Find companies:
SIERRA CLUB
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

SIERRA CLUB United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grassroots at its best.
Social Media Intern (Former Employee), McAllen, TXJanuary 12, 2015
I absolutely loved this internship. I was able to utilize my social media skills for a worthy cause, and in turn I was able to help the PTC get renewed. During this internship I was able to stay in Austin, Texas for a week and attend SXSW ECO which was an amazing opportunity. I loved interning for the Sierra Club and hope to work with them in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important work with amazing people
Chapter Coordinator (Current Employee), North CarolinaJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great mission, amazing people
Cons: environmental issues are usually an uphill battle
The Sierra Club's mission and commitment to the environment make it a great place to work. Grassroots organizing and a deep & committed volunteer base make the successes possible and the obstacles manageable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Place Stinks!
Advancement Assistant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: worked with some nice people, free coffee.
Cons: bad office politics, lazy management.
My co-workers were nice, and I enjoyed working beside them. Management had a much higher opinion of itself than was warranted. And that is putting it kindly. Some managers were downright incompetent. Tasks were regularly menial, tedious, and went without any appreciation. Also, the office work ethic was not very strong overall. I would only recommend this place if you are facing homelessness- and even then I would give it thought.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Member (Current Employee), West LAJanuary 25, 2014
Interesting, nice people, challanging outing and training courses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization to work or volunteer
outreach volunteer (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: great organization to work or volunteer
Great organization to work or volunteer. Employees and volunteers are greatly appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fundraiser (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: passionate staff, great mission, good work/life balance.
Cons: pay isn't amazing, but there are great benefits.
No organization is perfect, but working for the Sierra Club has been a tremendously rewarding experience. The staff culture is amazing; it brings selfless, passionate people together everyday. In addition, you're expected to have a healthy life outside of the office. No one is expected to slave away and work crazy hours.

Overall, I would highly recommend employment at the Club.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity!
Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 26, 2012
Working for the Sierra Club was one of the best experiences of my career. I was allowed exclusive access to enhance my PR skills with real-life, hands-on experience. I was allowed to contribute to the national PR strategy and witness how PR is done in the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work with diverse people
Chair of NYC Group (Former Employee), New york, NYMarch 12, 2012
Pros: interesting and rewarding work
Dedication to the environment is essential. There are ample opportunities to take the initiative and create real change.