Sibley Memorial Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 83 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work !
Safety & Security Special Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 16, 2017
The typical day at Sibley as a safety & security officer was busy.
I learn that our patient come first.
management was always there to help or pitch in.
work place culture was great.
Coming in when it snow and not being able to go home.
Helping our patient and making sure they are safe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers
RN (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 16, 2017
Loved working there until the merger. Became very cutthroat and it was all the Benjamin's. Affluent patients and felt like a maid and not a nurse. Long commute and had to leave home at around 5am.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sterile Processing Lead Tech (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 9, 2017
Very productive and good employer care greatly about there employee and community. all around great place to work . The people come from all over the world and the food is excellent. they have one the great Labor and Delivery Deptment. I every seen. Top norch OR in the country. everybody is like family so Iwould tell people to visit for the experice.
Pros
Shuddlle bus
Cons
Good health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places I have ever worked.
Sr. Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 2, 2017
Management was supportive and professional training and growth encouragement.
In the 4 years I worked there I learned a lot of ORACLE and Lawson System Administration.
My manager was excellent.

Was acquired by Johns Hopkins who refused to convert Lawson support staff to SAP.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Takes the fun out of dysfunctional
Shadow (Former Employee) –  Washington DCJune 1, 2017
Idiot admins running this place. Dollars the bottom line. Technical staff cut to the bone while JH managers try to figure out how to cut costs- patient impact? I will never use this hospital due to the mismanagement and rapacious attitude toward personnel - quite possibly, a hospital in Havana, Cuba, would be a better choice,
Pros
Any possibility of firing/renoving brain-dead administratos
Cons
See post
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but no room for growth via management
Why (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 16, 2017
I have learned so much but looking to move into management but no positions available. Employee's work and stay at sibley for years. Low turnover rate.
Pros
Great vacation
Cons
No room to advance into management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 28, 2017
I volunteered in various places at Sibley, and the experience really depends on where you are volunteering. I volunteer on the orthopedic floor, where I answered call buttons, prepared new patient kits, and answered the phones when necessary. I also volunteered in the emergency department where I cleaned the rooms after patients left.
Pros
4 hour shifts, flexible
Cons
not a lot of patient interaction
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Phlebotomist/Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 25, 2017
Nice environment to work and get treatment. Friendly nurses and doctors.
Clean environment, good food,
Ther staffs are caring and passionate. Will recommend sibley to everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to work in that place
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 5, 2017
I like sibley very nice people and good place to work with. They treat peole fair and they will listen to you if you have any problem related to your job
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Short breaka
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and improve
Ultrasound Technologist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 25, 2017
Great place to achieve your goals and improve your knowledge and skills. Sibley is productive and fun workplace with friendly staff and opportunities to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about Sibley Memorial Hospital?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Hospital, Very Clean Environment
Admissions Representative (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 2, 2016
A typical work day is not stressful. Pleasant work environment. Management is decent. Do your job and you are okay. Co-workers are nice and work as team-players. The hardest part of my job is getting up at 4:30 Monday-Friday. I work in a stress-free environment. and I enjoy what I do.
Pros
Very Clean Environment to come to work everyday.
Cons
When you need to speak with adminstration it is hard to reach.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Lead Imaging Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 24, 2016
This is the best place I've ever worked. Everyone is like family and is always there for each other to help out. The management from upper to lower truly cares about their employee's and do whatever they can to take care of them. Benefits are excellent! Plenty of room for advancement or seeking other jobs within the company.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expanding hospital pleasant atmosphere
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 4, 2016
Sibley is a family oriented hospital for the staff as well as the patients we care for. It is one of the leading hospitals focusing on well rounded care.
Pros
free parking
Cons
traffic going to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
Administrative Healthcare Provider (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 30, 2016
This place is where you can be you work with great patient's. The typical day is fast pace an very exciting, you never know what a day would be. The hospital is different than your regular office.
Pros
Patients
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On call
Staff technologist, PRN (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 1, 2016
I only work there for on call but communication with lead techs is always open and informative of any changes in policies and procedures.
Pros
communication is excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent professional workplace
Sonographer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 16, 2016
Enjoyed the great experience with numerous professionals who allowed me the opportunity to develop and hone my sonography skills in multiple modalities.
Pros
Professional enviroment
Cons
Nothing worth remembering
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company oriented health care policies
Registered Nurse/ICU (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 7, 2016
Great location in the northwest DC area. I Had a great team to work with in the PACU and the ICU. We all worked well together and had many an enjoyable work days. We had a good mix of cultures.
Pros
Good location
Cons
Managment is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancing in opportunities
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 6, 2016
Because Sibley has merged with John Hopkins, there are great opportunities available. Sibley has a great team work approach which is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Free parking, small environment
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Way
Clinical Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 20, 2016
Sibley Hospital is still functioning from the 1980's care model. The working atmosphere is almost similar to a dysfunctional family relationship. The manager are all for themselves, and will throw anyone under the bus. They also tend to cater to upper middle class, and tend to frown down on lower middle class. If you have over flow of $$$ Sibley, is a great hospital. The pay sucks for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergoing many changes.
RN (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 9, 2016
A dramatic change in senior management has facilitated a negative and less supportive change in the workplace culture. Although they are good leaders, some directors are being placed in positions where they have little to no experience.
Pros
Good benefit package
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sibley Memorial Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Sibley Memorial Hospital Reviews by Location