Find companies:
ShopKo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
275 reviews

ShopKo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with many long term employees
GM Manager (Current Employee), Neenah, WINovember 12, 2014
Great place to showcase one's abilities in merchandising and driving sales and margin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Loss Prevention Supervisor (Former Employee), Quincy, ILNovember 10, 2014
I had a lot of fun at this job, however, the training program was very difficult to complete, and there is no local supervisor to reach out to when you are working in the field of Loss Prevention.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good experience
Works as Sales Associate (Former Employee), Twin Falls, IDNovember 4, 2014
Pros: i got a workout!
Cons: could be long hours
A lot of hard work during the busy season, I learned customer service skills, how to handle customers, customer satisfaction.
Being on my feet all day was hard. Working with people was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Salem, ORNovember 3, 2014
they were a good company to work for, very friendly. they treated employees with respect. they just did not give me that many hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail environment, worked closely with employees and customers to provide the best customer service and leadership to all store employees
Supervisor (Former Employee), Eugene OregonOctober 30, 2014
Supervised and in charge of opening and closing the store, as the key carrier of store operations
Presented quarterly reports on store layouts and resets to stores management and district manager
Gathered competitive intelligence regarding pricing, promotions, products, and placement, as well as other pertinent information
Executed store resets and – more... product placement and layout guidelines for all store employees, while maintaining company standards and procedures
Conducted daily performance reviews of employees; noted job performance, and assisted subordinate employees on the establishment and pursuit of career goals
Scheduled and maintained employees scheduled hours for the store, while maintaining payroll and requests for time off and vacations days
Coordinated meetings and building inspections; accurately inventoried and managed property valued in excess of $1,000,000, while working closely with our loss prevention team
Instructed and trained employees in complex procedures and skills; taught and ensured compliance with established safety procedures
Performed freight supervisor duties and over watched the shipment and inbound deliveries of all products and goods shipped to store, while properly taking accountability and prioritizing all products received throughout freight
Provided outstanding customer service and won several top employee awards and number one team in the district for the best overall performance for a supervisors team, overall – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Marquette, MIOctober 27, 2014
Pros: they worked around my schedule
Cons: i could not get hired fulltime
Customer service was good, managers were helpful and I appreciated the associates support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Cashier (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEOctober 25, 2014
Was a good job to learn and obtain many skill involving customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a great company to work for
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Sioux Falls, SDOctober 24, 2014
Pros: supportive and fun personnel
Cons: winter storms and freezing winds
Typical day consisted of going in early to open cash office, run daily maintenance reports and prepare cash drawers/ deposits, opening store, answering phones, overseeing cashiers and service deck personnel while dealing with returns and complaints
I learned how to listen to customers and validate their concerns in order to resolve any issues that caused – more... distress
Most Managers had worked their way up through the ranks and could do every job in the store - thus creating a teamplayer environment which was a fantastic atmosphere to work in
Co-workers were loyal and dedicated to promoting Shopko by going the extra mile for our customers
The hardest part of the job was getting to and from work during freezing winter storms
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smiles on customers faces when problems were happily resolved with their satisfaction in mind – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a high school student looking for extra money
General Merchandise Specialist (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIOctober 19, 2014
A typical day at work is very relaxed depending on the day and who is supervisor. Management changes frequently and gets a little hard to keep track of at times. The majority of employees are high school/college students that like to have fun while working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Duluth, MNOctober 19, 2014
Pros: no freee lunch
I had problems with manager. She was kinda mean. But ovrall great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a great place to work
Merchandise support team (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTOctober 18, 2014
I enjoyed working with this company, and my co-workers. I gained a lot of knowledge through Shopko.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am hard worker I do like to have fun on the job when I work I do like to smile us we'll is work my days goes faster.
Sale Associate (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEOctober 15, 2014
I am a helpful to teammate I like to work hard.
I learned great experience from the first I walked in for some one never worked at retail it was a great journey I did learned cashier ,learned how to work in soft line how to find merchandise from the back some time we called out the other store to find what customer wants and being at customer service – more... disk help me be very close intention to what they want how to unswear calls us wells help the customer in front of me did the return helped sell warrant at one point we had Visa card had to help customer to sign up for them.
I did drive sales in any deportment that I was involved .
Management is great every ones happy to have me in their team.
My co-workers are the good we all play special roll to help each other a lot team work.
Most the time when we great the new management for them it's learning experience but for us is job need to be teak in care of the job how to have my merchandise on the floor how is the best way to easy access to customer you can do what you use to do until the new management their learning proses done you will be back to your routine.
Holiday when we have more staff and more customer in the building you get to help everyone to the best of your knowledge – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and hardworking
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTOctober 13, 2014
finding things and helping out customers is hard but worth there smiles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive work place, friendly atmosphere
Cash Office Specialist (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ILOctober 8, 2014
Pros: light to medium office work in morning and in the afternoon, helping customers on the sales floor with whatever their needs were.
Cons: not enough time provided in cash office, not enough training given for price accuracy duties.
A typical day at work involved at Shopko started in the cash office where I calculated each check out drawer to be ready for the day. Then I would take the amounts of last nights earnings and calculate those and send them to corporate head quarters. The second half of the shift was spent on the sales floor auditing prices for each section of wares.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement, poor management
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Newaygo, MIOctober 4, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: short breaks, poor management, very corporate run
Being customer service, you are the first and last impression of the store for everyone that comes in. Customers are the majority of the people that you see and talk to all day. I do not mind at all talking with people and helping them out and giving them a good experience. I learned the importance of a cashier in a store and just how big of a role – more... that they play, and i also gained an entirely new respect for cashiers and customer service workers anywhere. The management was more so what I had an issue with. It is very unprofessional and very hypocritical, which I and many other co-workers were not happy about. Also the store was very corporate run. It seemed like every single thing had to be run by them. For example, theft became very high for a particular product. Instead of doing something immediately to stop it, the manager had to call corporate and make sure that it was okay to put anit-theft systems on the product which took almost another week and essentially losing the company more money due to the theft that still went on while waiting for a response. My co-workers are awesome, I loved working with every single one of them which made the job that much better. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with rude customers only because sometimes they were so rude that they made you feel worthless and as if you had no idea what you were even doing. The most enjoyable job though was also the customers. I loved being that one person that might have been the only person that that customer had talked to all day, or making someones day by saying hello and asking how they were doing. I don't mind being just someone that they can talk to. I liked being the person that could give that lasting impression about the organization, and talking with the customers enough to build a relationship with them in the aspect of wanting to come back and knowing the regular shoppers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dubuque, IAOctober 2, 2014
Pros: free lunches sometimes
Cons: pay, discount
Helped in apparel with dressing rooms, return rack and straightened the floor. Helped with jewerly and cashier when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, great staff.
Mark- Manager (Former Employee), Taylorsville, UTSeptember 29, 2014
Loved to come to work, great hours and pay. never had a hard time getting along in a new environment, everyone was very helpful learned new things every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and nice people
Sales Associate/Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Abbotsford, WISeptember 25, 2014
Pros: lunches and co-workers
Cons: pay
Pretty easy job with good hours. Treat every customer with respect and Be happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and Diverse
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Helena, MTSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: fast paced, every day is different, always on the move
Cons: low pay, no breaks
I begin my day by counting the safe and imputing the closing counts into the system. I then investigate any variances that we may have. I prepare the deposits and put the money in all the registers. I water all of the flowers and open the store.I spend the day assisting customers, cashiers, and any other teammate or department that may need it. I have – more... learned to be flexible and to manage my time well. The hardest part of my job must be customers who are impossible to please, when they don't want help, they just want to complain. I have learned that these people just want to be heard and while they may be difficult, it is my duty to treat them with courtesy and respect. I love fixing problems, of knowing that I have contributed to the positive outcome gives me great satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace, fun environment.
Sales Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Hoopeston, ILSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: co-workers, benefits.
Cons: short breaks.
Shopko is a fun place to work, there are always things to do, which makes the time go by fast. Management is fair, and has sound leadership and direction. The hardest part of the job is that there is much to do, some of which is time consuming and hard to fully complete in one shift. The best part is the family-like environment, that makes Shopko a – more... friendly and fun environment. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About ShopKo

Rather than a national¬†jack-of-all-retail trades, Shopko Stores concentrates on a¬†select product range in small and rural areas – Read more