Silver Cross Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Certified Nurse Assistant/Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Lenox IL 60431January 18, 2018
I worked for Silver Cross when we were at the old and I helped move I to the new Silver Cross, beautiful building. I liked the floor I worked on it have good benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILJanuary 16, 2018
All around anywhere you work at you make it what it is, there are a few bad apples in the bunch but other than that I Love going into work providing services to the ones that really need it.
Pros
Employees, Patients
Cons
Pay, Tools sometimes needed to do the job effective
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace
PCT/CNA (Former Employee) –  New Lenox, ILDecember 15, 2017
It was a wonderful place to work until they changed management. Very busy, unlimited overtime. Allot of learning experience. But there was alot of unnecessary drama
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Overwhelming at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
CMA (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILDecember 14, 2017
I really enjoyed working at Silver cross a typical day at silver Cross is very fast paced and exciting everyone there is very helpful and we all worked as a team and are team players
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Admitting Representative (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILDecember 12, 2017
Admitting is a very fast pace area to work in at a hospital but that just means your day goes by fast. Always different people no two days will be the same. Great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace culture
Medical - Surgical RN (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILDecember 5, 2017
Silver Cross Hospital is a great place to work. The atmosphere is friendly for both patients and staff. The hospital really focuses on patient safety and satisfaction.
Pros
Great workplace culture
Cons
Cannot request off any holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service
Clerk Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Lenox, ILDecember 3, 2017
management was very poor, the team was always stressed out. There was not much structure, rules were not implemented as they should have been. Environment was fair
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
Social Worker Intern (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILNovember 27, 2017
In-patient behavioral unit for acute patients. Very good learning experience being new to the mental health field. I was able to witness patients in a crisis state, and assist with treatment and resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for externships!
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILNovember 18, 2017
Temporary job that we were given through school for our externship placement. Great learning environment! Staff helped you learn a lot of different techniques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Student Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILNovember 6, 2017
I worked as a student nurse (CNA). It was a lot of work but very rewarding.The nurses were kind and took the time to teach me what they did day to day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great managers, schedules, pay, and incentives for those who don't need benefits
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILNovember 3, 2017
Silver Cross provides understanding and flexible manager. They provide highly competitive pay, especially for those who don't need benefits, and a positive work environment.
Pros
highly competitive pay and benefits, 8 and 12 hour working shift
Cons
fast paste work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly but not fair
EVS Tech (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILNovember 1, 2017
Hourly pay is way too low for the amount of work they expect out of you.
Management is unhelpful and schedules poorly.
Silver Cross Staff is friendly and helpful.
You lose almost 3 dollars in pay per hour if you choose to get health insurance and PTO/Vacation days.
Very busy and very short staffed.
But because it is so short staffed, hours are always available to be picked up.
You will be tired, everyday.
Pros
Friendly and helpful staff, extra hours if you want to pick up.
Cons
Hourly pay is too low, management is not helpful and doesn't schedule correctly. You are always tired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a decent workplace
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  New Lenox, ILOctober 30, 2017
Very fast paced, usually understaffed, management could've been better, variety of staff, difficult to meet expectations when understaffed, loved some of the friends made in my years of service there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILOctober 30, 2017
Beautiful campus to work on.
Great team players to work with.
Management is great.
Offers either 8 or 12 hour work shifts
Educational opportunities are available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer if you have time off
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILOctober 2, 2017
Silver cross is a fun and excited place... if you're intrested in health care you kind of get a glimpse of healthcare and hospital management. You do have to go through a lot to be able to volunteer (Vaccine, interview, training) just like a really job, but it is worth it at the end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
Oncology/Med-Surg Nurse (Former Employee) –  New Lenox, ILSeptember 1, 2017
Nice place to work, short staffed a lot,workplace culture has suffered over the years. Place for new grads as older working nurses find the patient load to be too much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, especially if you like to work hard and quickly.
RN surgery and team leader (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILAugust 28, 2017
I enjoyed working at Silver Cross Hospital but I got injured on the job and I am left with some permanent work restrictions and I am unable to go back to my position.
Pros
Longevity.
Cons
Sometimes no breaks all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time working for this company
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILAugust 17, 2017
My time working for Silver Cross Hospital has been a great experience . The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing you have helped provide excellent healthcare no matter the department you are in.
Pros
Good amount of breaks.
Cons
They cut your hours for new hires
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pace of work fluctuates every day
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILAugust 8, 2017
It is exciting to come into work every day because you never know how your day will play out. You can come in to work and not have any surgery or fluoro cases to do, and then the next, you may be in those areas all day! It is a job that keeps you on your toes, and I really enjoy that,
Pros
Long lunches, ability to get the time off that you need
Cons
Having a young department and not being able to move up to day shift quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair place to work
Emergency Department Unit Clerk (Current Employee) –  New Lenox, ILJuly 26, 2017
Sometimes overworked and under appreciated, and for that they could definitely do better with pay rates. Always had lovely co-workers. A great place to work as far as job culture.
Pros
Discounted lunches and bills.
Cons
Hardly any breaks, No PTO.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Silver Cross Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 89 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.2

Silver Cross Hospital Reviews by Location