Sigma-Aldrich Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fasted paced work environment
Warehouse attendant (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 21, 2018
typical work day was very busy, hardest part of the job was keeping up with the assembly line. scanning the products to the correct carrier.running the line.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operator II (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIDecember 1, 2017
It was a fun, stressful and interesting experience. Learned a lot about work environments, culture and relations. I would definitely recommend whoever is qualified to work there.
Pros
Occasional Free Food
Cons
Depends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Chemist III (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 30, 2017
I never should have left this job. Leaving Sigma-Aldrich was the biggest mistake of my life. I am a trained organic chemist and I got to engage in organic chemistry I was happy. I have nothing bad to say about the experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Biochemist II (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 10, 2017
Lots of great people, interesting job. A typical day involved making or purifying biochemicals . Challenging work. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers I had the pleasure to work with for many years
Pros
decent pay, good benefits
Cons
some outdated equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great reputation for providing the highest-quality products
CORPORATE OFFICER; CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 6, 2017
This company prides itself on hiring the best scientists capable of developing and providing the highest-quality products available in the scientific research community, and they deliver on that mission.
Pros
Good work-life balance
Cons
If you're not a Chemistry PhD, your opinion carries less weight
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good
Global security expert (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 63103August 3, 2017
Answering calls and questions, assisting employees, chem trek calls, emergency calls on a global spectrum. Fast paced environment where you need to be sharp and on your toes.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Only 2 breaks and a half hour lunch, and you can't leave your office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweatshop
Chemical Operator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 24, 2017
Sweatshop. On air-conditioned buildings to work again . Excessive heat Long hours . Too few people doing all the work while other stand around and get away with it .
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Environment is too hot to work in consistently
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just typing in something to move on.
Just typing in something to move on. (Former Employee) –  Just typing in something to move on.June 19, 2017
Just typing in something to move on. I am filling in anything to move on. This will be tiresome. I will no longer use Indeed if I am required to do this for every job, any job, anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Packaging Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 6, 2017
I worked at Sigma Aldrich full-time more than 8 years. You can develop and move within the company. Highly experienced management and it's a friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sigma-Aldrich is an OK Place to Work
Lead e-Commerce Software Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 21, 2017
Sigma-Aldrich is an ok place to work. The benefits were good but salary compensation was weak, at best. If you are IT they employee the latest technologies so that's always a plus. Very scientific company.
Pros
Good benefits minus salary.
Cons
Headquarters building is old and outdated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn
Project Manager PIO (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 18, 2017
Highly Experienced Management
A lot to learn and a lot to gain.
Great Workplace and a very friendly environment
I enjoyed my contract project with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a fast paced enviroment
Supply Chain Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSMarch 13, 2017
The internship with Sigma Aldrich helped prepare me for my career within supply chain by assigning a project that allowed me to work daily with the planning and purchasing teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos due to merger with Merck
Contractor, Project Manager/Chromatography (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIFebruary 19, 2017
Great work environment where independence and problem solving abilities were highly valued. As in most companies, management decisions were made based on personal relationships rater than the best interest of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I need the cook book.
Chemical Operator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 18, 2017
There were two shifts days and evenings. they were twelve hour shifts. I learned to follow procedures in doing the chemical process. Working there had to be a team effort. Every move we made was radio transmitted. The long hours in the heat was the hardest. I enjoyed working with the people.
Pros
Everyone worked as a team
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start
Customer Service Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 17, 2016
Fair compensation - excellent for a college student starting out. Because this was so long ago this review may not be accurate for today. But I did enjoy my work. It was just a little mundane.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
focus on subsegmenta of market drive product introduction
DIRECTOR OF GLOBAL STRATEGIC MARKETING (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 4, 2016
management is nice, hands off allows you to express your skills, more direction on goals and deliverable would be helpful. resources are available to complete projects, cross functional teams are very receptive to supporting projects.
Pros
work environment is very comfertalbe
Cons
lack of expectations makes it challenging to ensure deliverable hit the mark
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Warehouse Operator (Current Employee) –  milwaukee wiOctober 21, 2016
its a fast paced work u get to learn lots of task an meet all kinds of new ppeople some days are very rough depending on the work load never a boring moment
Pros
some free lunch an nice breaks
Cons
no room for advancedment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse packer
Warehouse Packer (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WI 53209September 16, 2016
Working at my personal work station packing different sorts of chemicals. Using all sorts of hazardous stickers as needed paying close attention to the product so it can be packed accordingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for entry level experience
Senior Scientist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 1, 2016
Sigma is a chemical company trying to be a Biotech company. They are risk adverse which really don't work in Biotech. People tend to stay there all of their career.
Pros
Free soda
Cons
risk adverse cultuer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy Micro-management
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miamisburg, OHAugust 31, 2016
There are way too many rules and regulations. It was like being back in high school. They micro-manage every aspect of every job. They do not pay their employees very well.
Pros
Decent health benefits
Cons
Micro-management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sigma-Aldrich. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 130 reviews
532
456
327
28
17

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture