Silver Airways Employee Reviews

Showing all 63 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLApril 13, 2017
Last minute changes to schedule, broken planes etc. I learned a great deal about the industry and what can go wrong. Management was not very compassionate about employee situations. Pilots and ground crew were great and miss the "family" environment. The commute was the hardest part. The most enjoyable part was working with great flight attendants and pilots that were always looking for more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for people with no experience
Aircraft Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 5, 2017
Good place to get some experience in aviation, but that's about it. The pay is low and the benefits aren't great. There are a few old grumpy men there you have to watch out for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not a fun place to work
Customer Service Respresentative (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 23, 2017
Silver managers are very nice and love their employees. Theirs always moving employees up if they looking for a long stay at Silver. Only thing I dislike is you have to work below the wing and under the wing.
Pros
Good benefits and travel
Cons
working below and under wing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place until In flight management changed
In-Flight Training Manager / Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLFebruary 6, 2017
This was a great place. I advanced and had great leadership. New In flight management came in and everything fell apart. Flight attendants quitting like crazy.
Pros
Good benefits, fun work environment, growing company
Cons
Terrible in flight management. Very sad
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
silver
A&P Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 5, 2017
Silver it is a small airline that only operates in Florida. The fleet consists of Saab 340 which are very old and need constant maintenance. On a typical day at the line we do the inspections or the line checks and then work the discrepancies we find such as tire changes or troubleshooting. The manager at my base always tried to keep things fair for everyone even so he promoted a person with no people skills to lead. The hardest part of the job would be sometimes having to adjust to constant change as a lot of people leave to other mayor airlines such as United and also some of the benefits which are not very good.
Pros
Pros open and relaxing enviroment, three to four days off, fair management
Cons
arrogant people with no people skills promoted to lead, health insurance, 401k, uncomftarble change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Airline
A&P Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 1, 2017
Silver it is a small airline that only operates in Florida. The fleet consists of Saab 340 which are very old and need constant maintenance. On a typical day at the line we do the inspections or the line checks and then work the discrepancies we find such as tire changes or troubleshooting. The manager at my base always tried to keep things fair for everyone even so he promoted a person with no people skills to lead. The hardest part of the job would be sometimes having to adjust to constant change as a lot of people leave to other mayor airlines such as United and also some of the benefits which are not very good.
Pros
open and relaxing enviroment, three to four days off, fair management
Cons
arrogant people with no people skills promoted to lead, health insurance, 401k, uncomftarble change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment Needs Work
CROSS-UTILIZED AGENT (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJanuary 22, 2017
This is one of the absolute easiest jobs there is. The management team works hard to make sure that you aren't appreciated and that the job is the hardest possible thing to do at that moment and time. And certain Supervisors will even alter your hours on your paycheck because they don't like you.
Pros
Free flights with certain airlines, easy work, shifts change about 4 times a year.
Cons
management is biased and racist toward white people
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke of a company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 26, 2016
Never worked with backstabbing people like this before.It's like a soap opera working there.There are managers and supervisors and crew members that like to LIE and make up stories to make themself look good.
Pros
Flight benfits
Cons
Management always lies to you and dont back you up ever
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 7, 2016
I have work for this company for a very short period of time. But, I would recommend this air carry to those who live in Florida, who really looking for great service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommended
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 16, 2016
Fast pace environment with the lack of structure. Company doesn't think twice before terminating their employees. They have changed CEO three times within 3 years. Company need to benchmark and listen to their employees more and be willing to spend money within the company and not on themselves as senior leaders
Pros
free flight benefits
Cons
Need better compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company, they just need to hire more positive people, and pay more
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 22, 2016
Nice company, They are still growing, and very small, people want to bash them but they need to remember that it's still a growing company, it's going to take time.
Pros
Always learning and being challenged. Small family feel
Cons
drama and gossip, too many young kids that aren't used to hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Part Time Employee
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 10, 2016
The Station Manager; nice gentlemen knows how to speak to an individual when an error occurs and also compliments when a job well done.

A typical day at work depends on where you are placed for that day:

Ticket Counter:
Verify number of passengers on each flight for weight and balance,
check in passengers, verify e-ticket, rebook when needed, print boarding passes and bag tags, assist in filing claims for delayed baggage.

Gate Agent:
Make announcements, gate check baggage with tag, assist special needs passengers, boarding process, answer questions, re-book, secured doors for incoming passengers and during boarding process, etc.

The enjoyable part of this job is meeting new people, helping others in need, laughing with co-workers.
Pros
Supervisors are well liked and assist when possible, Flexibility to move around and breaks is a plus, Most of the co-workers are easy to work with.nches, etc.
Cons
Improvement in scheduling can improve; Lack of personnel No benefits No raisese: Short breaks, healthcare, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if you desperately need a job
Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 12, 2016
Very unprofessional and disrespectful! you are treated poorly and never appreciated. Surrounded by backstabbers and self promoting liars. Not a good place for people with integrity.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like a 1955 commuter airline
Pilot (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 14, 2016
The only difference between a 1955 commuter airline and Siler is

they try to operate like an airline. Poor communication with pilots and

management. And poor life style for an airline.
Cons
Lots ask any pilot
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Based in IAD
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAFebruary 7, 2016
This is a great starter company if you want a career as a flight attendant. I've had some good and bad experiences just like in any other job. But I wouldn't have it any other way. I am greatful for them and any complaints I had during the job its all part of this industry; not being able to get on a flight back home because the flight is full, being stuck somewhere due to cancellations, not getting the days off you anticipated. This is all part of being a flight attendant. I didnt give them 5 stars because there are some improvements that need to be made within management. But other than that I would reccomend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job for A&P's to get line maintenance expirience on Saab 340B at a base maintenance facility
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLFebruary 5, 2016
Good people to work with, great days off. Learned what a Saab 340B is about, Management is good in some respects. Coworkers were easy to work with, most enjoyable part of the job is when I got to go home on my long week ends.
Pros
Relaxed environment
Cons
Just dealing with management nuances
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilot Job
First Officer (Current Employee) –  Ft. Lauderdale, FLJanuary 29, 2016
I have been with the company for about a year. So far I am very pleased . The overall company works hard to continue to grow as a full service airline..
The compensation is where I am not happy. We work hard and the monetary compensation is very low if you are looking for a long term career. Works fine for young pilots looking to move up and gain experience.
Pros
Great group of individuals to work with.
Cons
Long days, little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run away now you have been warned
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 11, 2016
very good people what can i say run run run run away from the training poor when do i begin to lies this company will tell the turnover for a airlines is like working at walmart
Pros
crews
Cons
bad ceo bad inflight department
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unrealistic expectations
Crew Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 29, 2015
Staff members are a extremely friendly and look out for each other, The company falls under the Railway Labor Act and use this to suit their own means and not to the benefit of their current employees,
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Operations Agent (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 29, 2015
its a great day every day, customers and coworkers are the best with the best attitudes. management also treats the staff very equally and handles all situations to the best of their ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Silver Airways. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 63 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.5
Culture
2.7

CEO Approval

47%
17 ratings
Add your rating