Find companies:
Sherwin-Williams
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
628 reviews

Sherwin-Williams Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful and great company that has a laid back atmosphere
Human Resource Generalist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 20, 2014
Pros: a boss that teaches me everything she can think to teach me
Cons: it's only a temporary position
Reviewing resumes, writing and posting job openings and handling any Human Resources related issues or tasks
How to deal with people in a caring and sympathic way but adhering to the rules and regulations procedures
My boss was the best teaching boss I have ever had. She made sure I was learning the entire Human Resource spectrum.
A great group of people – more... doing their part to keep a great company running successfully.
Knowing that is was only a temporary job.
Interviewing and sending out offer letters to new employee's – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you get out what you put in
ASSISTIAN MANAGER (Current Employee), marshalltown, iaDecember 18, 2014
Pros: pay benefits advancment
Cons: hours, customers, complaints
If you are willing to do all the things required of you and excel at the minimal amount of time you are given Sherwin can be a great opportunity for you. they offer great pay and great benefits. if you are willing to relocate you can advance quickly as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee), Alexandria, Fairfax, Springfield, VADecember 16, 2014
Management is helpful. Coworkers were mostly good. Benefits and company ethics are good.

Good company and jobs if you don't mind constant lifting at retail stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Williams, IADecember 12, 2014
Pros: people, learning about new products
Cons: painters/customers can be a little rough on the edges.
Great place to work, starting off the first couple weeks is difficult because of the product(s) learning curve. Overall, great place to learn about paint products and it was a fun place to have an internship and work during college
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with nice co-workers and a great balance for life outside of work
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 11, 2014
Cons: lack of training
I work from 9am to 3pm from Monday to Friday. I sign into my device and go from store to store delivering and receiving paint and other products. Management is great except for the fact that they don't properly teach you everything. I have to use my best judgment and ask other co-workers who are more than willing to help out. The hardest part of my – more... job is being on schedule for every delivery in a set amount of time or dealing with the weather, whether it is hot, cold or rainy. The most enjoyable part of my job is being alone without direct supervision hovering above you. I feel more freedom when given the trust to do my job on my own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Sr. Process Chemist (Former Employee), Richmond, KYDecember 11, 2014
Working for Sherwin Williams was a great opportunity to learn and demonstrate many of the skills I have learned and acquired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Professional Apprentice-Global Support Services (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 10, 2014
My daily tasks include:

• Provide hardware and software troubleshooting
• Implement software delivery
• Creating cases and updating them through the help desk que’s
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIDecember 10, 2014
Take orders over the phone or email, pull the order and box it up for delivery. Check over all store reports and make sure the showroom is clean and neat. Great benefits and even better people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you don't know, you will find the answer quick
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), GeorgiaDecember 8, 2014
Pros: bonuses, job advancement
Cons: can be really physical, may lose interest over time if not really involved in paint yourself, advancement may take longer (depending on location)
Typical day of dealing with paint is very interesting. Before working for the company I had no clue how to paint, what paint consisted of, and what type of paint to even recommend for customer projects.

You are learning on a daily basis, whether you working in the store, working as a sales rep, or delivery driver, there is something new everyday.

There – more... are times when the job can be a little physical (lifting buckets of paint, weighing from 20 to 60lbs), but overtime you will be accustomed to lifting and moving a lot.

The best part about working for the company is meeting someone new everyday. You have customers who are looking for a solution to a problem, and you are more likely their best or one of the options for finding an answer. Overtime, as customers begin to come to your store multiple times you are able to build a relationship that will lead to making new friends, and gaining more business. Thus, giving you and the company a good name! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
General Production (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 4, 2014
The company was good but I'm looking for job security right now. The co-workers are very helpful well at least some of them. The hardest thing about the job was not been able to move around to learn a job before been moved again. The hardest part was getting laid off and having to say goodbye to some great people. The managers are very RACIST and they – more... don't even try to hide it. I didn't learn ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profile: Commercial-Industrial Professional Coatings Career
Customer Service (Former Employee), Portland, ORDecember 4, 2014
The Comercial-Industrial Professional Coatings Divisions of the company the is growth area of the company and better area to develop a career for oneself, which equates to a higher income,

December 16, 2014

The Commercial-Industrial Professional Coatings Divisions of the company this is the growth area of the company and a better area to develop a career for oneself, which equates to a higher income,

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Quality Control Analyst (Current Employee), Richmond, KYNovember 29, 2014
Pros: three 15 min breaks and one 30 min break, overtime, 4 days on 4 days off.
Cons: only con in my situation was i was a contract for 6 months, with no chance for hire.
Good working conditions, paid holidays (two days for Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years), good work culture, good pay. Managers take your opinion into account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 28, 2014
Pros: 40% off paint
Cons: guys in suits can be rude
Great work environment, down to earth nice people, blue collar hard working employees. Great employee discounts, good communication between management. Overall a great place to work for a lifetime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Store Manager (Current Employee), KSNovember 18, 2014
Great company to work for and quick advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Co-
Office Manager (Former Employee), Commerce, CANovember 16, 2014
Pros: fun workplace
Cons: no room for advancement
Receptionist
Order Entry
Learned Order Entry and Receptionist
Learned about different kinds of paint
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place, where there is never a dull moment
Decorative Specialist (part-time) (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 12, 2014
At Sherwin we service contractors and loyal customers. Starting from the 7AM to 7PM there is never a dull moment. There is always something to do. Having a good atmosphere and helpful coworkers helps during those times of complete chaos. The hardest part of the job is having to fill large orders of 1,000+ gallons of paint, as this can be very taxing – more... on ones body. The most enjoyable part about the job is being able to have fun while working with some of the most comical co-workers in the world! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job service it purpose for that time.
Order Filler OEM Distribution (Former Employee), 1025 Howard St Greensboro, NCNovember 12, 2014
Pros: great reward incentives
Cons: the feeling safe; so many chemicals at bay
Stead work daily all day, not a hard job but you work in high gear.
I relearned how to use equipment like updated shipping systems and to stand on my feet 8 to 10 hrs a day.
Management was good.
Some co-worker were a piece of work but most of them were just find.
Filling orders for some companies are more challenging.
They feed you good for every good – more... review. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment to start a project
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Greenbrook,njNovember 11, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: working with a company that can have pollutant characteristics
Sherwin is a great company to work with. I grew up on a farm so the amount of physical work (compared to most) was perfect! I enjoyed the personalities that did business with Sherwin-Williams (they remind me of other farmers, neighbors growing up).

Sherwin was managed well. I feel that the district manager took the time to look into his stores and – more... understand what needed to change/stay the same. Sherwin looked after you and your family; they would ask questions to know what was going on.

The hardest part of the job was not being able to control the weather! But we all know that is not met for us to control.

The most enjoyable was the atmosphere. Learning the products and explaining them to the DIY group and knowing how/when/what commercial products to use. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great working with customers
Supervisor (Former Employee), Copperas Cove, TXNovember 10, 2014
This was a good job just not enough pay to take care of a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Diego, CANovember 9, 2014
Pros: great benefits, competitive pay, collaborative environment
Cons: some management
Great company to work for with few overall issues. The company has a great history of working with employees to ensure all needs are met for job completion and rewards those who work hard with advancement opportunities.

A typical day in the store will see you lifting and tinting orders to customer specifications. Sometimes these are heavy buckets, – more... sometimes it is lifting a few gallons at a time. Co-workers will differentiate based on location, but most will help you if you need it and typically all of them will answer any questions you have.

Management is an area of improvement in my experience. Lots of managers are seasoned veterans who help all employees with their daily deliverables. However, their is a select few managers and assistant managers who like to control every aspect of a store even if it negatively impacts the customer experience. Fortunately, in my five years with Sherwin, I've encountered this very little, but when encountered it is a problem. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Sherwin-Williams

No matter how you coat it, Sherwin-Williams is one of the largest paint manufacturers in the US and worldwide (along with Akzo-Nobel, – Read more

Sherwin-Williams Photos