Shionogi Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shionogi Inc.
ASSOCIATE SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  PASeptember 4, 2013
As a Pharmaceutical Sales Rep, I had a territory that included parts of 3 states, Pa, WV, and MD. My primary targets were pediatricians, but I also marketed to primary care, psychiatrist, and ENT offices.

This job taught me patience, a lot of waiting in doctor offices throughout my day.

I had a very good manager that even though he was hours away, was always available and would reach out weekly to ask out our week.

I was fortunate to have experienced co-workers that helped me out during my first couple of weeks in the field.

The most challenging part of my job was getting into see non prescribing doctors.

The most enjoyable part was when I was able to earn commitments from those same doctors.
Pros
company car, opportunity to get into the pharmaceutical sales field
Cons
being dowsized, drug formularies
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company pays well and you get your experience..... long term is a no-go
High level (Former Employee) –  NJMay 15, 2015
Management is a revolving door
Turnover is EXTREMELY high, you wont see more than a handful of people with more than 2-3 years there. Entire departments turnover every 2-3 years
Shionogi USA was around before, closed, and tried again....
Working with the Japanese was a good experience
Bonuses were good, but declining
Company sold off most of their drugs -= perhaps to keep things afloat
Only drug they have on the market is Osphena and it is doing extremely poory (Sales staff have been cut...... again)
Pros
Good experience, people are nice, benefits were good
Cons
2-3 years max, burnout is highly likely, bonuses are decreasing, high turnover, crestor cliff is starting to show (Shionogi depended on Crestor royalties heavily, but that is ending now - back ups for Crestor cliff have been unsuccessful to date
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, challenging,open work environment
Professional Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 20, 2013
Specialty pharmaceutical representative. Market and promote Naprelan (NSAID) for pain and Osphena to a call point of 150 healthcare providers in Middle Tennessee. Call points: Rheumatology, Orthopedics, Pain Management, Surgeons, PCP and Podiatry.Currently 125% of goal for Naprelan, #6 /140 ranking nationally. #1 region for Naprelan and Osphena
Was this review helpful?Yes1No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting and detailing physicians daily
Senior Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chicopee, MAJune 10, 2014
Educate and detail my products, so the physicians have a clear understanding and then are able to prescribe my product to their patients.
Pros
very social and meet interesting people every day
Cons
my current territory is western mass only and i live it ct
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling every day to different place
Pharmaceutical Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  MS Gulf Coast to Macon, MSMarch 26, 2014
Days spent calling on orthopedists, podiatrists, rheumatologists, ob/gyn 's, neurologists, internal medicine, family practice and nurse practioner's detailing them on benefits of product.

Great manager and team that were very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to be back doing what I do best ie sell pharmaceutical products
Senior Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  New jerseyMarch 4, 2012
Very exciting to work in the US pharma market and the opprotunity given to me to work in Shionogi.
Pros
spend quality time at work and with family
Cons
influence of insurance on pharmaceutical sales
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation is good, Employee turnover is pretty High
IT (Current Employee) –  Florham Park, NJAugust 13, 2014
As stated above Compensation is pretty decent with benefits, but the employee tunrover is very high. Management change over night, I have seen entire departments being let go. Departments dissolve easily. Unpredictable company future.
Pros
compensation and benefits
Cons
life balance and company future
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a creer - What can I say
Specialty District Manager (Current Employee) –  Provo, UtahOctober 31, 2014
I have worked here for 2.5 years and it has been an interesting ride. I have had good bonuses but I do get a micro-management culture.
Pros
my bonus
Cons
my company car
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
...
Collections Specialist (Current Employee) –  Florham Park, NJAugust 17, 2015
Shionogi Inc. is the U.S. subsidiary of Shionogi & Co., Ltd., a leading Japanese pharmaceutical company. We are in a unique position of having the financial backing and the research capabilities of a well-established leading Japanese pharmaceutical company, matched with the entrepreneurial spirit of a start-up company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and good work/life balance
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Florham Park, NJMarch 15, 2015
Shionogi Inc is the subsidiary of Shionogi & Co, which is a pharmaceutical company with headquarters in Japan. This company is dedicated to developing medicines that protect the health of patients worldwide. The work is challenging and this company has a great work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive new pharma company
GL Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Florham Park, NJJuly 10, 2012
New company with a lot of grreat talent. Still growing and serious about making a name for themselves in the industry.
Pros
very health concious with many perks for employees
Cons
still going through growing pains
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for the most part
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHAugust 11, 2014
Good company but limited opportunities available. Have learned alot during my time here, but realizie there may be additional opportunities outside of Shionogi that can help me grow professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as a sales consultant
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYApril 30, 2015
Selling pharmaceutical products to physicians.
Help HCPs know about current products available for patients.
This was the best part of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Florham Park, NJApril 20, 2014
friendly co-workers and a pleasure working with them. Upper management was really friendly as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shionogi Review
Specialty Pharmaceutical Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Florham Park, NJApril 11, 2014
Positive work environment. I will have lessons that will last a life time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture