Shutterfly Employee Reviews

Showing all 210 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many nice coworkers. Fun environment.
Production and Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Elmsford, NYApril 21, 2017
Overall it's a good company but management is terrible! Met some very nice people there except for the supervisors. They're very unprofessional. They don't know how to talk to people.
Pros
Free dinner sometimes, coworkers are hilarious and good people, vending machines 25€ for anything you want.
Cons
Hours are ridiculous, poor management, no health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace good enviroment
Shipper packer picker (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCApril 21, 2017
Friendly and helpful employees good environment face paced job being able to learn new jobs and move around and meet new people great friendly environment with room to grow in each job title
Pros
Good pay. Good benefits. Great lunchroom
Cons
When machines would jam up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCApril 20, 2017
Everyone was nice and welcoming. Easy job. You stand up a lot, but it is not a hard job. You have enough breaks to get you throughout the day. People are always there when you have questions and overtime is offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace Environment
Sorter/Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCApril 20, 2017
Productive environment, minimal job security during holiday season, excellent compensation, opportunities for advancement if hired on full time; overall great company
Pros
adequate compensation
Cons
minimal job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just my observation
Warehouse Lead (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNApril 17, 2017
Each morning is started with a team meeting laying out what needs to be done through-out the day and which things are priority over others based on production needs. I assign each Operator duties that they are responsible for on the shift. No one has the same duties each day. For the most part, things are pretty smooth throughout an average work-day. The thing I find most difficult is the lack of staffing. All personnel knows what needs to be done but due to lack of bodies we always find ourselves working overtime to get the job done or picking up where we left off from a previous day or shift. The people at Shutterfly are great people. They're just victims of a culture cultivated by management. Miscommunication is usually the reason for most mishaps.
Pros
Get codes twice a year for discounted/free product.
Cons
Bad management, unorganized and dysfunctional operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive great place to work for
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 13, 2017
my job started in final assembly shipping making everything was ready to ship I moved to the lazer max cutting the pictures to put them in to a album.Then I finally to a press operator moved up to a lead I ran the digital press changed out ink .it where it all started printing the pictures and quality check.i loved it
Pros
free drinks 25 cent vending machines
Cons
shory breaks shory lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
director (Current Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAApril 5, 2017
great potential but some obstacles faced in 2017. the company will have significant growth in 2018 and beyond and whomever is around at that time will benefit greatly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult at times
Senior Designer / Developer (Current Employee) –  Redwood City, CAApril 3, 2017
You can work with some great creative people but trying to get the larger processes changed is brutally difficult. It is painful to see problems, know the solution but have no where to take it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Silicon Valley California-centric company
Senior Manager Accounting (Current Employee) –  Elmsford, NYMarch 28, 2017
The Company is a Silicon Valley California-centric company. The Company is definitely reorganizing their direction and focusing more on the employee experience and growth.
Pros
Free lunches, fun corporate activities
Cons
California Centric
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product, great culture
Creative Director (Current Employee) –  Redwood City, CAMarch 19, 2017
Everyone is passionate about their work and will above and beyond their current job to make sure nothing falls through the cracks. It is a collaborative atmosphere where people can grow and thrive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning experience
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZMarch 13, 2017
The staff at shutterfly are a big family, very easy to communicate flexing hours. Everyone is always hands on with helping a fellow co worker. I will miss working those late hours.
Pros
Knowing exactly what to expect
Cons
Seasonal positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Web Engineer (Current Employee) –  Redwood City, CAMarch 7, 2017
Great place to work. Good learning. Good teams. Hectic at times.free snacks.good work location.good atmosphere.great hackathons .Nice events.good culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in general
Customer Care Team Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCMarch 6, 2017
My employment with Shutterfly was seasonal; however it was a nice place to work in general. Co-workers and management were friendly and helpful. Company provided a decent wage, free beverages, several break areas (indoor and outdoor), and they try to show employee appreciation with lunches, rewards, and bonuses. I wouldn't have minded working in a permanent position.
Pros
hourly wages are fair, free beverages, friendly work environment
Cons
most positions are temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging workplace
ETL Developer (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZMarch 1, 2017
i have learned alot from here accepting challenges dealing with various kinds of people , importace of tim, dedication to work etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible leadership
Warehouse - Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 19, 2017
Good company with poor management! Long work hours. Little training. People were let go for little or no reason. No team atmosphere.
Pros
Free drinks in break room
Cons
Only busy for two months a year!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring environment
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNFebruary 13, 2017
Managers don't really train you in, just throw you into a work station and expect you to figure out how to do the job. Frustrating job and things must be completed on time.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Good breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Shipping Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCFebruary 10, 2017
nice work environment, the managment could be better. the people are friendly and nice.i learned how to better multi-task in the work place.
Pros
free drink
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall experience.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Pineville, NCFebruary 9, 2017
Great climate control unlike other places I've worked. The managers/ shift leaders are very cool and uplifting, and break schedules are great. Long hours but the work was easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employee relations
Digital Press Lead (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNFebruary 8, 2017
Bad managers, treat employees poorly and there is a lot of turnover in the company, If they could change they way they treat their employees it would be a different place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and great communication with my supervisor
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNFebruary 7, 2017
My supervisor at Shutterfly is probably the best supervisor I've had. He is easy-going, understandable and is very approachable when I had questions and needed answers. For being in the industry we were in, he was very level- headed when it came to our customers, which made it be so easy when customers asked to speak with a supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shutterfly. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 210 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7