Shermco Industries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJanuary 2, 2018
Fast pace work place full of opportunities and growth. Easy to move up. But just as easy to lose your job. Good place to learn mechanic skills. Plenty of benefits for full time employees
Pros
Free soda machine in break room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Executive Liaison (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 11, 2017
Play hard, Work hard family oriented culture

Opportunities to branch out and work on various projects outside of your job scope

Activities planned outside of work

Company lunches
Pros
Flexible and a lot of opportunties to grow
Cons
Clicky high school feel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management was great
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 27, 2017
Area management was very poor. No training and lots of promises that never happen. Upper management was great and supportive when you reached them. Maybe they should look into why there have been some many sales people underneath this areas manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lead Protection and Control Technician (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 19, 2017
good people lots of travel long hours you get as much out as you put in tremendous place to learn if you want to advance and become technically proficient.
Pros
pay
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the people and environment
Corporate Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 19, 2017
I liked my manager and what I did. The workplace was relaxed and we all had fun but worked hard too. I liked what I learned and I hope that I can take those skills to another job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 10, 2017
Good work environment

Management was strict but fair and very supportive

Travel was often required

18-20 hour work days in the field were not uncommon
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Exciting Company
Project Manager /P&C Tech/NETA Tech (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAAugust 20, 2017
Shermco is a company that excels at many offerings in the Electrical Testing, Maintenance and Engineering Industry. Great one stop company for customers. Great place for employees to see, learn, an grow their skill sets in many areas.
Pros
Experience gained and compensation plan
Cons
High Travel and Workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work good people
Apparatus tester (Former Employee) –  Columbus OhioMay 15, 2017
I enjoyed working here, good work, good learning, and good people. Very safe work envirment, everything was very good. Shermco you was very useful. Everyone did their job well.
Pros
Safe
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, fun family atmosphere!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKApril 25, 2017
Shermco is a great place to work! It was time for myself to move on and give another Admin Assistant the please of working for Shermco. I enjoyed my time there and enjoyed my co-workers and managers!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
MRS Tech (Current Employee) –  IowaApril 9, 2017
A average day will be full of work that will keep you busy.
Each day is new and you are trained all the time.
Management keeps you informed of all that is going on.
Workplace culture is upbeat.
The hardest part is to have enough time in the day to finish every thing.
That you stay busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 29, 2016
Shermco employees were a great family of people. They were honest and reliable concerning their promises. They demanded you to be efficient. They liked you to be on time.
Never pressured me to do something I didn't want to or feel comfortable to do.Yet gave me great opportunities to excel.
Pros
Free water
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Manual Machinist (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 20, 2016
good place to work if you like working a lot of overtime. Normally work a minimum of 50 hours a week depending on the department you working in
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you don't like travel then don't apply
electrical test technician (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 6, 2015
Great place to work for a single non married person. If you have a family and kids you might want to re think working here. Other than the travel Shermco is a awesome place to work.
Pros
great pay, good benefits, friendly co workers
Cons
excessive travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 22, 2015
It was an ok place to work at for good money. A lot of work and awesome people. You get to travel around and that's fun i guess.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Safe, and Good pay.
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 17, 2015
I found this to be a good place to work, with smart and fun individuals. However the management needs to be improved.

Overall it was a good place to start my career.
Pros
good pay, good fun
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company attitude.
Electrical Project Manager/Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 1, 2015
Company is growing leaps and bounds. Is too small to perform big jobs and too big to rely on just the small specialty jobs they have relied on in the past with repeat customers.
Pros
Open shop, opportunity to obtain NETA certifcations as they provide training and certifications
Cons
each employee is specialized in one area, limited redundancies
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Man's world
Customer Service Specialist/Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 11, 2014
A man's environment. Lots of cussing, spitting into trash cans, and men are favored. Benefits are not the worst, not the best, and pay is pretty low.
Pros
Casual environment
Cons
Man's world. Good ole boys club.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good pay, good environment
Electrical CAD Drafter/Designer (Current Employee) –  Marion, IAJuly 11, 2014
Shermco is a good place to start as one thing and become something more. The opportunities for training and education are endless.
Pros
Lots of over time
Cons
Lots of over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay when you are employed.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 11, 2013
The founder of the company has retired and sold his company to investors. The founder was good at heart and took care of the employees. The founder had created a family culture in the company. Job planning and work independence was enjoyable.
Pros
Job planning and work independence was enjoyable
Cons
Too much kinship in the higher management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company started ok, but is going through a rough patch
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Marion, IASeptember 12, 2013
Corporate trying to exercise a little too much financial control at the moment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shermco Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5