ShopKo Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 470 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Front End Cashier, Part Time (Former Employee) –  Kennewick, WAMay 13, 2016
Friendly managers, willing to work with you however they could to give you hours. However, being a part-time cashier can be difficult if hours are what you are trying to get.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Plover, WIJune 7, 2016
The people who work at Shopko are amazing. You meet so many interesting and nice people while working, because of my job here I have learned a lot about the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and fun atmosphere
General Merchandise Associate (Current Employee) –  Monmouth, ILMay 22, 2016
making sure shelves are stocked and faced. The management is nice and understanding. The coworkers are very nice and always willing to give you a hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Bend, WIApril 16, 2016
A typical day would include helping customers check out, and making sure that they have a ShopKo card.
Management was very orderly and the coworkers were very kind and easy to work and get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful
General Sales Manager, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEFebruary 13, 2016
I managed the floor, and ran the cash-register. I organized the toys. I priced the items with a merchandise gun.

The co-workers were nice.

I enjoyed being a role-model to the co-workers.

I learned not to get to attached with my job.
Pros
I made friends with the employees
Cons
The equipment was overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Layton, UTDecember 2, 2015
awesome employees and fun place to work. easy going and not very fast paced. management is down to earth and fun and understandable.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lovington, NMMay 16, 2016
very easy, fun, always have something to do co- workers very nice and helpful. sometimes slow or can be very busy sometimes fusterating I learned how to read barcodes
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail organization
Director of HRIS (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIOctober 25, 2015
The company didn't have had a robust HR system. They were attempting to implement software that was used by a subsidiary they recently purchased
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
The culture wasn't ready to support a strong HRIS environment
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shopko was a fun environment.
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Bountiful, UTJune 3, 2016
Shopko was a great place to work over Christmas Season. They help a lot of people. They ended up closing the location I was at but overall they were a good company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of nice people and friendly environment
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Tomahawk, WIJanuary 21, 2016
I learned to work more independently and get things done without a manager having to tell me.
My co-workers were friendly and helped me when I needed assistance.
Pros
took break as pleased, a lot of free food in the break room, easy communication between coworkers and supervisors
Cons
Wasn't completely trained on everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Want to know more about ShopKo?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented
Apparel Specialist (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMarch 13, 2016
Good place to work. It is like a family.
Hardest part keeping up with plannograms.
Customers are an important part of a business.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Union Gap, WAMay 31, 2016
Employees are friendly and very helpful. Its a smaller Building so its real easy to know everyones names. Pretty clean for the most part.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 15, 2016
It was a great place to work unless you have things come up. They will work around a school schedule and will work around a school sport. I wish I haven't quit there and was still there.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its good for a first job.
Pharmacy Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bend, ORMay 29, 2016
I have worked here for a few years, its an alright place to work but not for forever. Definitely a first job or a "I need to pay the bills" kinda job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative experience
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIApril 21, 2016
There really was no room for growth, and no available full time position. The atmosphere wasn't very amiable, at least what I experienced.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy Situation
Freight Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bend, OROctober 16, 2015
Shopko was unwilling to work around any schedule other than their own.
I was rarely/ never given training for tasks I was assigned.
Management encouraged un-friendly competition between departments.
Pros
Other employees
Cons
Hours/ management
Was this review helpful?Yes28No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job.
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 6, 2015
I really enjoyed my job there initially but then they got rid of the service desk and shoved everything into one little register. It was a horrible decision on behalf of corporate as it limited us to having only one person at the service desk instead of up to 3. The best thing about this job by far are the people I work with. I feel like management expects us to work like we are being paid twice our salary, it's retail for crying out loud.
Pros
co-workers, flexible schedule
Cons
no accountability, understaffed, overworked, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Active Shoe Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. Cloud MNApril 17, 2015
Being retail you have to be available to work nights and weekends. It sucks because they do schedules on a weekly basis making it hard to make plans. All in all its a great culture though and we work together as a team well. Promotions are always tried to do from within so you have a chance of being promoted but you have to have people leave their positions first. They are not very competitive with wages!!!!
Pros
Teammates
Cons
Insurance, Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy operations and customer needs
Sales Floor Specialist, Ran hand held CPU (Former Employee) –  Doniphan, MOAugust 18, 2015
Ran the stocking hand held computer systems to stock the store. Also attended to customer needs and restocking the shelf. Did some maintenance work as well, such as fixing signs, doors, lifts. Did clean up ever night such as swept the floor, cleaned bathrooms and taking out the trash
Pros
Easy straight forward work. Management was on task and always together
Cons
Not enough work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management(?)
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, IDOctober 18, 2015
It was almost impossible to find a manager outside of the break room. Also, management should not be passive-aggressive toward their employees. You are there to lead by example and keep things in check.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No3

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 470 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture