Find companies:
Shoe Carnival Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
210 reviews

Shoe Carnival Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Customer Service (Former Employee), colorado springs coAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: the store closed
the work environment was great. Management was very helpful. And the benefits were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Store Manager (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCAugust 18, 2014
ok , could have great opportunity for the right individual.enjoyed the people as well as asociates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jmpc
Leasing Assistant (Former Employee), kansasAugust 12, 2014
good pay

horrible bosses

vacation pay nice lunches helped customers and provided services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoe Carnival Review
Cashier (Current Employee), Okemos, MIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: 30 min lunches, friendly customers, time flies
Cons: schedule is done every week.
You walk around organizing shoes/their boxes. You interact with customers by greeting them and helping them find what they want and need. Management is pretty good and care about all their customers. Co-workers are amazing and funny. The hardest part of my job is getting onto a ladder and getting boxes off the 6 high pile of boxes because of being short.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only bad if you are addicted to shoes
Store Manager (Current Employee), Holland Sylvaina RdJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits for managers
Cons: not able to do online school and work
Shoes Carnival is a very high volume shoe store, a typical day is about 10 minutes of paper work in the morning and about an hour of reviewing to see where sales are and then planning the day. Moving shoes around a lot. Sales concept is unique using mic to get customer to buy products and putting items on sale to influence customer purchases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management barely knows what theyre doing from day to day
Shipping/Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Evansville, INJuly 22, 2014
Pros: always hiring due to high turnover rate
Cons: just about everything
poor communication
lack of leadership
benefits are cheap but they suck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 21, 2014
My honest opinion working there , its like if your not a GM or SM your nothing you get treated like your a nobody.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barely getting by
IT position (Former Employee), Evansville, INJuly 15, 2014
Pros: free lunch, discount, healthcare
Cons: pay, management, ethics
Corporate environment, Shoe Carnival does just enough to barely get by, and it will bite them one day. They don't pay their employees close to what they should. Management looks the other way with employees that should be cut loose. Most departments are understaffed and the workload is heavy for some. 4 people in Payroll dept. for the whole company. – more... Executives don't care about employees as long as they get their bonus and they get to their ultimate goal of a 'Billion Dollar company'. Although they give you a couple free meals, say 'we really appreciate all you do' and give you your 15 cent raise every year. Laid back at times but can get hectic at peak seasons. Good meals, and great healthcare, discount on shoes is always nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace,calm at most times
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Norwood, OHJuly 11, 2014
Pros: enjoyable work enviorment, not very stresssful, discount
Cons: not a flexible schedule, not a lot of relax time
Shoe carnival was a very good job, very productive, bearable stress, fun and hardworking employees. Shoe carnival has pretty steady business, except for around holidays when it gets a little chaotic. The management for the most part is ok. Managers are not very flexible or understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoe Carnival
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 7, 2014
Pros: discounted shoes
Cons: management, pay, co-workers
A typical day at work would just me coming in, cleaning up after customers, answering questions, helping customers find what they were looking for, and I was also a cashier. This was the first job I had ever been a cashier at, so that was a big thing I learned how to do. The management was honestly horrible, and one of the main reasons I left. The co-workers – more... were sometimes dependable and helpful, and sometimes not helpful at all. The hardest part of the job was trying to constantly keep every aisle clean after everyone went through it. The most enjoyable part was getting to be around customers and help them find what they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Concept
Regional Manager (Former Employee), South TexasJuly 3, 2014
Great company concept, fast paced. Great selection of products and family friendly environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCJuly 1, 2014
Pros: discount on shoes!!!
Cons: random schedule
I enjoyed my time with Shoe Carnival. It was a great place to work with great advancement opportunities. I enjoyed managing the associates and helping them and watching them grow. The hardest part of the job was the random scheduling, there was never a set schedule which made it a little difficult on my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Member satisfaction was tuff.
General Sales Manager (Former Employee), Lubbock, Tx.July 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches and dinners
Cons: seeing what actually goes on in the kitchen
A typical day of working hard for tips was a daily thing. I learned how to be a great person to satisfy members. Management was very helpful overall and gave us power to succeed. Everyone I worked with was very friendly and outgoing. Hardest part of job was satisfying all members of the club. Most enjoyable part was making new friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day is running aisles making room for new inventory and ringing up sales.
Customer Service/Cashier (Current Employee), Elgin, ILJune 29, 2014
I enjoy working with people. My co-workers are fun to work with and we all work as a team.

The physical aspect of unloading the truck and restocking and making new displays would be the hardest and most challenging part of my job. My favorite part of my job would be the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
General Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJune 29, 2014
Maintained employees and set goals to provide store success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Sales Assc (Former Employee), Corpus Christi TXJune 25, 2014
A typical day at work would be as soon as clocking in, going on the floor and helping the customers find the shoe they liked in his or her size. While keeping the store clean and organized. After the store closed I was responsible for cleaning the restrooms, sweeping, mopping, vacuuming, and throwing away the trash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Crew Member (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 10, 2014
Pros: great employee discount
Cons: work hours
A typical day at work was always fast and fun working with the customers. I learned a lot working here such as more people/communication skills as well as customer service skills. Management here was awesome all the managers were always nice, fun, and helpful. My co-workers were always friendly and helpful. The hardest part of my job was getting to – more... know were each product was specifically. The most enjoyable part was working with shoes and helping all the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy laid back job.
Sales associate (Current Employee), Independence, MOJune 7, 2014
On days where we are slow it's more cleaning and giving every customer even more attention. Management usually stays up front and the sales associate work in between the aisles. I enjoy talking with so many diverse individuals. The hardest thing on the job is truck day, because you have to try and make room to get shoes in the wall. Sometimes it's a – more... lot of aisles and fatigue may set in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and Supportive work environment
Lead Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ferguson, MOJune 2, 2014
Pros: raise every year, supportive employees
Cons: customer base
Shoe Carnival is a fast paced and ever-changing environment that always provides a fun challenge. The management is very open to ideas and supportive in making the changes. Their guidance fosters creativity and produces strong work ethic. The hardest part of this job is probably the multi-tasking involved. I can be working on a project and get stopped – more... by a customer, maybe even multiple customers, and I must see to their needs while having a mental hold on what I was working on. The location of the store provides a very challenging customer base that is a test of will and patience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Planner (Current Employee), Evansville, INMay 29, 2014
its ok
good co workers
pay not the best

ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

1 2 3 4 5

About Shoe Carnival Inc.

Shoe Carnival stores definitely have their own style.The open format, catchy music and friendly associates set the stage for a – Read more

Shoe Carnival Inc. Photos