Find companies:
Shred-It
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

Shred-It Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place before it became corporate.
Mechanic/Warehouse (Former Employee), Kent, WADecember 10, 2014
Pros: overtime to make money
Cons: a lot of work, but no problem.
I like working for them in Washington state when they were still a franchise. I was well taken care of I actually matter to them. I left when corporate bought them back. I hear the guys aren't too happy anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful and professional work environment
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJNovember 25, 2014
Pros: the ability to be successful
Cons: cost of healthcare
Shred-it is a workplace with a good mix of senior and new employees who both have a lot pride in their job. A typical day is starting at 6am to prepare the equipment for the technicians, have a quick meeting to go over any necessary topics and take any questions the technicians might have. After all the technicians are on the road our operations team – more... has our own quick meeting along with warehouse personnel to discuss what is needed to be completed to make the operation successful. At this point customer calls are accepted and all departments (sales, operations, warehouse, administrative) begin their daily responsibilities. My employment with Shred-it began as a service technician, I learned how important it is keeping confidential information safe and secure. The hardest part of my job is when I was promoted to Supervisor and was responsible for the routing of over 300 customers on a daily basis. Even though it was a big responsibility it was very rewarding and I loved the challenge. This was also the most enjoyable part of the job, knowing I had the trust of the company to route all of the companies accounts. I was fortunate enough to have a supportive and skilled Management team which was the way it was throughout the company mostly due to the companies training procedures. Shred-It is a company that makes it possible for anyone to move up within the company and be successful in whatever position you hold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time off allowed for elder care
Inside Sales Account Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 16, 2014
company allowed time off for elder care but did have a hostile work environment because of time off for said elder care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shred-It is a good company to work for
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee), Carrollton, TexasNovember 14, 2014
Pros: each day is challenging and not like the day before
Cons: limited resources
Shred-It provides a great opportunity to learn and to grow in the industry. I learned how to analyze P&L statements and use the information to increase efficiency. Management had to work within strict company guidelines as the corporate office promoted consistency to all branches(US and International). Co-workers were the best part of the job, had a – more... family environment. The hardest part of the job was working with limited resources. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Driver (Current Employee), Sanford, FLNovember 6, 2014
Very supportive management team, great team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully bosses, unreasonable quotas, 100 call per day minimum. STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOILERROOM ATMOSPHERE
Inside Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Denville, NJOctober 21, 2014
Pros: location near morris county home
Cons: fear mongers
Helpful suggestions for efficiency or better practice is not welcome by this management or the Canadian owners. Ignoring this warning can cost you your job there. Fear and anxiety ruled this place when I was there. A 72 column report and another report are both required daily, 2 (30-minute +) meetings daily except on Wednesdays when there are 5 (30 – more... min-1hour) meetings (of course would affect ability to meet the calling quota but not accepted). You learn quickly that telling the truth is not acceptable, which means you have to learn to lie well. Having a job a tall these days is a blessing but not with these guys. Stealing commissions from others territory is common. Territory is constantly changing. I'd run away from this company fast. The most enjoyable part of the day is leaving the parking lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays well
Driver and Shredder (Former Employee), Woburn, MAOctober 9, 2014
Cons: healthcare
A typical day at work consisted of me driving from company to company picking up confidential documents that needed to be properly destroyed. I learned how to drive a box truck, received my certification as a forklift operator, and also learned how to use new equipment and technology. Management was usually understanding about personal matters and tried – more... to keep workload light, but at times demanded far too much for one person to handle in a day. My co-workers were very respectful and kind, and were always willing to show me the right way to do something or take my advice into consideration. The hardest part of the job was trying to navigate downtown Boston in a box truck with limited GPS signal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Inside sales executive/ Font desk receptionist (Former Employee), riverside caOctober 8, 2014
Pros: friendly co workers
Cons: call center environment
I started as a Receptionist/appointment setter with the company. I was responsible for answering all incoming calls and transfer to the proper party. Sort mail and distribute to different departments. Follow up on all emails, voice mails, and faxes within the hour.Daily filing and scanning. I was then promoted to Inside Sales. I was responsible for – more... making calls to customers and get feed back on their services. Fill out daily reports. Complete proper forms to set up service for customers. Daily filing. Attend weekly meetings. Trained new employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work enviroment.
Customer Service Rep/Driver (Former Employee), Franklin Park, ILOctober 7, 2014
Pros: people there were great.
Cons: company benefits were minimal.
Learned how important it is to keep information safe and secure. The management and co-workers were some of the nicest people to work for and with. Hardest part of the job was how much lifting pushing and pulling that was required. Most enjoyable part was every day was different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Sales and Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Secaucus, NJOctober 6, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: mandatory overtime, management, rude salesmen, corporate doesn't care about you, always busy and never happy.
A typical day at Shred-It NY starts with your boss sending you 400 emails of tasks for the day, not including your daily responsibilities that don't require reminders. The position I was in was held by two other girls who loved nothing more than to pass work off on someone else. Its every man/woman for themselves at this office. I learned to just do – more... my job, keep focus on the customer's needs and get through the day. Make no mistake, I used to love my job. I worked at another branch of Shred-It on the west coast. I was treated with respect and felt like part of a team. Shred-It NY is the exact opposite. Grouchy moods plague the office. Management was awful. Management is never on your side, whether an issue that came up was of no fault of your own (i.e. salesmen misspelled information on a contract and now a customer is upset because YOU are the one who inputs the information, even though the sales sheet is SUPPOSED to be approved by THEIR manager before being submitted to my department). The hardest part of the job was pleasing the customer, which is something this branch could not do. Their "Oh well, so sad!" attitude towards a customer was very disheartening. I would try everything I could in my power to help the customer, but that's where it ended. Nobody would go the extra mile for our customers, not even their own coworkers. The most enjoyable part of my day at Shred-It was leaving, knowing I had completed my tasks and did the best job I could for our customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 16, 2014
Worked for shred-it years ago and the people were great. They really worked with you in certain situations. They always did a good job communicating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: make my own shedule
Cons: a lot of driving
The company was very aggressive in the market.
I was furthered my sales training, closed some of the biggest deals in the country as well as increased my network capabilities three fold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 4, 2014
great company!! Long hours around 13 hours a day.Great for the overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is simple an u can learn to communicate
Route Service Driver (Former Employee), Elkridge, MDSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: layed back
Cons: u might get injured if your not physically ready
good place, physically demanding and u can learn good communication skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers were easy to get along with
SOC-Sales and Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Texas and AustinAugust 8, 2014
enjoyed working with this company, I also learned all about myself as far a able to multi task and meet deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another good school that is out there.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Concord, CAAugust 5, 2014
A stop along the way to try and get a head in the tech world. Not very good at job placement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Learning the Vertical
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 26, 2014
Pros: people liked the service
Cons: boring, low compensation plan
This was not as challenging or rewarding yet position interesting to apply the concepts of identity theft security to personal life. I needed to have a task that challenged my brain more. I like that we were helping companies stay secure and it was an easy sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 to 25 stops, collecting documents for detruction
Class B CDL - Route Customer Service Driver (Current Employee), dallas,texasMay 19, 2014
I start my day with reviewing my route then I begin my pre trip. After all the morning prepping I then drive to each and every stop to collect documents and take them to my truck to shred them. At the end of my route I bring all the shredded paper back to the dock to be baled and shipped off for recycling. After cleaning and post trip my day is complete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsafe work conditions
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee), Saint Rose, LAMay 5, 2014
Cons: unsafe work habits
i worked for them for over a year i moved into a hotel for 3 months to help support the company due to lost of a satelite driver as i returned to my home office i was met with the fact the over hired and did not have a postion available i was injured while trying to fit back into the new issues with not only the over hiring of staff but uner new managment – more... needless to say 3 days after i wasa released from light duty from my injury i was laid off due to cut backs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Route Driver
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Theodore, ALMay 1, 2014
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: too much ovetime
Shred It is a good company. The local manager is great and really goes the extra mile for his empoyees but the higher managers do not seem to care about the lower level employees. It is a very physical job and the extreme heat and cold has huge affects on the drivers. The pay is ok and the overtime is plentifull. It is great for someone who has no ambition – more... to advance but is not good for someone who does want to advance. Very little chance for advancement. – less

1 2 3 4

About Shred-It

Shred-it does just what its name says. The company specializes in secure on-site shredding of documents, as well as non-paper – Read more

Shred-It Photos