Shutterfly Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 18, 2017
Shutterfly is a fun fast paced place to work if you are looking for seasonal extra holiday money. There is no guarantee that you will be hired on after the season so I would make sure that you have something else in place and not this as a main source of money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Elmsford, NYSeptember 8, 2017
it was a good work environment.everyone worked well with eachother
I learned how to work well with others and communicate well with others also the best part was meeting new people
Pros
free snacks
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNSeptember 6, 2017
I really enjoyed working here. The staff was friendly and was always there if needed for anything. The working atmosphere was comfortable and i got to learn new things at this job
Pros
Free donuts an lunch once in a while
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confused future
Senior Web Engineer (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CAAugust 24, 2017
Sub standard software culture.

Full of politics and fights among managers.

Good HR.

Poor work life balance.

No growth path.

No recognition for hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Customer Service Lab Liaison (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCAugust 15, 2017
Typical hours are 8-10 hour sifts for customer service and ranges form 10 to 12 hours sifts for the production floor. Overall I do like my job, co workers are nice. Every family like work placed culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Designer (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 14, 2017
I love this job. The culture is great, management is wonderful, and I wish I could work here forever. The unfortunate part is that the restructuring of the company resulted in the loss of my job.
Pros
Time off
Cons
Contractor for 2 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment keeping you busy
Machine Operation Lead (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNAugust 12, 2017
Good place to work with great coworkers. There is a ping-pong table and workout area that is nice to use. Benefits are lacking and not having a 401k match is disappointing.
Pros
Pto, coworkers, and work/life balance
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Customer Help Desk Representative (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCAugust 10, 2017
Not a good company. They will end your assignment with no notice. The management team is absolutely A DISGRACE! Some days you work 2 hours some days you work 8! A lot of messy women in that building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 1, 2017
I like my job from start to finish. I do wish I never left. Great people, fast paced, good parking. It was nice to grow with the company when I did. Being a manager was great
Pros
Alot
Cons
On your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Industrial Worker (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 31, 2017
-Long Hours
-Short breaks
-Alright management
-Nice environment
-Great Teams
-Always improving
-No days off
-Always growing
-Could be long term for a lot of people
Pros
Opportunities to move up
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Decent
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 31, 2017
The job can get stressful, mainly during peak season in the Winter with mandatory overtime or after peak when they are cutting employees. Some of the systems that they have set up, like the point system for tardies or absences, are also stressful as they aren't really lenient with things that require you to miss work (i.e. sick child, being sick yourself, etc.) I have met some of my favorite people working here, and it definitely helps build character with the environment and talking to customers on a daily basis. Another hard part about the job is the schedules that are set up.
Pros
Discounts, people, pay
Cons
Short breaks, clocking out for lunches, scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly work place, keeps you busy
Press Operator/ Shipping (Current Employee) –  Jordan, MNJuly 27, 2017
keeps you busy during your 10 hour shift. You enjoy a lot of the people that are really good at welcoming you. very good learning facility. clean and very safe workplace.
Pros
paid breaks, cook outs, promos with free shipping
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shutterfly was a great job
Maker (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJuly 19, 2017
Shutterfly is one of the best jobs I've ever had it has great benefits great lunch breaks and great supervisors I enjoyed it I got to learn a lot of new things.
Pros
Free Drinks Good Lunches Good Hours
Cons
Nothing I can think about
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart, dedicated people
Internship (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAJuly 18, 2017
SFLY is full of smart, dedicated people who are dedicated to the customer. Their technology is outdated but they're in the process of updating it. A recent re-org may also affect the efficiency.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace and team
Technical Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CAJuly 13, 2017
Management listens to employees and promotes from within. SFLY will pay for good talent . Non threatening environment, you are left alone to do a good job. Fun family events and nice lunches, parties etc.
Pros
Great culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 11, 2017
Great place to work. I would go back but I didn't like not being able to go to first shift. Management was great but some of the employees cause a lot of drama
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I need a new job!!!
Senior Shift Supervisor/ Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 9, 2017
Cut throat, everyone throws everyone under the bus.
Operations is on a different page than production support and upper management so they have completely unrealistic expectations.
Most stressful job ive ever had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work most of the time.
Photo Gifts Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 8, 2017
I enjoyed the position I held with this company. It's exciting and interesting because you are always learning new things. My only concern with this company is their hiring procedures. I worked with them for two years and was never hired on. I was giving steps to follow in the hiring process in which I followed. I ended up getting let go with no warning at all.
Pros
Great place to work if you need a seasonal job or parttime only.
Cons
Potential for permanent placement is very slim with this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fun place
Web Applications Developer (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CAJuly 5, 2017
this is a Great fun place to work at. People are very nice and helpfull. i learnt a lot here from my peers. i definitely recommend this place to someone who is seeking to grow as a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary employee.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJune 26, 2017
Typical day involved the making of photo books and assembly of said books. Management was easy to get along with and were interested in helping you succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shutterfly. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 276 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8