Find companies:
Sierra Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Sierra Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing co-workers
Registered Charge Nurse - Labor and Delivery (Former Employee), El Paso, TXOctober 28, 2014
This unit was smaller than the unit I work for now but still was a busy one. Great co-workers with awesome team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
ICN floor nurse (Former Employee), El Paso, TXOctober 23, 2014
Pros: opportunity to grow
Cons: working holidays
Was hired as a graduate Nurse to do an 6 month internship to learn on how to properly take care of NICU babies. After my first year I was allowed to take charge in the unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a calm environment workplace
Student Internship (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 20, 2014
My personal experience was as a Internship, been a Volunteer in this place is very honorable. The management was very professional; there was no hardest or easiest part of work all of it were equal as everybody.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring for infants
RN Newborn Nursery (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 14, 2014
Pros: independent
Cons: working late hours till 1 am in the morning.
Admitting infants in the nursery challenging. I had to triage the infants as each came in. Admissions could be very challenging. I would admit to the nursery sometimes 6 infants at once. The hardest part of my job was to transfer infants to ICN due to neonate not doing well or adjusting to life. The most enjoyable part of my job was to see the mothers – more... smile and observe the infant breastfeed successfully. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registered Nurse Outpatient
Registered Nurse- Outpatient Services (Current Employee), El Paso TexasJuly 12, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: proximity
A typical workday at SMC was fast paced and fun. Team work was our strongest asset and patient care service. I matured as a nurse and management always gave me opportunities to excel. I enjoyed have a variety of patients/visitors and making them feel comfortable during a stressful situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional working enviorment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), El Paso, TXMay 29, 2014
Its a great company to work for and has lots of opportunity for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurses not so nice
CNA (Former Employee), El Paso, TXMay 2, 2014
I would get to work review the patients charts from what happened during the day and talk to the day nurses. I learned how to take care of babies in the nicu and how to help deliver babies. I loved this job and wish it worked out for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very interesting working with experience AOD
House Supervisor (Former Employee), El Paso, TXMarch 9, 2014
Pros: all administors avialble on the phone
Cons: when they disolve jobs
Typical day was very busy. I Learned the hospital was the hire level of care. CO-workers were very helpfuly and avilable when called. All nurses very friendly and helpfull. Hardest part is dealing with angry doctors. Enjoyed the meeting I attended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sierra
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: heat, lack of off duty (allergies)
The management and staff are all helpful and very caring. They try hard to retain their staff. They care for their staff and their patients. The biggest problem is the area is very dry and dusty. The dust gets
into everything and is the summer the heat is unbearable. There is not alot to do as far as offduty recreation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay at times
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 19, 2013
Pros: nursing staff was exceptionally helpful
Cons: no oportunity to advance from nights to days.
Great place to work but there is no room to advance..... staff has worked shifts for years which makes it hard for a new employee to advance. Certain departments are extremely afraid of change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Staff Poor Administration
Administative Director (Former Employee), SMCAugust 17, 2013
Pros: staff
Cons: administration
The staff at SMC are excellent, however, the direction of the organization is misguided and mistake prone due to lack of administration's experience/competency. There have been several mistakes such as water pipe breakages and chiller disrepair that
have ended up on local news coverage. Also, there have been layoffs and flexing of staff-you will not – more... get your hours. This is poorly guided hospital and network. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buzy hospital, short work period,
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 10, 2013
Pros: 32hr work week.
Cons: constant floating
Sierra Medical Center is a very busy hospital. There is constant in and out of nursing staff until very recently. Now the Union has been recently voted in for nurses. The patients are similiar to other hospitals around the US. Most are elderly or very sick. No matter what your specialty is as a nurse you will be floated to all areas of the hospital – more... whether you are familiar with that floor or not. Management does what it can do to retain nurses. The hardest part of the job is coming to work with no idea of where you will be. The most enjoyable part of the job is the nurses that you work with. But with the new union coming in there may be changes to past work conditions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Environment, fair Pay, Friendly and Helpful Workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee), Miami Lakes, FLJune 27, 2013
Pros: great environment, fair pay, balanced work not over worked
Cons: part- time job
MyTypical Day at work would be to prep the rooms for the Patients make sure everything is tidy and clean. Greet and Help Patients in the waiting room and in the Patient's room. My co workers were very helpful and Friendly and fun to work with. Everyday was a Great work day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Shop
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), El Paso TexasJune 7, 2013
Cons: no lunch breaks given, team work is minimal from some charge nurses, management is horrible to nurses unless they are submissive to their way of thinking and doing, pay is not commensurate with experience
This is a union hospital for RN's. The union Rocks so if you, as an RN, want someone that has your back this is great!! That being said it has very antiquated equipment and management does NOT support nurses here. I would NEVER work there again!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital to work for!
Health Unit Coordinator/ CNA (Former Employee), El Paso, TXFebruary 21, 2013
Gained a lot of medical knowledge and experience! Nurses are great teachers and make the selves accessible if you want to learn!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respiratory
RT (Former Employee), RTFebruary 1, 2013
Cons: poor working conditions, poor ethics
If you hire on prn they work you fulltime. they also have no ambition and do not encourage there RTs to better themselves with education. So many of the staff are and have been there since they opened the hospital in the mid 70s so being they are comfortable in thier position and cannot handle new ideas and change.
Just another poor El Paso hospital – more... that is behind the times and technology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can not get any better
Staff pharmacist (Current Employee), El Paso, TXDecember 5, 2012
Pros: working for a big company..tenet
Cons: couldn't think of one
work flow is great due to good tech support and automation
this place made me a skilled clinical pharmacist
mannagement is very helpful and supportive
co-workers are very friendly and easy to work with.
i enjoy working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to begin my career.
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), El Paso, TXOctober 6, 2012
I would work many different hours which enabled me to experience many different situations. I did my clinical rotations here as a student and loved the people I studied so closely with and when it became time to apply for a position this was the first place I tried. This facility is a Level IV Basic Trauma Center, however, I was able to experience a – more... number of trauma situations and see a few surgeries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Laboratory
Certified Lab Assistant II (Former Employee), El Paso TexasAugust 13, 2012
Pros: good medical, dental, optical insurance and complimentary holiday dinner, gift cards.
Cons: favoritism and no managerial or communication skills from supervisors, uneven balance of duties and workload, co-workers abuse lunchtime and breaks.
Receiving specimens and distribute to appropiate departments,phone answering,drawing patients' blood including OR and ER for difficult phlebotomy,registering ,data entry,faxing results,assisting other phlebotomists with their failed phlebotomies or hard sticks,replace labels for requistion printers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace that required teamwork.
Surgery Schedule Coordinator (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 8, 2012
A typical day in the operating room varied from day to day due to light or busy schedule. I learned that in order to keep the scheduled cases flowing we had to keep in constant communication with staff and doctors. The management changed so much during my years here but I did not have any problems with changes. My co-workers were professionals so there – more... were not many conflicts. The hardest part of my job was trying to fit in emergency cases with staffing. The most enjoyable part of my job was at the end of the day when all cases went smoothly and finished in a timely manner. – less