Sherwin-Williams Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,064 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production work heavy lifting with high expectations
Warehouse Technician/ Office Associate (Former Employee) –  Waco, TxAugust 29, 2016
My co-workers in the warehouse for the most part were pretty good people, but there were those that would cheat the system just to get there production numbers. Operations manager does nothing to prevent this from happening because all they are concerned about is getting production numbers from their shift to make themselves look good to their manager. Constant heavy lifting of 50 to a 100 pounds. Got a chance to work in office and my co-workers there were very snooty, unhelpful, and if you aren't in their click you get black balled. Basically you better kiss butt very well or you wont fit in! Wouldn't recommend anyone to work for this company unless you need the money and benefits.
Pros
Good salary, & benefits
Cons
Heavy lifting and high expectations of production
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  AlabamaAugust 26, 2016
The positive is that you do get to meet interesting people and you'll have some customers who are your favorites. The better relationships you build the more understanding they'll be when you're short staffed. Unfortunately, you'll be short staffed frequently. Short-staffing and long hours can make anyone miserable. Hardest part of the job depending on the location is the sheer volume of customers. One location I worked was slow and another was nonstop chaotic. It was difficult to get paperwork done as well as cleaning and restocking because if a customer wasn't in store then the phone was ringing. It made it difficult to learn at times as well as take the time necessary to find information for customers. Especially in summer, it was nearly impossible to get a lunch break (even when scheduled) never mind go to the bathroom. Different company cultures in different locations pose a problem because some places expect you to work past your hours for free and ignore ethical dilemmas and HR issues. Some regions are very by the books and some aren't.
Pros
401k matching, bonuses
Cons
Long hours, limited breaks, short-staffed, feel like a glorified sales associate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail customer service
Sales/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILAugust 24, 2016
Daily responsibilities included: assisting customers with picking paint and paint colors. Stocking shelves. You learn a lot about paint coatings. You learn about coverage and figuring square footage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for working in a small team and many opportunies to advance
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 24, 2016
The mornings begin with rush hour until about 10 am until the contractors have the products they need to accomplish the project of the day. There is another rush hour in the middle of the day after lunch.
I learned to work in a team and improved listening and communication skills since your a constantly receiving and writing down orders and important project details.
The management varies depending on the store but it is usually not strict.
The coworkers a generally easy going young adults.
The hardest part of the job is handling upset contractors.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the team environment that offers a lot of support.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Regional Healthcare Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 20, 2016
Hard work pays off. great learning experience in management and customer relations. Problem solving. Account management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am pruductive worker.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 18, 2016
I want to work, i am responsable worker
and i would help evry company , like they going te help me to, i apriciate if you see this find me a work tkank you.
Pros
Etc
Cons
Etc
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sales Representative Multi segment (Current Employee) –  Grove City, PAAugust 18, 2016
Good solid foundation with the company I have learned several aspects of the job related field especially dealing with internal and external people. I conduct daily calls to existing an potential new customers. I have a rural territory so drive time can be longer. The hardest part of the job is managing time for sales and my involvement in other assigned duties or other time consuming items that distract me from my focus. I like to win and for the most part the team members have been fair and good to deal with
Pros
Solid business
Cons
Stress, and ballance with work life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Accounts Receivable /New Accounts Representative (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 18, 2016
Cool place to work
Co-workers are good
Freebies
Coffee
Flexible hours
Good benefits
Salary fine
limited advancement
Learned a lot
Fun work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good upbeat work eviroment: half warehouse half sales floor.
Inside Sales Associate & Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Clute, TXAugust 17, 2016
Delivering hundreds of gallons of paint and supplies to job sights was a normal occurrence. It was good experience delivering large company orders to out of town locations, and operating a heavy machinery such as a forklift in very tight spaces. Toughest challenge was single handedly organizing a very cluttered warehouse, but results proved very helpful and productive for the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too stressfull
Industrial Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Richmond, KYAugust 15, 2016
no training inexperienced operate -stressful corporate culture very dangerous enviorment --poor equipment--parts usually unavailable and have to be fabircated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor organization
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 14, 2016
Poor organization, very hot work environment, employees not treated equally, nothing given as promised when adquiring job, dont have the correct tools or parts available to do the job right, and machine operators make as much or more than the mechanics, which mechanics should make more. Also no formal training or orientation when starting job. No teamwork whats o ever, leads are rude ,need to learn how to treat people with respect and value the hard work done.
Pros
Decent money due overtime
Cons
Healthcare really affordable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Hard Work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cromwell, CTAugust 10, 2016
The things you learn in a business sense with SW are excellent. But the work/life balance is non-existent. You work entirety too hard for what you paid. Under appreciation from upper management is discouraging.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Morristown, TNAugust 8, 2016
My day usually started off getting some items rounded up for delivery. After i had gotten back from 4 to 5 deliveries I was back in the store helping customers and answering questions. Once or twice a week the freight would come in and my coworkers and I would spend the day helping customers and in our down time stocking the shelves. There were only about 5 of us working there when i was which i loved. You really get to know your co-workers and your not just a worker. You really feel like part of a team.
Pros
Easy work, great benefits, small work environment
Cons
I was part time and tried to get a full time spot but never an opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organizatoon Overall
External Auditor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 7, 2016
Great company to work for depending upon the division you work in. Overall the organization offer great benefits and are big on giving back to the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inside Sales Represenative
Inside Sales Representative/Third Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAAugust 5, 2016
Responsible for store operations in the absence of the manager; provide exceptional customer service; driving sales; set up deliveries; train new employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, Sherwin-Williams
Lead Media Buyer (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 4, 2016
Excellent place to grow and further your career. This company is great company with excellent benefits. Friendly work environment and a highly respectable company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive enviroment
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Davie, FLAugust 3, 2016
i learned how to manage customer accounts. how to provide a better type of customer service that would maximize each sale. Having a great manager was great as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and Organized workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Antioch, ILAugust 3, 2016
Very Slow after 3pm everyday. Learned about all the different types of paints, stains, brushes, etc. Mixed paint colors for guests.
Pros
employee discount, 401k, stocks, healthcare/dental after 90 days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced, Energetic
RESIDENTIAL SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 2, 2016
Working in a high paced environment where you are encouraged to grow and develop. You develop critical analysis, negotiation, and sales skills with emphasis on multitasking and strategic planning. Creating work incentives to achieve goals and meet budgets.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 2, 2016
If you have the chance to work for Sherwin Williams don't pass it up. Really amazing company to work for and be apart of. Nothing in life is ever 100% great but Sherwin Williams try's to make the employees feel great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,132 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7