Shore Medical Center Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Assistant
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAOctober 17, 2013
As a medical assistance I worked with patients closely. Recording vital signs, assiting Dr's with minor surgeries, injections,Obtain patient history and vital signs and administered medications. Apply principles of aseptic technique and infection control. I prepare and assist with examinations, procedures,treatments and collect urine and blood specimen for processing.

I was responsible to perform or assist with diagnostic tests, including performing an EKG, taking blood for examination (Phlebotomy) Maintain medication and immunization records. Adhere to established triage procedures, and Coordinate patient care information with other health care providers.

My administrative duties and responsibilities included:
Basic clerical duties, schedule, coordinate, and monitor scheduling.
Schedule inpatient/outpatient procedures and admissions. Perform medical transcription, procedural and diagnostic coding. Obtain reimbursement through accurate claims (insurance) submission along with monitoring and follow-up on third-party (insurance) reimbursement.

Professionally manage telephone responsibilities, and
Receive, organize, prioritize, and transmit written and verbal communications and information.

I learned when working with three doctors and being the only medical assistant that time management was a huge factor, in order for the office to run smoothly and effectively. I also learned my job responsibilities included both clinical and administrative. You worked as a team!

The hardest part of my job was when the Doctors would fall behind. It was the job of a medical assistant to explain
  more... to angry patients the reason for the delay. All in all, being a medical assistant is a very rewarding job.  less
Pros
having patients write you "thank you" cards. (touched my heart)
Cons
watching the terminal ill pass. the pay was not all that great for all the work we did.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I totally enjoyed working at Shore. It was hard work but rewarding
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Somers Point, NJNovember 13, 2014
I worked at Shore for over forty years at different levels. I started as a volunteer and proceeded up the clinical ladder ending as a charge nurse in hemodialysis.
I can honestly say I really enjoyed my work and still miss doing nursing.
Now I volunteer for the American Red Cross and am a volunteer Obudsman for the institutional elderly for the state of New Jersey, but it's not the same as working.
I look foreward to working again on a pen basis
Pros
satisfaction
Cons
working major holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shore memorial hospital
Purchasing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Somers Point, NJSeptember 11, 2015
delivering products to all parts of the hospital in a timely manner,.
I learned that working together with a consistence schedule made things easier.
management was willing to always step in and help whenever we became overwhelmed.
the hardest part was not getting personal with the patients of the hospital
I mostly enjoyed being able to deliver materials in a timely manner to help the people in need
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRN & Full Time Medical Social Worker
Medical Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Somers Point, NJFebruary 18, 2015
I enjoyed working with almost all of my co-workers & patients. The hardest part of the job was seeing patients discharged from the hospital due to insurance restrictions, not based on treatment progress.
Pros
busy workload & daily routine, lunch room on premises, parking, close to home.
Cons
compensation, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and nice place to work and feel i can trust most of my co-workers
nurses aid (Current Employee) –  NJNovember 17, 2014
assist nurse with patient care, under the direction of the charge nurse and the team I am so proud to be a part of
Pros
able to excellerate with thge education programs provided to me
Cons
soup is always good and healthy to have
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy being at the shore.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Somers Point, NJFebruary 23, 2013
I am committed to quality patient care. I have the autonomy to work independently. The hardest part is management instituting changes without feedback from the dept. and not holding employees accountable on certain issues.
Pros
work schedule. no weekends, holidays, call or 12 hr.shifts.
Cons
understaffed. upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with various opportunities.
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Somers Point, NJJuly 24, 2013
Responsibilties of the job include but are not limited to taking x-rays, process patient's paperwork and documenting all actions.
There is the opportunity to work various shifts. This positions includes varying aspects of radiology including OR and fluoroscopy.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding workplace.
Assistant Manager of Patient Safety (Current Employee) –  Somers Point, NJJune 18, 2014
I enjoy working with highly motivated and driven individuals who care about the service they deliver to patients. The management team that I work with always puts the patient/customer first and achieves results with their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs to build a relationship with the employees
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Somers Point, NJJuly 29, 2014
Has changed over many years. Employees don't feel like a family, more so just come to work, take care of patients and return home. The passion of the hospital is gone
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, great learning experience
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Somers Point, NJApril 16, 2013
I was able to work as a float and able to be on all the floors. i worked at night which allowed me to work independently .
Pros
flexibilty
Cons
far away from family in maryland
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enthusiatic and beneficail work place
CNA/Health unit coordinator (Former Employee) –  SOMERS POINT, NJJune 2, 2014
Dealt with severe illnesses ( cancer, HIV etc.)
Team work environment
Job security
Pros
long breaks, job security, pay raise
Cons
dealt with multiple illnesses that lead to deaths of patients
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
RN (Current Employee) –  ICUFebruary 8, 2014
My Co-workers are great people. Team work is promoted. The cafeteria has good food, and promotes fresh food. Parking garage if free for employees.
Pros
team work
Cons
not a lot of movement
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENJOYED MY TIME
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Somers Point, NJJune 18, 2015
ENJOYED MY TIME AT SHORE MEDICAL CENTER. THERE ARE A GREAT MANY OF DEDICATED PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYEES READY TO CARE FOR YOUR MEDICAL NEEDS.
Pros
MANY DEDICATED EMPLOYEES
Cons
ITS A NUMBERS GAME
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good organization, but...
Human Resource (Former Employee) –  Southern NJMay 9, 2015
Several poor senior management/board decisions have made Shore financially unstable resulting in a loss of focus on patient care
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work very family friendly.
Outpatient Supervisor- Work (Current Employee) –  Somers Point, NJOctober 28, 2014
Registration of patients for various text and procedures. Work on schedule. Help with problems.
Pros
"family" work enviorment.
Cons
no space to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, nice people.
advanced operator (Current Employee) –  Somers Point, NJMay 28, 2013
Management is accessible at all times. Caring individuals who are always there to help. Great job!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN AND ENJOYABLE NURSING ASSISTANT
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Somers Point, NJAugust 25, 2014
GREAT CO-WORKERS SUPPORT AND DEDICATED TO PROVIDE NURSING AT EXCELLENCE. ENJOYED BEING PART OF ICU TEAM.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Culture
Direct Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Somers PointJuly 4, 2013
Consultants running major departments. Something not right.
Pros
dedicated people
Cons
ceo rules by fear and intimidation
Was this review helpful?Yes19No6

Comment – March 1, 2014

I hear it is getting worse. Staff are constantly afraid if they are being laid off or their department is next to be outsourced.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Access Intake Specialist (Former Employee) –  Somers Point, NJAugust 19, 2014
nice place to work, close to home; gave me the opportunity to learn about medical coding
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding to help patients
Emergency Room Registrar (Former Employee) –  Somers Point, NJJanuary 29, 2015
Rewarding to help patients during their most vulnerable moments.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

See more Shore Medical Center reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture