SIERRA CLUB Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save the planet
REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 1, 2017
Plenty of opportunities to work hard and feel rewarded for that work. Not much help from supervisors for some aspects of the job. Plenty of support from the public. Can be a problem on the resume as scientific or engineering firms don't want to hire advocates...
Pros
great personal reward
Cons
no job security can also mean low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sierra Club
Field Organizer (Former Employee) –  IndianaJune 27, 2017
Sierra Club is not a place you want to work. Their management does not know what they are doing. Sad that a historic group like this fails to see leadership skills in qualified, experienced candidates and looks for young and inexperienced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun informative and fits anyones schedule
Stream Monitor (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 14, 2017
Great club that teaches its members how to properly determine the quality of local waterways.

As Civilian Scientists you will report your findings directly to Upper management and to the OEPA
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People with high moral purpose, personable, creative.
Business development (Former Employee) –  Kingston, NYMay 22, 2017
I was not an employee, but a volunteer collaborating with a paid employee participating in policy initiatives related to Electric Vehicle, supporting NY State implementation of state rebates, evaluation of dealers marketing EVs in the state, electric bus studies & proposals for NYC MTA, charging network development, & other related issues.
Pros
comraderie, sense of participation in change.
Cons
no pathway to employment, constraints on growth of staff due to limited budget
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educate people about environmental issues
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 17, 2017
I'm going to events on college campuses or company fairs
to inform participants about volunteer opportunities, activities offered buy Sierra Club, or environmental issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Internship (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 18, 2017
Great Place to work at. I habe been an intern there for about several months and I bave enjoyed every moment of it. I get to learn alot at the Grand Canyon Chapter of Sierra Club.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Summer Internship (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 15, 2017
This is a wonderful place to grow as a professional and as a citizen. The integrity of this organization is phenomenal. I highly recommend expanding your career with this organization!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Research Project Intern (Former Employee) –  Bozeman, MTFebruary 21, 2017
The people who work for the Sierra Club are motivated individuals who care immensely about the environment. Interning there gave me many valuable skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prod
ASSISTANT (COMMUNITY SERVICE) (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 9, 2016
productive and is always on the go. Have a lot of events you can attend for a good cause. It is very interesting and is a good way to network with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Technology Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 5, 2016
Good people. Really enjoyed my experience there - all around - very fulfilling to work for such dedicated people. Help in all things IT in the operation - field and corporate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 14, 2016
It's a good place to work at. Good people to work with who are hard working and understanding. I love it here. Managers are very nice and compassionate. Co- workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow as a professional
Deputy Press Secretary (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 13, 2016
So many great people to work with and the environment is conducive to learning. I would re commend it to anyone, especially new professionals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience
Administrative Internship (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDMarch 3, 2016
It was my first official internship in the States and new work perspective. The employees where very helpful and friendly.
Pros
all ages
Cons
not much work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work culture
Media Intern (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 12, 2015
I really enjoy working as an intern at this organization. Having learned many desirable skills over the course of this experience, I would encourage other college students or recent graduates to apply.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 3, 2015
It is a great place to work. They are all about the environment, and they care deeply about their employees. Also, the work is very diverse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and felt like I made a difference
Clean Energy Intern (Former Employee) –  MinneapolisApril 23, 2015
My job title was community outreach and event organizer which allowed me to meet a lot of interesting people and to talk with people about environmental issues I care about. I organized phone banking and petitioning events to gather support in moving Minnesota toward cleaner energy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Place to learn something new everyday
Internship (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 12, 2015
Works with the spirit to protect environment and create awareness in people in all possible ways.

Innovative approaching

Helpful and respectful to every co worker and welcome opinions and suggestions for every project we were doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grassroots at its best.
Social Media Intern (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJanuary 12, 2015
I absolutely loved this internship. I was able to utilize my social media skills for a worthy cause, and in turn I was able to help the PTC get renewed. During this internship I was able to stay in Austin, Texas for a week and attend SXSW ECO which was an amazing opportunity. I loved interning for the Sierra Club and hope to work with them in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important work with amazing people
Chapter Coordinator (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaJuly 24, 2014
The Sierra Club's mission and commitment to the environment make it a great place to work. Grassroots organizing and a deep & committed volunteer base make the successes possible and the obstacles manageable.
Pros
Great mission, amazing people
Cons
environmental issues are usually an uphill battle
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Place Stinks!
Advancement Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 13, 2014
My co-workers were nice, and I enjoyed working beside them. Management had a much higher opinion of itself than was warranted. And that is putting it kindly. Some managers were downright incompetent. Tasks were regularly menial, tedious, and went without any appreciation. Also, the office work ethic was not very strong overall. I would only recommend this place if you are facing homelessness- and even then I would give it thought.
Pros
Worked with some nice people, free coffee.
Cons
Bad office politics, lazy management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SIERRA CLUB. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.9
Culture
4.4