Find companies:
Sikorsky
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
152 reviews

Sikorsky Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A meat grinder.
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee), Stratford, CTJune 23, 2014
I spent 3 years doing software work and eventually was laid off.
A blessing in the end. A strange place for sure, too many dinosaurs, well established in bureaucratic jobs that only serve to provide road blocks for simple processes.
The main plant in Stratford, CT, as far as parking goes borders on frustration and hilarity. Guards primarily serve as parking attendants with guns, dedicated to towing cars of the "lower class" who park in the upper parking lot. That is, when you can find a parking spot.
Save yourself the aggravation and apply elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the concept of the company
IN HR (Former Employee), Coatesville, PAJune 13, 2014
Pros: nice cafeteria
Cons: my boss
I worked in a specific department that was lead by poor management. I was a contractor and treated horribly. I was there for almost a year and never felt like part of the team. I found a better opportunity at the time, gave 3 weeks notice and trained my replacement not a thank you or anything the day I left.

I was in an administrative department, other hiring managers seemed great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
technology company w/ large engineering community
Material Analyst, SCM (Current Employee), Stratford, CTJune 12, 2014
-most days 8-5
-direct managers are usually pretty relatable
-co-workers are pleasant
-higher level managers are not seen often
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced production enviroment
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Stratford, CTMay 27, 2014
Pros: family day
Cons: employee morale, outsourcing, union plant.
I work 3rd shift.
Shift hours 23:30 P.M. to 6:30 A.M. I work from 11P.M to 9:00 A.M. Fast paced, on Shop Floor, meetings.
Multi tasking a Plethora of process.
Strictly Business.
Not all team players.
The Hours.
consistent learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Structural Analyst (Current Employee), Stratford, CTMay 15, 2014
Management has no "vision". Everything operates on a day to day deliveries with very few comprehensive plans for future growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like to travel.
Helicopter Mechanic (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMay 14, 2014
Good place to work. International and domestic travel assignments. Opportunities to learn to repair,modify and maintain many different Sikorsky model Helicopters. The hardest is part of the job is being away from home for three to six months at a time. The management is top notch. The coworkers are helpful and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Consultant (Former Employee), Stratford, CTMay 8, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
I really enjoyed Sikorsky, the people were nice, welcoming, and invited the input of all employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Excellent
Sr. Electrical Installer (Former Employee), Jupiter, FLMay 6, 2014
Good company-
Safety conscious
Goal oriented
Excellent working conditions
Excellent pay and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Dependent on Government Contracts
Aircraft Mods Center Manager (Former Employee), Stratford CT, Off SiteApril 30, 2014
Pros: decent salary and benefits
Cons: production of military aircraft declining, market uncertainty
Last five years were very uncertain in terms of job security. Company has seen many lay-offs and I would expect to continue with defense department cuts. No notice of impending lay-off with no chance of applying for other positions to lesson impact on family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Coatesville, PAApril 26, 2014
Pros: good people to work for.
Cons: they do not want to pay a person what they are worht
I would work for them again if the opportunity was a good one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Specialist Technical Directives (Former Employee), 6900 Main St. Stratford, CTApril 25, 2014
Extensive travel and lengthy stays at customer sites to over see modification, including oversea locations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sikorsky Enviroment
Sr. Bench Hand Gears (Former Employee), Stratford, CTApril 4, 2014
Pros: christmas parties, company events, and good paying positions
Cons: job security, seniority, and corruption
A typical day at Sikorsky Aircraft, was indeed a positive feeling on the outlook ahead. I enjoyed learning how we fabricate transmission gears, for the BlackHawk Helicopter. The management and my co-workers, always knew what had to be done to make sure, all aircraft got to the customers on time. The hardest part the of job was, paying close attention to work instructions, and paying attention to detail. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing, that I was helping the United States Army saving soilders in, Iraq and Afghanistan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits no work life balance
Buyer (Former Employee), Shelton, CTApril 2, 2014
Great benefits no work life balance. Management was lacking and mostly on your own to figure out how to do your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very large diverse Aircraft manufacturing company.
Senior Financial Cost Analyst, Operations Finance (Former Employee), Stratford, CTApril 2, 2014
The workforce contains a lot of dedicated hard working employees but at many times it was a close knit corporate family. There are many opportunities to learn the various facets of the of organization while being a part of a very productive team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career choice
Senior Quality Engineer (Current Employee), Stratford, CTMarch 31, 2014
Great place to work, meaningful and challenging work assignments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World wide field service management
Business Analyst, Field Service (Former Employee), Stratford, CTMarch 28, 2014
Pros: full business experience
Cons: long hours
Long hours supervising over 150 employees. Great business experience, basically a company within a company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
IT Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Stratford, CTMarch 26, 2014
Work environment varies widely by manager. HR fails to keep young talent because of poor compensation. IT doesn't seem to care about quality, but rather making sure they hit deadlines. Poor management seem to progress in the company while technical roles are pigeon-holed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place I have ever worked
Quality Technician (Former Employee), Troy, ALMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: most of the employee put the l in lazy, poor management team, hr doesn't care about the employees, i pray dcma inspections catch all of the crabby work. fmla is joke for this company.
Employees stay off work for three days and come in on overtime and sit on their butts and do nothing. The few good employees suffers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Routine work
Program Quality Engineer (Former Employee), Jupiter, FLMarch 14, 2014
Pros: freejim
Cons: lack of communication / feed back from management.
Challenging and enjoyable work place. I used to look forward to go to work. Management changes are not well coordinated,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Precision Grinder B (Former Employee), Stratford, CTMarch 11, 2014
Pros: very clean and good environment work place
Cons: can not stand seeing lazy individuals doing nothing and get paid. :)
I have been working for them nearly 5 years, and due to the competitiveness of the market, company had to cut back on their staffing. I was one of the layoffs in 2013. Overall it's a great place to work, but the security is insecure. The knot in my stomach is still there even after i got laid off. :)

About Sikorsky

Russian-born helicopter pioneer Igor Sikorsky is long dead, but helicopters bearing his name still soar the skies. A subsidiary – Read more

Sikorsky Salaries

Inspector
$45,000 per year
Assembler
$40,000 per year
$27.00 per hour