Find companies:
Signal 88 Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Signal 88 Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Patrol Officer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 25, 2014
Pros: lunch 30 minutes, more than 8 hours i would take 1 hour lunch.
A typical day as a patrol officer can be very interested due to the locations you travel.The shifts are normal hours during the weekend. It has its good moments when the shift goes smooth without any problems nor alarm calls made. Throughout the night as you complete your patrols you come in contact with so many random and amazing people throughout scottsdale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Business Development Executive (Current Employee), New Britain, CTMarch 19, 2014
Pros: good scope of leadership and growth.
Cons: lack of medical/benefits of insurance
Enjoy working with great group of co-workers. Good commutation between sales and operation teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy coming to work
Security Officer/Admin (Former Employee), Greenville, SCFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: employees are fun to work with
Cons: unable to get contracts
Enjoy co workers. Have very good management. I enjoy the vehicle roving patrols. I enjoy meeting up after work with employees working at the same time at different locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apply at your own risk.
Roving and static patrol officer (Current Employee), Denver, COFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: apparently no experience needed.
Cons: the whole job itself, apply if your desparate!
Minimum Pay, hiring inexperienced people, trying to obtain many contracts without enough qualified employees, schedules subject to change weekly, provide inadequate uniform - you provide the rest (pants), windbreaker with a liner is your winter coat. Fired GM a week after I came aboard, Nobody is happy, GPS in their trucks, two way cameras recently installed. Time sensitive routes to patrol keep you under constant pressure along with the equipment installed above, your responsible for everything. Weird night hours ie; 8pm to 5am. Have been stuck on post with no relief working double shifts. 9hr shifts, no lunch.
Worst Security job I've ever encountered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, if you dont mind randomly loseing your job
Security Guard/ Roving patrol (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: loads of hours
Cons: you pay for those hours
Worked for thease guys for a while and worked my tail off 12-16 hour days for over a month got a few days off came back and they told me "sorry were going to let you go" how craptastic is that?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good people
Patrolman at Signal 88 (Current Employee), Signal 88, Denver COFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: good hours, decent pay, easy work, professional growth
Cons: idiots who expect you to pull their weight too.
The Colorado franchise is managed (in house) by retired marines, who also have experience in law enforcement. Half of the employees (who are on their way out) can't, don't, or won't do their jobs

The hardest part of this job is remembering how to properly write your reports, which is not difficult because the procedures for these are clearly displayed in your vehicle, in the guard houses, and then again on the computer system which you enter your reports into, provided to all posts. The only time anyone receives a reprimand is either when they aren't writing their reports, or a client has made a complaint and management's investigation proved the client's claim accurate.

A day at work includes: 1) patrolling properties (by foot and vehicle) or monitoring client properties via CCTV systems; 2) Calling the police when an emergency happens 3) reporting to police and post supervisor when any issues arise. 4) Taking direction from and assisting police while they are on scene. Patrols are more intensive, as you need to remember to make sure all property gates are locked and secured properly during your patrol of each property.

This franchise provides self-defense classes as well as CPR and Advanced First aid, in the case that you may be the first responder on scene should in an emergency. They have also offered to assist with Law Enforcement training courses for company employees who show interest, and have proven reliable.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the down time spent with the other off shift employees. With the exception of the employees who don't do their jobs, – more... management treats you to many weekly team building events outside of work for employees to enjoy. The overall atmosphere of this particular franchise is very open and forward.

The worst part of the job, is that employees who are considered reliable, are likely unavailable should personal emergencies arise. This is due to the fact that they are already overworked from picking up the slack of the unreliable employees. Those employees found unreliable are not likely to help you in an emergency, even if you have assisted them in the past.

This company has a LOT of room for professional growth, if you are not making decent money here, then you either haven't proven yourself reliable, or you haven't been with the company long enough. Though the company does not provide insurance outside of the mandatory Obamacare, they do assist their employees with educational opportunities related to Law Enforcement and the posts you will be on.

Internal problem resolution is very uncomplicated, simply speak to your supervisor (usually one of the managers), and they will deal with the problem. VERY RELIABLE and swift grievance resolution, and follow up.

This Franchise is small (under 20 people) and it is VERY clear who cares about doing their job properly, and who doesn't. If you are someone who does not take your job responsibilities seriously this company is NOT for you. Unlike other jobs out there, you are not required to "be a team player" but it is very easy to get along with other employees and the Management team here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Security Officer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 6, 2014
It was an ok job. Only problem i had was with management. They showed favoritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Armed Security
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 26, 2013
Security in multi family housings
armed security
worked with Personal Security details
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Much promise, but poorly executed in Chicago area
Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2013
Pros: security always needed.
Cons: lack of accounts creates unstable work hours which creates an unstable paycheck.
A franchise that could be handled better. Improper utilization of resources and lack of management skills creates a poor working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow!!
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 28, 2013
Pros: employee snacks, friday fundays, m-f, holidays, great management
Cons: benefits
Working for signal88 has been a fantastic experience. There has been a bit of turn around- however it is to be expected with a small company rapidly growing. We are slowly overcoming major hiccups that have been a challenge. With every hiccup and challenge blooms to a learning experience though. Great management to work for. Honest president of the company, great interactions with employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Security Officer/Training Supervisor (Former Employee), Peoria, ILSeptember 22, 2013
The pay was good and the people I enjoyed working with the people I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Peoria, ILSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: fun job
Cons: don't get paid enough, unsafe working locations, no benefits.
*computer skills needed.
*walk around outside or drive to locations.
*foot or vehicle patrol.
*provide security.
*respond to calls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More days off and better pay
Security Officer (Former Employee), Aurora, COSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: only work 3 12 hr shifts
Cons: no health bennifits and working on the holidays
A typical work day for me is was working 3 12 hour shifts and the rest of the time having the days off. I learned nothing really from this company. Management was very understanding and not related but very far away to get a hold of. The co workers that i did interact with were very professonal. The hardest part about the job was working on Holidays. The most enjoyable thing about working for this company was being in the middle of no where.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clear and concise job
Okay to contact this Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 4, 2013
Pros: clear directions
Cons: night shifts
Provided internal and external security to apartment complexs. Such as, patrolling parking lot for loiters or trespassers. Ensure security of private property by monitoring for theft or violence on premises. Enforce parking regulations. Respond to alarm or noise disturbances on property. Deescalating situations to the lowest level possible. I worked during my school breaks which was nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Security/ Driver (Former Employee), Happy Valley, AZAugust 13, 2013
Not the best but not the worst either. Long hours low pay.....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Signal 88 - HORRIBLE COMPANY
Security Officer (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 9, 2013
Cons: everything
I worked forthis company for almost 2 years. During that time I was going back to school so it was helpful with flexible hours. However they gave me this job to my training in the military. Had a horrible supervisor who was late everyday and sick at least 3 times a month. There was a revolving door for employees that i personaly had to train and not get paid for. Like I said horrible supervisor. The company moved locations and I was only one of 3 employees to help pack and move. When a supervisor position openedd up I applied for it and the manager of the Omaha location gave it to some kiss a** who had only been there for 6 months and that was related to him. There reasoning was that I did not have enough experience. But this guy had no military or police experience at all. This company will screw you Ive seen the managers and supervisors write people up for no reason even with witnesses saying they werent late or didnt do what they said they did, whatever the reason is the upper management will hose you. This company puts the wrong people in charge. If you are friends or family it will work for you but for everyone else go some where else you will get paid better and have benefits. No snse in working for company that wont back you 100%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, BUT...
Guard (Current Employee), Pleasant Hill, CAAugust 5, 2013
If you dont work at a site that is stable you can be out of work for weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Civilian Based Security Officer (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 1, 2013
Cons: you have to buy your own uniform, they don't deduct taxes from your paycheck, no over-time
I worked for Signal 88 for a little over a month. They provide a 3 hour "training" session that is nothing more than a bunch of papers you need to sign to cover themselves. Even though your schedule would only be a few days a week (part-time), but they would call you almost every day to ask you to cover a shift and I ended up working 60 hours a week even though I was only supposed to work 16-25. If you tell them no too many times you'll get the boot. To make things worse, they don't pay you overtime since you're a contractor. The two managers that I dealt with in my time with the company, they were practically boyfriend and girlfriend, often flirting with each other while they were training me. If you're looking for a security job, you can do much better than Signal 88.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evaluation
Security Guard (Former Employee), Lakeside, TXJuly 17, 2013
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: short breaks
Good shifts and coworkers. Just patrol a warehouse and watch entrys. Site manager i was not a fan of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company
Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 12, 2013
If your looking for part time work, this is the company for you.