Sherwood Food Distributors Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Forklift Operator/Order Filler (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 9, 2018
I did not take my job serious I learned that you have to come to work and be on time. it is a good job for advancement. i would like to have the opporunity work for them again if possible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Warehouse Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Opa-locka, FLJanuary 4, 2018
Most of my night consisted in taking order from supermarket and labeling the boxes and then going over to the cruise line side prepare the order for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at times but quick paced
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 5, 2017
its an excellent job its just quick paced and way too many hours. you get along with the staff and management well. you must be there on time because of the attendence policy and come to work everyday
Pros
good salary
Cons
too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool workplace
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 1, 2017
Unloaded, picked, staged and loaded products for shipping.
Personally trained new employees.
Rotated stock by code and receiving date.
Transported goods from racks, shelves and vehicles.
Worked at a rapid pace to meet tight deadlines.Removed pallets, freezer boxes and damaged products from returning trailers.
Used propane forklift to load trailer at warehouse.
Operated powered lift trucks, pallet jacks and forklifts safely, with a 0% incident rate.
Loaded flat bed by forklift and hand truck.
Pros
cook out
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Driver (Current Employee) –  Maple, OHOctober 2, 2017
We get are orders and go out and deliver them, we work Mon thur Sat and everybody is friendly and great co workers. I been there 6 years and leaving cause 'm relocating to another city and have to find something ...but the management is great and its with a union and so you have the benefits from that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MISeptember 24, 2017
Relaxed job were able to move at your own pace good workout going to work everyday heavy lifting required but was easy work, enjoyed the long hours and consistent work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Transportation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 16, 2017
We supply all cruise ships and must local markets
Always busy, employees doing their best.
It was a very good place to work. I had to retired I was stress out
after 48 yrs without missing a days work unless I was sick
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place if you don't care how people talk to you
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Maple Heights, OHAugust 17, 2017
Well first they taught me a lot gave me taugh skin even though it was hard labor it was worth the pay and the breaks where pretty good only thing I didn't like was the cold but I got over that quick.
Pros
Lunch breaks, and pay
Cons
Long work hours and cold working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 16, 2017
Always something new to learn to advance. Motivated or not the atmosphere will amplify you to achieve your greatest. Job security is for all and job friendliness.
Pros
Will show you the way
Cons
Yearly bonuses, raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were only 3 of us in the office and we had fun yet kept up with our work.
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 14, 2017
Working with the dock worker's preparing the runs an getting them in a timely manor kept us from having a lunch so we worked through lunch. It is a good place to work.
Pros
We had a lot of pot luck's birthday party's .
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Maintenance manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 9, 2017
long hours and too many days. the pay is good but its 6 days a week wit mandatory overtime . holidays are mandatory and it a bit cold but it in contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Opa-locka, FLAugust 8, 2017
Their's not much to say about Sherwood but only work there if you need quick and fast money other then that stay away. I would not recommend this job to anybody. Management and work environment is trouble.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment, cold
Order Selector/ Inventory (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 4, 2017
Picking orders with use of pallet jack. I learned how to ride an electrical pallet jack, inventory, and how to use the vocal system. Management was cool. The hardest part of the job was staying in the cold. The most enjoyable part was riding on the jack and the employees.
Pros
great insurance
Cons
cold, and the time you start and get off, and starting pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sherwood is a high energy and productive work place.
JANITORIAL SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Opa-locka, FLJune 24, 2017
My typical day at work begins at 5am. I begin using the floor scrubber machine to scrub the docks, and coolers in the warehouse. At 7am three employees under my supervision begin their shifts. One begin changing batteries for the pallet jack and Hi-Low machines. The second employee begins cleaning outside the warehouse and around the entrance by picking up the trash and wood debris left by truckers dropping off or receiving shipments. The third employee begin by cleaning inside the warehouse i.e., dumping trash containers, and cleaning the offices and restrooms. My supervisor position requires the supervision of cleaning over 1 million square footage of warehouse space.

I've learned there's room for growth and advancement working at Sherwood. The workplace culture is diverse. The hardest and enjoyable part of the job, maintaining the warehouse and getting paid for it.
Pros
Have pto's.
Cons
Recieve 8 points for tardiness or absence of work you're terminated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy fast job to learn
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Maple Heights, OHJune 17, 2017
Its a cold place to work, properly dress work everyday.
I've learned fast also first time on a palet jack. Learning how to stack products on a palet and wrap
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's nice people that work there
Selector/Picker (Former Employee) –  Evergreen 96free wayJune 11, 2017
They hire female workers just to make the company look good but once you can't meet​ a certain quarter they fire you because they say that you can't handle the work which I think is unfair you shouldn't quote nobody on how fast they work it's not like it was a salary job or anything we was getting paid weekly and​ management is horrible as well I wouldn't even want my worst enemy to work there all females back away danger zone on
working here
Pros
Lunch is only free when football and maybe basketball
Cons
I got injured on the job and they fired me while I was on medical
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 9, 2017
Have to know how to drive an cherrypicker in a fast pace way very organized and work has to be perfect m ostly order picking most likely to work night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
phyisical demanding
Order Selector/ Order Checker (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 2, 2017
the work here is very labor intensive and there's really no room for advancement. All though the pay and hours are great you just don't have a family life outside of work. The management is terrible and they don't know how to talk to the employees. And you have to really perform to really make a decent paycheck every week(production based job)
Pros
great pay
Cons
loss of family time
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decient job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 1, 2017
ok job. very low pay. I was treated fairly and enjoyed most of job. just no money to be made.paid hourly for local delivery and mileage for otr routes..
Pros
started early in day and usually ended early
Cons
not much money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily procedures at sherwood foods
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Opa-locka, FLMay 13, 2017
A typical day at sherwood starts off with varies suppliers coming to drop off items so guys can check and load trucks for the port or overseas. knowing this i guide over 60 guys step by step our task for today and how many trucks we have to load.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sherwood Food Distributors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 73 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9