Shoe Sensation Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of work while maintining a fun environment.
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Big Rapids, MISeptember 17, 2016
Great atmosphere created from the managers. Always looked forward to going into work. Also gave incentive to work harder for rewards based on sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Columbia City, INSeptember 15, 2016
Shoe sensation has a great, friendly environment. The managers are very understanding and flexible. Part time work. Everyone helps with shipment and stocking, also with cleaning and organization. Working for the store is a team effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoe Sensation
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hillsdale, MI 49242August 22, 2016
Slave drivers. You barely ever get breaks and there's never enough to do. I don't think anyone that I got hired in with is still working there.
Pros
discount on shoes
Cons
Don't get breaks often enough
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and intereresting oppurtunitys
Manager (Former Employee) –  Williamson, WVAugust 11, 2016
meet different people daily and set up a cliental that returned. typical day includes stocking shelves - working with customers and keeping store clean and organized
Pros
great support system
Cons
long hours during peak season
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Full Time Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Tiffin, OHApril 15, 2016
Since working at Shoe Sensation I have learned so much about the shoe industry. I now know how to properly measure for correct size, complete shoe care information, and so much more.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Paducah, KYMarch 15, 2016
Enjoyable workplace with managers helping you and caring for you like family. Upper Management also cared for their emplyees.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Company Sucks To Work For!
Backup Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rolla, MOFebruary 17, 2016
The store and computers are sub par quality and poorly programmed. The management doesn't care whether you get hours or not. As a sales associate you end up with usually about 4 or 5 hours. Backup Assistant Managers get paid 10 cents more than a sales associate. They are just terrible.
Pros
None
Cons
Management, Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for those of us trying to advance..
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sikeston, MOJanuary 29, 2016
Hours were cut to literally 4 hours a week. I was making my numbers, doing my job, but management sucked. Was promised a promotion, management hired in a personal friend and gave him the promotion. It was all bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive work place.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Coshocton, OHJanuary 19, 2016
Work can be fun.
I've learned to be a people person.
I've learned to work a cash register and check customers out.
I've learned how to work in retail.
There isn't really a hard part of the job besides, making our goals in general (personal, weekly, monthy).
Majority of my Co-workers are very friendly and nice, also they're very easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, OHDecember 18, 2015
They are a bunch of caring and loving employees and I enjoyed everyday I went to work. You basically just arrange the shoes and sell shoes.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Iowa Falls, IADecember 13, 2015
Poor pay, not organized, poor management
part time, no benefits,
Schedule you couldn't count on
glad there is a shoe store in town, prices are good
Pros
discount
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very selfish company
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WINovember 18, 2015
I worked at the Fond du lac, WI location and found working at shoe sensation a bit disturbing. The store manager they hired has very poor communication and the company did nothing about it. They let problems continue with out looking more in depth to it. The staff was poorly trained and the Area Director only cared about hiring people rather than making sure they all had the proper training.
Pros
40% discount
Cons
minimum hour for part time employees
Was this review helpful?Yes22No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with customers on a daily basis, lots of stock, lots of hours, lots of tasks
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Coshocton, OHAugust 11, 2015
Working with customers was a great experience. However, there were too many issues with drama, and call offs. Many people were not dependable. Work is often put on one person, and hard work would go unnoticed. The pay is very low for the amount of work and responsibility required. There were good benefits with a discount, insurance and bonuses if sales goals were met.
Pros
Bonus program, insurance, discounts
Cons
Long shifts, poor management who did not value employee's feelings or concerns, favoritism, unpredictable shifts, call offs. Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes32No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved getting retail experience.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Somerset KyJune 26, 2015
I would start my day off by clocking-in and getting started on the floor. I learned that customer service is everything.My main manger was awesome! My assistant manger i thought was great but turned out to be stealing my sales while she made me stock in the back room. I loved my co-workers i made life-long friends working at shoe sensation! The hardest part of my job was stocking shoes and finding places for new stock. The best part of my jobs was helping customers and getting retail experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsatisfied
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Aurora, INJune 24, 2015
This job's trouble was not worth the pay. Minimum wage working few hours each week, seeming constantly angry manager. No communication whatsoever.
Pros
Shoe Discount
Cons
Favoritism, lack of training, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various day to day activities, fun customers
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Sterling ILJune 19, 2015
My customers at Shoe Sensation are so much fun. They make going to work better! Each day something changes, so that makes for a lot of hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best employer to work with great employee discounts
PTE/BUA (Current Employee) –  Mount Sterling, KYJune 17, 2015
I feel like I am working with family. I meet new and returning customers. I have no negative things about this company. The Management and other employees work together in a team. My typical day of work is always a new and exciting day, because each customer is unique in what they are looking for as far as shopping.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good experience
BUA/ Manager (Former Employee) –  New Boston, OHApril 29, 2015
I liked working there. There was a lot of drama but I learned a lot about shoes and more management experience for me.
A typical day at work was either putting shoes away or waiting on customers.
Pros
shoe discount
Cons
drama
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and encouraging work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Coshocton, OHApril 13, 2015
An amazing place to work with friendly people. I enjoyed providing excellent customer service and meeting new people.
Pros
Friendly workplace
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yikes
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Findlay, OhioMarch 10, 2015
This company was not a good place to work for. The management style was very poor and had no compassion or sympathy for their workers. Poor communication was constant.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3