and truly enjoy my experiences with the patients on my unit, I do not think Sheppard Pratt is a well-run health system and does not allow one to work their way up the latter unless they possess a nursing degree. Please ask me for more information regarding my review of my current workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and friendly workplace
Quality Data Analyst (Former Employee), Towson, MDNovember 5, 2014
Pros: dynamic environment, multiple projects, building relations with medical staff
Cons: challenges with some physicians who were unwilling to learn the new system
My typical day at work involved reviewing all patient records in the Electronic Medical Record (EMR) 48 hours post discharge for physician deficiencies. I also monitored other systems that were linked to the EMR to monitor and resolve issues. I learned analytical and problem-solving skills. Moreover, I was also able to enhance my oral and written communication skills by creating reports and giving presentations in meetings. I reported to the HIM Director on a weekly basis to give updates and reports on current issues and my action plan for resolving those issues. My co-workers were friendly and we worked as a team very well. I held team meetings when failures in a process occurred in an effort to discuss and fix the broken link. The hardest part of the job was to communicate with all medical staff in a timely basis to ensure deficiencies were being completed within the appropriate time-frame set by state, federal, and HIM regulations. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a variety of individuals and reviewing documents to improve the overall quality of healthcare and maintain compliance among physicians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace, Great Co-workers
Educational Assistant/Behavioral Support (Current Employee), Millersville, MDSeptember 5, 2014
I love everyone I work with but the job itself is so taxing it isn't worth what you make. Unless you're passionate about special needs, you'll burn out within 8 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
mental health worker (Current Employee), Ellicott City, MDAugust 28, 2014
Great experience, opportunity for promotions/advancements, close-knit with coworkers, could be more connected with towson in terms of incentives and activities offered to employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
mental health worker (Current Employee), Ellicott City, MDAugust 28, 2014
Great experience, opportunity for promotions/advancements, close-knit with coworkers, could be more connected with towson in terms of incentives and activities offered to employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sphs
Towson - Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Towson, MDAugust 5, 2014
Ive worked at SPHS for 10 years and loved it very much, i just need a better opportunity for growth and to explore everything that i learned over the years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Educational Assistant (Current Employee), BaltimoreMay 22, 2014
Productive and fun workplace and staff are great and friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Towson, MDMay 21, 2014
Pros: 30 minute lunch break, teamwork
Cons: holiday schedule, stressful
Great company, great people. In the short time that I have been with the company, I have been treated very well. Great team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was fulfilling and families were appreciative and receptive to learning
Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner-Family Focus (Former Employee), 6501 N Charles StreetMarch 28, 2014
Pros: i gained a great deal of knowledge and the work was rewarding
Cons: i was not fully supported in this new role for seph at that time.
A typical day was providing individual therapy,medication management and certain evenings throughout the year were allocated for group therapy. It was my first position as a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner and I was able to gain a wealth of knowledge with individuals who were diagnosed with neurodevelopment delays. It was a warm work environment. The hardest part of my job was that I was the first Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner on the SEPH campus and some were not open to this new role. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with children and educating families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Discharge Coordinator (Former Employee), Towson, MDFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: professionalism
Cons: no room for advancement
Sheppard Pratt Hospital is a great company to work for. There is not much room for growth but the culture is professional and the vision and mission is clear and progressive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Oiled Machine
Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Ellicott City, MDJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: working within the smaller entity of a larger organization
Cons: limited opportunity for growth
A typical day involved completing individual and group sessions with clients after treatment team discussion. I learned that clients are often reflecting the dynamics experienced within their home/work environment. Management was busy with scheduling the training opportunity, Continuing Education in-servicing, and resolving processes involved with the ongoing flow of intake and discharging clients for outpatient planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Office Assistant (Current Employee), MarylandJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: low pay
A typical day here at Sheppard Pratt consist of answering the phones, assisting patinets and employees with basic needs. giving the staff office support.

I have learned to be alert of my environment because anything can happen in a split second here in a behavioral health hospital.

Management and co-worker are great, some have become good friends almost like family.

this is a very easy job...al you have to do is show up and do the work.

I love the flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience with outstanding workers
Mental Health worker (Current Employee), Towson, MarylandDecember 18, 2013
Working at Sheppard Pratt Health System is a really great experience to help those in need of assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning experience.
Administrative Assistant/Coordinator (Current Employee), baltimore, marylandSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: working with the children
Cons: insurance
A typical day at work for me is answering the phones and administrative duties as assigned. The hardest part of my job is not being backed up or supported by management when applicable. I have learned and still learning that things will not go the way you plan or invision, however, a job needs to get done. People will do whatever it takes to save themselves. You will have co-workers that genuinely have your best interest at heart and those that don't. For the most part, I enjoy working here. The kids are fantastic and although you have your good days and bad days, I always see the sun shining.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have went further on this job
Sanitation/Tray line/Store Room Worker (Former Employee), Baltimoe, MdAugust 8, 2013
Pros: advancement and team work
Cons: being terminated
I regret being terminated from this job, I could have advanced at Sheppard Pratt. I am order no, so I can't look back. I have to do better moving forward
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place bad manager
Social Worker, LCSWC (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 7, 2013
Pros: free parking, education
Cons: bad management
I work in one of the day hospitals. The patients are great but the management is horrible. Always threatening to discipline workers makes it a very threatening environment. Workers are not treated equally and the boss has her favorites. Actively looking elsewhere.

About Sheppard Pratt Health System

Sheppard Pratt Health System is a private, non-profit behavioral health organization that provides a full range of services in – Read more

Sheppard Pratt Health System Salaries

Postdoctoral Fellow
$40,000 per year
Post-doctoral Fellow
$44,000 per year
Substitute Teacher
$150 per day