Find companies:
Shoe Carnival Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
240 reviews

Shoe Carnival Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Suwanee, GADecember 17, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: short breaks
What makes my job more interesting and enjoyable is when we have our busy days and I am able to provide my help towards customers. I am most happy when customers see me as a very kind employee that gave great customer service. I always ensure they get the help they need and I always try to answer the questions to the best of my knowledge. I've learned – more... to always keep my patience with customers that are putting up a attitude. That was the hardest part of my job, and now I just always be sure to keep a smile on my face and let them know that they're always right and I continue to give the service they need professionally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Holland, MIDecember 7, 2014
Pros: flexibility, easy going
Cons: long days for managers
I very much enjoyed working here. It was more like a family than anything else. Everyone, including management, was close. There is plenty of room for advancement so long as you work hard and show that you are planning to stay around for a while. Some of the employees receive a department to "manage" and you can see they care about their area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, laid back, but still driven to make sales goals
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Altoona, PADecember 7, 2014
Pros: fun, friendly, good breaks, cross training
Cons: work weekends, angry customers
Great company to work for. Typical daily duties include: Meeting sales goals, Opening/closing of store, driving sales through customer service, motivating co-workers, and keeping store in presentable condition. My co-workers are a great group of people. Drama free workplace which makes it much easier to show up for work everyday and get things done. – more... The hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the people that come in to purchase our merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company
Floor Manager (Former Employee), Coralville, IANovember 21, 2014
Pros: staff, discount
Cons: shop lifters
A typical day at work involve opening/ closing the store. I would get th bank deposits ready and take them in. The manangement taught me a lot of great skills to use in the work place. They taught me on money handeling, how to ship out product. I really enjoyed the staff I got to work with, they were easy to get a long with. I would say the hardest – more... part of the job would be inventory. It would be very time consuming. Also theft was a difficutly we had at our store. We didnt have sensors to set off alarms if someone shop lifted. Once we got to figure out how often it was the management came up with a system on tagging our shoes. I learned a great deal of stuff to use later on in life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at the shoe store
Sales associate, KIDS lead (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 19, 2014
Typical day at the shoe store would be help open and check out customers. My boss was very understandable with my school schedule. Co-workers became good friends.
Hardest part of the day was counting the drawer for the registers. The most enjoyable part of the day would be dealing with people, the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Lacks Morals and Ethics
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCNovember 14, 2014
Pros: fast paced and ever changing environment
Cons: inconsistent practices and no morals or ethics
Multiple incidents within the company made me realize that I could no longer work there. There are many things that upper management over looks. White male dominated management and upper management. Inconsistent Human Resources practices. Unequal pay levels across minority groups, and males vs females. Allows very questionable actions by top grossing – more... managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Store Manager/Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Bartlett, TNNovember 10, 2014
The most favorite part of the job was operating the microphone. The 'Mic Person' was in charge of driving sales over the microphone creating a carnival like experience. It was a challenge between managers to see who had the weirdest or most interesting 'mic-voice.' I worked long hours but I enjoyed my co-workers and the atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with a basket ball goal and spin and win wheel
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 5, 2014
A typical day at work is straighten out aisle in the store and helping out customers. My co-workers are easy to get along with, and we joke to have a fun work environment. The hardest part of the day is when the store is busy, and I am trying to clean up the store, because the customers will leave items on the floor and not care about it. The most enjoyable – more... part of the day is when we close and it is me and my co-workers are alone in the store and we can just joke around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place for entry level employment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 5, 2014
I sold shoes clothes etc. as well as assisted customers with any and all shopping needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Associate (Former Employee), Arlington Heights, ILNovember 3, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: poor money
I liked the people I worked with. I was cashier plus help secutirty tags new shoe shipments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going work enviroment.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: hardworking co-workers, and organized management
A typical day at work is me setting my things down in the break room going out to the front and getting my headset so I can hear others page me if they need me while I am on the floor. I have learned how to communicate with many different customers under many different circumstances. My management and my co-workers are very clean, organized, conservative – more... and hard working. I really wouldn't say I have a hard part to my job with how hard me and my co-workers work and the most enjoyable part is interacting with different customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun enviornment
customer service, sales (Current Employee), Jefferson City, MOOctober 24, 2014
A typical work day consists of completing tasks in my department, tending to customers, cleaning and maintaining my department, and ringing at the cash register. I have learned a lot about customer service, time management, and some in and outs within the company. I enjoy working with majority of my co-workers. Being there five years, I am the oldest – more... associate there still and I train all the new employees and I can tell right away if they will be easy to work with. Overall it is a good experience. The hardest part of my job is balancing all the tasks I am asked to complete. I generally always get them done but sometimes it is overwhelming all the stuff that needs completed. The most enjoyable part of my job is being good at what I do. Customers can be hard to deal with at times but when I get a customer compliment it makes it all worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with customers,
Cashier Manager (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GAOctober 14, 2014
making sure that the atmosphere is fun and enjoyable. getting things accomplished while not be stressful. I learned different styles of management due to several types of talent they provide. Some co-worker are working for the first time after high school and friendly guidance is key. Not being able to get the customers what they need after exhausting – more... every effort. People always make my job my joy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A enthusiastic work environment
Cash lead (Current Employee), Frankfort, KYOctober 11, 2014
Pros: seniority, flexibility, customer attachment
Cons: associates not doing their jobs and no room to grow after a while
Responsible for all cashiers and training, accounts receivable and tax exempt forms when needed, cleaning/stocking the restrooms, set customers up with rewards cards, assisting customers with products and checking them out, safe counts/deposits, making change for the day and keeping the front end of the store nice and organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace for my first time job experience
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 7, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, great hours
I learned various skills and got a chance to train others in such a short period of time of being there. we stayed busy because we were the only sonic in the small town area and had plenty of customers. the managers and co workers were friendly and very helpful, the hardest part of the job was the beginning, just learning everything and trying to remember – more... everything. but overall I enjoyed every minute of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shoe Sorter (Former Employee), Evansville, INOctober 6, 2014
Sorting shoes and made sure they went to the correct store on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, team work and positive workplace
Part time associate (Former Employee), Florida, BradentonOctober 4, 2014
Pros: fun, active and friendly environment
A typical day of work would be as soon as clocking I looked for customer who needed help or would check on the customers my boss would ask me too. At Shoe Carnival I multi tasked I would wall paper the shoe boxes, place them in there right location and make sure everything was in place while I would be ready to help any customer. I learned a lot about – more... customer service skills, how to accomplish a sell and organize the merchandise. It was a very friendly environment all the co-workers and I got along very well we made a great team, we actually had the best rating around the store's regions. The job is very flexable, productive and welcoming. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Cashier and Retail sales associate (Former Employee), newport news, VAOctober 4, 2014
Pros: large discount on shoes
Cons: benefits
It was a good working environment but lacked in benefits. I assisted customers with purchases and measured their feet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoes!
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Temple, TXOctober 3, 2014
I loved the environment. My boss would work with anyone and try to get you promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment for working.
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Monroe, NCSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: meet new people all the time
Cons: no set schedule and days fluxuate weekly.
-customer service all customers who come in and make sure that their experience will help them to come back again
-I have learned how to multitask with various duties throughout a work day and also learn how to be more personable
-the co-workers here are wonderful and help out a lot with wanting to be around them making it a great working environment
-the – more... hardest part of the job is getting our inventory off the truck, but with that being said, that's not really all that hard to do.
-I enjoy making others laugh and help out when I can to make shoppers want to come back. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Shoe Carnival Inc.

Shoe Carnival stores definitely have their own style.The open format, catchy music and friendly associates set the stage for a – Read more

Shoe Carnival Inc. Photos