Sheraton Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Food and Beverage Director (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLAugust 11, 2017
Show up around 0800 to ensure that breakfast and AM events are running smoothly. Check on the progress of any lunch events for the day. Management meeting 1000. Return to my office to run the numbers from dinner the previous night. 1100 make sure the restaurant and bar are ready for the changeover to lunch. Perform a par stock inventory of the F&B. Order, through national vendors such as US Foods, any F&B that may be needed for the next two days out for both the restaurant and banquet facility. Over the course of the afternoon meet with the sales team concerning any upcoming events that would need menu creation or pricing as to continuously minimize our F&B costs. Around 1700 ensure that the kitchen and restaurant team is ready for both dinner service in the restaurant and banquet service downstairs. On a typical evening remain onsite until the dinner rush is expedited and the banquet services are complete. Between 1800 and 2000 return home.
Pros
Direct supervisor was excellent and supportive
Cons
Very limited personal life allowed due to the sometimes 60+ hour workweeks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need better management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, MAAugust 10, 2017
needs better management , servers in the morning were rude , food could be better prepared and need to learn to work as a team instead of trying to look out for only themselves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good over all, very early morning or late night job
Restaraunt Waiter (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, ArizonaAugust 10, 2017
If I was a morning shift I would arrive to the restaurant at 5:30 or earlier to begin setting up the buffet, after I would set up tables and pull liquor from the back, count the bank to ensure we had enough cash for change through the day. I Learned mostly about customer service since most of my pay was in tips, but overall it taught that the customer is always right. Management was a bit stern, sometimes ignorant., while the General Manager was typically in his office he would occasionally check on the restaurant, while the restaurant manager would make big scenes in front of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Houseperson (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCAugust 10, 2017
My years of working at the was very fast paced, stressful, and competitive. Dealing with guest, coworkers, and management was also the stressful part.
Pros
Benefits and discounts
Cons
Management change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Executive Meeting Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 10, 2017
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina is a great place to work for. It provides the perfect experience for growth in the Hotel Industry in all desired departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work
Sales Reporting Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJAugust 9, 2017
Only because of relocation would I EVER EVER leave this property. Best co-workers and Managers. Employee outings, parties, holiday gifts. They really showed appreciation for the employees at this Hotel.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical hotel environment
Hospitality Hostess/Operator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 8, 2017
Typical hospitality environment. Always about guest of course so get ready to be self-less. Most people are pretty laid back and nice. Need to have plenty people skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's ok but not for me
Supervisor: Dining Quarters (Former Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 8, 2017
Sheraton hotel was a great place to make extra cash while in college. Upper management was great and they understood everybody's point of view. the pay was ok.
Pros
great staff
Cons
dirth work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 7, 2017
work place is ok you can build your career there and different departments in the hotel.Good training skills at the hotel.i like working there you can grow
Pros
free lunch
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hotel business
Customer Service / Accounting (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 7, 2017
Worked in Washington. DC
Accounting and cashiering
it was great working at 16th and K street,NW
the clients were great
the employes were very nice
Pros
great management
Cons
traffic in Washington, Dc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So Disappointed
Front Desk/PBX Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 7, 2017
This hotel would be great if the management would treat their employees with respect. Overall the company has good company training but the job training was lacking. Very unprofessional at times and they need a new procedure for treatment of bed bugs in that hotel!
Pros
free lunch
Cons
bed bugs, no management support, poor morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAAugust 7, 2017
I did enjoy the atmosphere of working with farm fresh ingredients and creating new menu items weekly. The flavor of the ingredients I would pull from the soul each day was amazing.
Pros
Great ingredients
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Greet and welcome guests in person and on phone (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 6, 2017
A lot of daily customer service has to be provided, the hotel becomes very fast paced during the summer. Great if you want to practice your day to day communication with multiple people all of different personalities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
property was sold, big turnover in management
Shuttle Driver (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNAugust 4, 2017
Fun work, and nice coworkers. Property was sold and big turnover in management. New management seemed to focus on intimidation, but they have since turned over management again. I'm not sure how it is there now.
Pros
free meals
Cons
constant turnover in staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 3, 2017
This was a wonderful place to work. I enjoyed making a difference everyday and enhancing the culture of the entire workplace. I would recommend this opportunity to others.
Pros
Free Lunches.
Cons
Short Breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Coraopolis, PAAugust 3, 2017
Don't waste your time working here. Management doesn't even take it seriously and won't listen when you go to them with your concerns. Very poor benefits as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none of that
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 2, 2017
i would work at a hotel it was nice..i meet a lot of nice people and staff like a family i did many postions lobby ,houseperson met singers and tv and movie stars
Pros
free lunch
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Busser/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Cuyahoga Falls, OHAugust 2, 2017
The restaurant portion of the Sheraton was a very fast places but friendly environment. Nice job if you have customer service/ hospitality experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starwood is an excellent industry leader
Catering/Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIAugust 2, 2017
I loved the environment and enjoyed my co workers
Starwood Hotels is an industry leader and very customer service focused.
The management challenged me to work harder and smarter.
The hardest part of the job was having to leave!
The most enjoyable part was the knowledge I received from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new owners lots of changes
Senior Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Eatontown, NJAugust 2, 2017
Hotel undergoing extensive renovations which upset the guests.

Good work atmosphere because of the staff. Lots of hardworking and loyal people working there.
Pros
free lunch, good staff, fun people
Cons
poor benefits, limited advancement options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sheraton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,499 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

80%
821 ratings
Add your rating