Find companies:
ShopKo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
281 reviews

ShopKo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Sucked
(Retail) Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Omaha, NEDecember 21, 2014
Pros: making friends
Cons: pay and management
I was a sales associate and worked nights which was great because the managers weren't there and I was able to get my work done, by myself and the time passed quick. Pay sucked, 7.25 and co-workers sucked, some were lazy and the store was very unorganized and messy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sales Associate/Customer Service / Seasonal (Current Employee), Rothschild, WIDecember 11, 2014
I love working at this place. I am hoping to stay after seasonal is over. Would love to work there fulltime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment life
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Duluth, MNDecember 8, 2014
I enjoyed the fast pace of the holidays in the store. The hours were great. I learned a lot working there, like interviewing people and hiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company if your looking for a part time job.
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee), Bellevue, NEDecember 5, 2014
Pros: discounts on items in store
Cons: working holidays
It broke my heart when I had to quit. My co-workers were like family to me.
I was on auto pull team and my job was to stock shelves with products we had in the back room. It kept me busy and I was on my feet most of the day.
The hardest part of the job was working holidays because I wanted to be with my family.
The most enjoyable part was having pot – more... luck dinners on special occasions. It made the day more special. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend anyone to apply here. It is stressful.
CASHIER/GENERAL MERCHANDISER (Former Employee), Plover, WIDecember 1, 2014
Pros: 30 minute lunch break, plus two ten minute breaks.
Cons: very low hours
It was long and tiring. If you worked seasonal you barely had any hours and black friday was super long and time consuming, I felt as if I stood around and did nothing the entire time. A lot of the manager s were immature and very rude. One made me cry because of the hurtful things they said to me and about me to other employees. The most enjoying part – more... of the job was getting a discount and talking with customers. The hardest part was trying to make all the managers happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting work environment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Chubbuck, IDNovember 12, 2014
Pros: employee discounts, fun work environment, good managment
Cons: no benifits
This was my first job not working in some sort of food environment. I worked at the checkout lines and learned a whole new set of skills. Things like good customer service, money handling, keeping an eye out for shoplifters, fraudulent checks, and more.
Management was great, they listened and taught me a lot. My co-workers were fun and always tried – more... to find ways to make the day better. The hardest thing I had to to was learning good customer service. I had no idea how to deal with difficult customers and I learned a lot of what I know the hard way. What I did like about my job was that it was stable, fun, and I had great discounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with many long term employees
GM Manager (Current Employee), Neenah, WINovember 12, 2014
Great place to showcase one's abilities in merchandising and driving sales and margin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Loss Prevention Supervisor (Former Employee), Quincy, ILNovember 10, 2014
I had a lot of fun at this job, however, the training program was very difficult to complete, and there is no local supervisor to reach out to when you are working in the field of Loss Prevention.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good experience
Works as Sales Associate (Former Employee), Twin Falls, IDNovember 4, 2014
Pros: i got a workout!
Cons: could be long hours
A lot of hard work during the busy season, I learned customer service skills, how to handle customers, customer satisfaction.
Being on my feet all day was hard. Working with people was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Salem, ORNovember 3, 2014
they were a good company to work for, very friendly. they treated employees with respect. they just did not give me that many hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail environment, worked closely with employees and customers to provide the best customer service and leadership to all store employees
Supervisor (Former Employee), Eugene OregonOctober 30, 2014
Supervised and in charge of opening and closing the store, as the key carrier of store operations
Presented quarterly reports on store layouts and resets to stores management and district manager
Gathered competitive intelligence regarding pricing, promotions, products, and placement, as well as other pertinent information
Executed store resets and – more... product placement and layout guidelines for all store employees, while maintaining company standards and procedures
Conducted daily performance reviews of employees; noted job performance, and assisted subordinate employees on the establishment and pursuit of career goals
Scheduled and maintained employees scheduled hours for the store, while maintaining payroll and requests for time off and vacations days
Coordinated meetings and building inspections; accurately inventoried and managed property valued in excess of $1,000,000, while working closely with our loss prevention team
Instructed and trained employees in complex procedures and skills; taught and ensured compliance with established safety procedures
Performed freight supervisor duties and over watched the shipment and inbound deliveries of all products and goods shipped to store, while properly taking accountability and prioritizing all products received throughout freight
Provided outstanding customer service and won several top employee awards and number one team in the district for the best overall performance for a supervisors team, overall – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Marquette, MIOctober 27, 2014
Pros: they worked around my schedule
Cons: i could not get hired fulltime
Customer service was good, managers were helpful and I appreciated the associates support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Cashier (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEOctober 25, 2014
Was a good job to learn and obtain many skill involving customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a great company to work for
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Sioux Falls, SDOctober 24, 2014
Pros: supportive and fun personnel
Cons: winter storms and freezing winds
Typical day consisted of going in early to open cash office, run daily maintenance reports and prepare cash drawers/ deposits, opening store, answering phones, overseeing cashiers and service deck personnel while dealing with returns and complaints
I learned how to listen to customers and validate their concerns in order to resolve any issues that caused – more... distress
Most Managers had worked their way up through the ranks and could do every job in the store - thus creating a teamplayer environment which was a fantastic atmosphere to work in
Co-workers were loyal and dedicated to promoting Shopko by going the extra mile for our customers
The hardest part of the job was getting to and from work during freezing winter storms
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smiles on customers faces when problems were happily resolved with their satisfaction in mind – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a high school student looking for extra money
General Merchandise Specialist (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIOctober 19, 2014
A typical day at work is very relaxed depending on the day and who is supervisor. Management changes frequently and gets a little hard to keep track of at times. The majority of employees are high school/college students that like to have fun while working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Duluth, MNOctober 19, 2014
Pros: no freee lunch
I had problems with manager. She was kinda mean. But ovrall great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a great place to work
Merchandise support team (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTOctober 18, 2014
I enjoyed working with this company, and my co-workers. I gained a lot of knowledge through Shopko.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am hard worker I do like to have fun on the job when I work I do like to smile us we'll is work my days goes faster.
Sale Associate (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEOctober 15, 2014
I am a helpful to teammate I like to work hard.
I learned great experience from the first I walked in for some one never worked at retail it was a great journey I did learned cashier ,learned how to work in soft line how to find merchandise from the back some time we called out the other store to find what customer wants and being at customer service – more... disk help me be very close intention to what they want how to unswear calls us wells help the customer in front of me did the return helped sell warrant at one point we had Visa card had to help customer to sign up for them.
I did drive sales in any deportment that I was involved .
Management is great every ones happy to have me in their team.
My co-workers are the good we all play special roll to help each other a lot team work.
Most the time when we great the new management for them it's learning experience but for us is job need to be teak in care of the job how to have my merchandise on the floor how is the best way to easy access to customer you can do what you use to do until the new management their learning proses done you will be back to your routine.
Holiday when we have more staff and more customer in the building you get to help everyone to the best of your knowledge – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and hardworking
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTOctober 13, 2014
finding things and helping out customers is hard but worth there smiles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive work place, friendly atmosphere
Cash Office Specialist (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ILOctober 8, 2014
Pros: light to medium office work in morning and in the afternoon, helping customers on the sales floor with whatever their needs were.
Cons: not enough time provided in cash office, not enough training given for price accuracy duties.
A typical day at work involved at Shopko started in the cash office where I calculated each check out drawer to be ready for the day. Then I would take the amounts of last nights earnings and calculate those and send them to corporate head quarters. The second half of the shift was spent on the sales floor auditing prices for each section of wares.

1 2 3 4 5

About ShopKo

Rather than a national¬†jack-of-all-retail trades, Shopko Stores concentrates on a¬†select product range in small and rural areas – Read more