Shoney's Employee Reviews

Found 520 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun friendlly place to work
Bar Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fitzgerald, GASeptember 23, 2017
Shoney's management team was awesome and I loved my co-workers everyone got along so well. just a awesome experience. I would love it if they would open it back up with the same crew.
Pros
fun loving place to work
Cons
minimum wage employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lake City, FLSeptember 20, 2017
I would go in at 5 in the morning and set up the breakfast bar and set the cash register up make 3 pots of fresh coffee and get the tea making all of the employees got along with mangement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Server/Cashier/Host (Former Employee) –  Selma, NCSeptember 15, 2017
Always come to work with a positive attitude. Always come to work at least 15 mins. early. Treat others the way you want to be treated. Do no use foul language. Ask questions because if you don't you might do something wrong. If you have time to lean you have time to clean. There is no need for anybody to be just standing there not working because there is always something that needs to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work
Buffet Attendant (Current Employee) –  Dublin, VASeptember 15, 2017
Shoneys is not a bad place to work but it's not great either. There are few benefits and getting a raise is almost impossible. The work pace is inconsistent and the pay is low. There is minimal chance for overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Might be a good temporary job.
SALAD BAR ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Dandridge, TNSeptember 14, 2017
I worked there while I was a student and they were great about working around my school schedule. The job was fairly easy and straight-forward. Does not pay a whole lot (minimum wage for at least the first year) for most employees.
Pros
Works around a school schedule
Cons
Lack of advancement and raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Server (Current Employee) –  Grenada, MSSeptember 12, 2017
The assistant manager often curses at employees and degrades us in front of people. Told to report tips I did not make. I have had money also come up missing off of my tables and there was nothing said nor done.
Pros
People I meet and get to serve on a daily basis
Cons
Management mostly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer opened
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALSeptember 5, 2017
I worked here in 2007. It was a great first job for me and helped me understand customer service. The managers were amazing as well as my co-workers. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVSeptember 4, 2017
I enjoyed working at shoneys. The managers were awesome and provided a fun energetic work environment. The money was ok and my coworkers were also great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Server (Former Employee) –  Marrero, LASeptember 2, 2017
its a wonderful place to work its very family friendly, everyone treats you like you are part of a team and family, customers are nice not to many snobby people. id work there again....
Pros
friendly, buffet is free to employees
Cons
haqlf-price if on the clock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNAugust 31, 2017
Good company to work for loved the people that i worked with and how the company worked and pay was good but the only thing was that my hours for cut down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Florence, ALAugust 30, 2017
Learnd how to was 100+ dishes in minutes, learned about the food industry. Shoney's was a nice place to work and I enjoyed my time working there. They had great employees who were very friendly.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Short breaks, lots of clean up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Shoneys server (Former Employee) –  Wetumpka, ALAugust 30, 2017
Shoneys was a great place to work I wish I still worked their. People are nice managers are great. I really enjoyed going to work there . Alot of people don't like their jobs but I liked mine just had a discrepancy and was fired for wrong reason should not have been fired it was a total misunderstanding.
Pros
Discounted food
Cons
Worked holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced
Waitress/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAAugust 30, 2017
This job was okay. Not the type to get if you're looking for career advancement . Lack of base pay and horrible management close to the end of my leaving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was poor and under staffed
Server Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kokomo, INAugust 24, 2017
Managers we're mother and daughters who was stealing from the store and wanted more money. I was pregnant and very sick was off under Dr care when they closed the doors. The community was great. As a waitress we had to share our tips with the cooks.
Pros
The food was great there
Cons
Management was poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Phenix City, ALAugust 23, 2017
Homey environment makes for a great place to eat and serve. You could just fall in love with the American favorites, the hamburgers are to die for. Beside the point though. Great people great work life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place
Prep Cook (Preparation Cook) (Former Employee) –  Ripley, WVAugust 15, 2017
It was a great place to work management was really nice and the other employees were awesome and everyone was so easy to get along with I would love to go back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work. friendly people
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Murray, KYAugust 15, 2017
Nice people to work for I enjoyed it until I had to quit
The employer was understanding on things they helped when we needed it. If we were running a little behind they would pitch in and help as much as they could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and quick paced
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Abingdon, VAAugust 14, 2017
A fast paced job with a lot of customer interaction.I greeted customer and seated them.
I greeted the customer and seated them all day diffrent customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a first job.
Cashier/Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Sumter, SCAugust 12, 2017
Restaurant didn't give me enough hours. It didn't pay enough. Coworkers gossiped too much. Management didn't solve issues correctly. Customers sexually harassed associates.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly okay work experience
Cashier, Hostess, Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Powell, TNAugust 10, 2017
I had a lot of fun most days interacting with customers and fellow employees. However, depending upon the position it was not always worth the time and effort. I did enjoy most of my management because they treated us as a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shoney's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 523 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5