Sherwin-Williams Employee Reviews

Found 1,365 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun place to work.
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 23, 2017
I was busy from the time I came in until the minute I went home. I enjoy challenges and this kept me from getting bored. The hardest part of the job was not being able to finish one project when given another. This kept the job interesting and thought-provoking to say the least.
Pros
Great employee benefits
Cons
It was downtown and you had to pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience but not for everyone
Sales Associate & Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 22, 2017
Worked at SW for 3 years PT and loved it. Although it was not what I wanted to pursue, the company promotes from within and offered me a Full time position quickly. For the most part the job is relaxed and the staff is good. The customer service aspect is the hardest part, as the customers aren't always everyone cup of tea.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to intern with.
Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAApril 20, 2017
This company has a great internship program and you can definitely learn a lot by going with many employees at different positions within the company. Really gain an insight on how the business is ran through internships.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Velocity, Results Driven
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Grove City, OHApril 20, 2017
Fast paced, customer service driven company. High speed, with continuous improvements driving performance improvements. Safety culture with root cause investigations resulting in corrective actions.
Pros
Benefits, Promote from within culture, Opportunity for advancement
Cons
Fast paced, stressful, lean
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unstable environment
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 20, 2017
unstable environment to work in. poor management. stressful. cut-throat and too competitive. No social life or student life outside of work and often scrutinized.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatness stops at the benefits.
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Mankato, MNApril 19, 2017
Great products, benefits, and fellow coworkers are like family. That is where the positives end. All about checking items off on a scorecard. Need to continuously grow despite local economic circumstances.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moving up
salesman (Current Employee) –  Blytheville, ARApril 19, 2017
promotions to fulltime or assistant manager are nearly impossible if you don't have some kind of degree. other than that,its a very good company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Petersburg, VAApril 18, 2017
My typical day at work I start with walk in customer helping them with questions and product suggestion. Constantly stocking making sure product is filled. As the day progress more contractors come in with paint matches and buying more product to complete big jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job for the common worker
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winterville, NCApril 18, 2017
No room for advancement with out a degree. Experience counts for nothing even when you have over 20 years of it.Job does not pay as well as it should considering the money it cost for customers to buy product.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career
Inventory Accounting CO-OP (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 18, 2017
This is a good place to learn and start a career. Not much is expected of you and the work is easy. Don't look for a challenging position, they only promote from within. When the economy is good, it's a good place to work. But when times are tough, it is a terrible place to work for.
Pros
easy work
Cons
hard to advance your career there
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Painting was fun and relaxing
Painter/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 18, 2017
I like to paint for sherwin because you get to travel and see places as you paint building or anything they ask for. I also like the staff they are very helpfull and very fun people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistantly rated as top company to work for.
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNApril 17, 2017
Great Sales Culture.
Learn to be a sales pro!
Very Political Environment.
Boys Club Network.
Get to travel a lot.
Management is good to you if your sales are good.
Great Sales recognition awards.
Pros
Great Sales recognition awards.
Cons
Very Political Environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, a lot of work, but a lot of fun
Associate (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 17, 2017
While working a Sherwin Williams I interact with customers, mix and tint paint, provide paint consultation to help customers pick colors, take over the phone orders, contact contractors and customers about promotions and products, and other general work.
Pros
Didn't have to clock out to eat, I had my own work space, I always had busy work.
Cons
Sometimes only one employee at a time
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company with Strong Performance
Market Director (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 17, 2017
Great Company and a personally and financially rewarding company to work for. Management tends to rotate a little too frequently which can cause disruption. Fiscally responsible and well run organization in total.
Pros
Excellent benefits and stock options.
Cons
Certain divisions rotate management too frequently.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, never had the same eperience 2 days in a row.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lee's Summit, MOApril 17, 2017
I knew very little about paint before working for Sherwin-Williams. They have a very good training program and knowledgeable management. Their stocks and 401k is phenomenal. I still recommend that company to people.
Pros
Excellent environment, stocks & 401k, flexibilty on shifts.
Cons
Wasn't able to get full time employment there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on Manager, work can be hard.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Uvalde, TXApril 16, 2017
Depending on your city manager or District Manager, the job can be very frustrating and may be hard. Do not allow managers above you tell you what to do when they do not really know your market or store.
Pros
Paid Holidays
Cons
Micromanaging
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, just wasn't for me
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYApril 16, 2017
This compan paid well and had a great 401K, I just didn't want to be in retail management forever. Job could be very stressful and I wanted to put my focus on starting a family instead.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1st job out of college great experience
Head Market Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamden, CTApril 14, 2017
worked for sherwin williams for 7-8yrs moved my way up throuugh multiple positions ending a Store manager. Good company to work for I learned alot. Promote from within. and plenty of room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SW - it was a job
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 13, 2017
It was a job. I enjoyed it for the first few years, but it was not a field of interest for me - and did not aspire to continue my career there. It was a "boys club" back then. And I was a 19-22 year old women. I constantly had to prove myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult to go from temp to permanent
Aerotek Temp (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 13, 2017
Sherwin williams uses temps to fill positions and regardless how effective they are or experience they have they let the temp go. This I feel takes advantage of cheap labor and not having to pay benefits. frustrating
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sherwin-Williams. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,467 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8